1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

World Builder

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by mica8911, Jan 24, 2009.

?

Do you use world builder in game?

  1. Yes

    32 vote(s)
    34.4%
  2. No

    61 vote(s)
    65.6%
  1. mica8911

    mica8911 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Do u use it?
    Yes
    No
    I hear a lot of you talk about using world builder to better ur situation out throughout the game. I was just wondering if this is something all of you do? Do you have certain situations you use them in ONLY?
     
  2. azzaman333

    azzaman333 meh

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    22,877
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS Reputation:131^(9/2)
    99.99% of the time I open the WB, I quit the game before hitting end turn after leaving it.

    00.01% of the time, I want to see where the nukes I gave to the barbarians end up.
     
  3. KingLoraxII

    KingLoraxII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Michigan
    I have and use it - sometimes just to change the map before the game - like tie areas together and make character. Other times, if I am being dog piled and the game is about the be over - just drop some modern armor and go postal to relieve stress before starting over.

    I dont use it competitively - just for fun if I am pretty sure its not a game I will enjoy at some point. Maybe give barbs some toys to wreak havoc.

    I thinks its fun sometimes. I dont really play competitively anyways - not even finish games - I just like to play in a sandbox format. Play to have fun not to win.
     
  4. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I use Worldbuilder to gift me, the AI and the barbs some sweet tech- and a finite amount. So basically, each civ has a squad of 5 marines and a mobile artillery. Adds a LOT of fun in the early game. I don't often do that, though. Much more often i use it to place units i have made to make sure they work correctly, and see if there's something i missed.
     
  5. Turquoiside

    Turquoiside Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    A lot? how much is a lot? Mopst people hear only use if...for the laughs
     
  6. Aemilius

    Aemilius Guest from Overseas

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Southern Finland
    I don't use it for, although I admit the temptation is sometimes strong. It just feels like cheating :sad: I've only used it once, when I tried to make a spearman kill a tank.
     
  7. Sciguy001

    Sciguy001 CiV Great Scientist (duh)

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    the CFC Forums
    I don't know why, but I find it entertaining to give the barbarians nukes and/or a horde of modern armors in the classical age. However when something terribly horrible has happened to me(such as Genghis Khan randomly declaring war and takes down my capital) I tend to cheat by reloading, it is so much more practical than world builder.
     
  8. bestbrian

    bestbrian Just this guy, ya know?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,344
    Location:
    NYC
    My games take forever, and require a great investment in time; I don't like to see that wasted. So, I use the WB to scout out maps before I start playing to see if they're fun/interesting/playable, and I may tweak the geography a bit for a better map. In game? Rarely to Never anymore, although I admit to having had some fun with it back in my Warlords days.
     
  9. BTSFanRandy

    BTSFanRandy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Wow, I should try that sometime. :spear:
     
  10. IAM

    IAM Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    wish I knew
    Most often I'll use worldbuilder to get a feel for the types of maps it spawns when I havn't played a particular map. Like Fractal. So not in games I intend to actually play.


    ...but I do have a sneaking suspicionthat the AI uses it.:nono:
     
  11. Jewman

    Jewman Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    maryland land of crabs
    Messing with the barbarians is always fun. I almost put tons of barbarian camel archers in the deserts, and tons of barbarian horse archers in the plains.

    whenver i play Earth map i put tons of barbarians all over asia. They build quite a large empire before they are conquered by Russia and Persia in the 1600s... and they usually conquer the stupid mongols.

    I also use world builder from time to time to delete that annoying barbarian wave that is coming to pillage all your crucial resources. its cheating, but i cant help it... this game is about fun and barbarians coming out of nowhere and pillaging my newly mined iron makes me very angry.
     
  12. CCRunner

    CCRunner Deity

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,132
    I've done always war games where I made all of the AIs at war with -100 relations. In normal games, no I don't use WB
     
  13. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,157
    I wouldn't be able to make maps for the noble's club and PYL series without the world builder!

    In a normal game? No. I'm pretty stubborn, too. This is one of the reasons events really irk me, because if I get hit by one that's game-breaking I'll just quit. It's some kind of mental "no cheating" lock that was self-placed or something. Using the worldbuilder literally feels wrong in-game, unless I'm just deliberately screwing around from the start (aka hey, let's give a barb city surrounded by peaks all 7 religions and see how the game goes or other such things...).
     
  14. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    i agree with TMIT, but i play on the HOF mod only (unless ffh or rfc mod) because i don't have the option to do anything like reloading or world builder. i find myself abandoning many games that my mistakes made unwinnable, but if unwinnable then i was losing, so i lose.

    i have never submitted a game, and i don't plan to until i can get more than 60% win rate on monarch. noble isn't even a challenge but on monarch i tend to get shafted a lot. as TMIT said, i am getting sick of events, but i leave them on for flavor - besides, it helps the stupid AI. im more sick of huts. in a recent poll i made, most players don't feel huts are game-breakers.

    then again for augusts to finish bronze working and pop iron working from a hut, or for portugal to pop astronomy from a hut can be a game breaker. they don't give me the favors they give the AI so why have them on. i have gotten better from HOF, and i recomend everyone who uses WB or reloads to play HOF with the goal of getting good enough to submit games.

    Now, i go back to my older games and realize how i can win, but it is too late because it would be a "reload".
     
  15. BarrageQueen

    BarrageQueen Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    I never tried out the builder until recently, when I wanted to test some espionage and corporation mechanics. Doing so was really helpful to my improved understanding of said game aspects. I'd highly recommend the w builder as a learning tool.
     
  16. Skurn

    Skurn Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Paris
    Same here.
    The real games I play with HOF mod and locked modified assets so I don't have the option.
    The only thing I regret is that when you finish a game (win or lose) and choose one more turn, the WB isn't available to see the whole world.
     
  17. blitzkrieg1980

    blitzkrieg1980 Octobrist

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,899
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    If I get shafted with tribal villages, and then the game shafts me again with some crazy bad random event (IE tsunami destroys bank / market in my Wall Street City), I will completely go WB and put the Bank / Market back into the city. BUT, if the game was kind to me with events after the b/s tribal villages, I'll take the lost bank/market in stride and rebuild them.
     
  18. UWHabs

    UWHabs Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,011
    Location:
    Toronto
    Every now and then I'll play a sandbox WB game. Usually a OCC. I load up my start city with tons of iron, gold, food resources, etc... and all the zone outside my BFC is full of all the other resources (or when I get corporation, like 20 fish hehe).

    But in a "normal" game? Nah, I won't bother. Okay, I'm playing an Earth map I WB-ed in a few hills to get rid of the natural blocking points, but otherwise, nah, it's not worth it. The most cheating I'll do is reload when someone backstabs me and I wasn't ready, so I'll switch to my war prep mode.
     
  19. blitzkrieg1980

    blitzkrieg1980 Octobrist

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,899
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    :eek: To me that's a helluva lot worse than WBing in a few buildings you lost to some b/s random event.

    I've always thought what it would be like to OCC and use WB to put everything I could ever want in the BFC :lol:. But, alas, I do not want to play OCC ;)
     
  20. LegionSteve

    LegionSteve Motörhead

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    England
    I use it in games that I start for the specific purpose of testing some feature to see how it works. I don't use it in games that I intend to finish.
     

Share This Page