1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Wiki] New Lua and UI Reference! Beta version

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by DonQuiche, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. DonQuiche

    DonQuiche Emperor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Actually, I did not want to convey such an idea that everyone can excel in it: programming is something difficult and while I think that many people (most ?) could at least reach a hobbyist's level, the rest is a matter for pros like me. And, believe me, I certainly do not take that lightly or believe that anyone can do my job given enough time and education, far from that.

    However I think that if someone has a need for programming, he should at least give it a try and not assume that he won't be able to learn it based on his scholarship's aptitudes, general computer skills or confidence in one's intellectual capacities. For the start, programming does not require any mathematical skill, contrary to what many people believe (fundamentally and historically it is entirely grounded and dependent on mathematics but on a day-to-day practice you do not need any mathematical skill greater than the ones taught in elementary schools). Second of all experience taught me that that scholarship successes and failures, self-perception and other common experiences are not reliable measures of the intellectual capacities: they're mere correlations and not always good ones. I personally saw quite good programmers with poor scholarships and also the opposite.

    Last but not least, I think that learning programming is an interesting journey.

    So maybe you're not fit for it, maybe you would fail, or maybe it just not interests you and it is fine for me. But if by chance you are interested and resisted because you thought you were doomed to fail, then I just wanted to tell you that you should give it a try and give you a glance at the path awaiting you.
     
  2. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    I got a C- in FORTRAN.
     
  3. JA_Lamb

    JA_Lamb Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    The changing Dark Continent
    How many hours did you do Fortran and how many in CiV?

    Don Quiche is right, the problem is that we face an enormous amount of unkowns when we enter this hobby. It takes time and it does get better. It's a new language that requires application of logic. We're also lucky because the number of operations and rules are comparatively few.

    I mean see Microsoft how many operators are there?
    How many logical statements? there are no nuances. there are only 2 letters in the alphabet "on", "off". The rest is grammatical manipulation. That's what we have to learn and remember.

    FramedArchitect, how many years did it take you to learn to write the message you put on this forum? and with the correct spelling so we could easily understand you?

    It's the same with programming, it takes time. As babies we all fall more than 300 times before we learn to walk after a fashion, we're in that state of development, we're learning at the pre-primary level and want to do things like writing the "great novel" from the beginning? it's not realistic. Give it time and enjoy the journey.
     
  4. FramedArchitect

    FramedArchitect Reluctant Modder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Missouri
    I really like the Wiki reference that you set up, but I've been getting this error when I visited today (first time I've tried it in several weeks at least):

    Code:
    Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 125829120 bytes) in /usr/local/etc/httpd/modiki.civfanatics.com/extensions/bannedips.php on line 262147
    
    Just wondering if this fantastic resource is now gone.
     
  5. DonQuiche

    DonQuiche Emperor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    I am not the administrator behind the wiki, just a mere contributor. That being said it is very unlikely that the wiki would have been removed, especially without any word in advance. I guess it is just a bug caused either by a mistake, a malevolent editor or a buggy update. Nothing to worry, though, I am pretty sure that things will be restored within the next few days.

    Now could you send a PM to Ainwood to be sure he is aware of the problem please ? He is the one able to fix it.
     
  6. General Tso

    General Tso Panzer General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,547
    Location:
    U. S. of A.
    I just sent a message to Ainwood (in case nobody else has had a chance). I use this great resource just about every day that I'm working on this mod. Many thanks to DonQuiche, Ainwood, and anybody else who spent time making it happen.
     
  7. daviiadams

    daviiadams Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    London
    Same here, always checking on bits n' pieces there :-S
     
  8. General Tso

    General Tso Panzer General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,547
    Location:
    U. S. of A.
    Any news on the status of this problem? I really really miss this great collection of information.
     
  9. ww2commander

    ww2commander Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Australia
    Google cache snapshot is from 28 Jan, so you can still reference the pages, although rather painfully!
     
  10. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
  11. Craig_Sutter

    Craig_Sutter Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    I can access the wiki however the graphics are all mixed up. Something is wrong with the display so the info is not clear.

    Anyone else have this problem. I cannot use the wiki as is because,for example, I cannot look at individual functions for players or units.

    Thanks.
     
  12. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    @Craig_Sutter

    I experience the same thing, have done for a few weeks now.
     
  13. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,253
  14. DonQuiche

    DonQuiche Emperor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Unfortunately there is nothing I can do about the wiki problems: this is a server-side bug and I have no control over this. I invite you to contact Ainwood about this problem but I do not know whether he still is in charge.

    Also I fixed the explanation about the "do..end" scope, thank you for reporting it. But I do invite you to rather fix things directly instead, as collaboration is the very purpose of a wiki. If it was because you could not register, try to use a name with 8 characters or less.


    EDIT: Oops, my changes were not accepted and were flagged as "spam" for some reason. Seems like the syntax highlighting is now rejected. One more bug.
     

Share This Page