1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

World without oil ?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Gilgalad, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. Gilgalad

    Gilgalad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    I'm playing a game where I've already revealed 95% plus of the map and have both Scientific Method and Combustion. And there doesn't seem to be any oil anywhere on the planet! Makes for a different kind of game, for sure. I'm waiting for a Great Scientist to built Standard Ethanol but so far no luck. Anyone else builds it, I'll have to conquer them I guess.

    Anybody heard of a map like this being generated before? I thought it was impossible.

    For the record I'm playing a Custom Game on the Mediterranean Map, which is not the real Med. but a random map around a central sea.
     
  2. GGracchus

    GGracchus Tribune of Rome

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,377
    I've never seen it, but I guess it could be possible. Is it a completely standard map(i.e default settings with mediterranean) or did you change any of the other settings? That might have an effect.

    Edit: Could you provide a link to the mapscript? I can't find it in my default BTS.
     
  3. strijder20

    strijder20 Wallowing in irony

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,047
    Location:
    In Dystopia
    Seems easy enough to conquer the world with inf+artillery.
     
  4. Ice_Tyrant

    Ice_Tyrant Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Sounds interesting. I never woulda thought it was possible. Maybe there is one patch in that 5% you haven't seen yet, lol.
     
  5. leemadison11

    leemadison11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    It seems impossible and unreal to me.
     
  6. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I don't recall it having happened to me in any of the games I've played on the standard map types over the years. Not having any oil in my region of the world - sure, that's happened quite a lot. But none anywhere on the map? Haven't seen it happen before.

    That said, it shouldn't be much of an issue. If no-one has any oil, you're all on an even ground. Much easier to deal with than, for instance, your main rival having oil and you having none (which has happened to me quite often). :)
     
  7. Gilgalad

    Gilgalad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18

    The map is a sub-set of Tectonics. Choose Tectonics and then Mediterranean under "Landmass Type." I guess I should have specified that. It is not a mod but came with the basic package. I did make one unusual option, I picked "No Ice" which I'm thinking may have had an effect. One of the places Oil shows up is on tundra near ice. There is also little or maybe no desert.

    I've been playing on since I posted. I now have almost the entire map revealed except for a few squares in one corner held by a snarky civ who won't trade. I am trying to reveal them all with a spy but I'm now quite sure there is no oil anywhere.

    Also, my permanent ally has just build Standard Ethanol so I'm hoping he's going to send an exec my way soon.
     
  8. Gilgalad

    Gilgalad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    And yet it is so.
     
  9. capnvonbaron

    capnvonbaron Democratia gladii

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783
    Location:
    cyberland, USA
  10. Cristoval

    Cristoval Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    257
    That's very weird. It should be somewhere in the northern tundras, or the southern desert.

    The weirdest thing that has happened for me was only one uranium source in the north and it belonged to Montezuma, lol.
     
  11. strijder20

    strijder20 Wallowing in irony

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,047
    Location:
    In Dystopia
    I tried a game with the mapscript you mentioned. There were 5 oil spots : 3 in jungle and two in the sea.
    With some RNG madness, it might be possible, unless there is something build in the code to prevent this from happening.
    My last game didn't have horses (and I was Egypt. Ah well, at least I wasn't Byzantium), but that was a tiny map.
     
  12. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,736
    Apparently it is possible.

    Use nuclear power for making ships. Planes are out but nukes fill that role nicely in their stead :p. Really the only things you can't make w/o oil are tanks and a few modern/future era specialties. If NOBODY has it then you're not even behind.

    Although yes, having monopoly on standard ethanol on such a map would be an enormous boost, especially if you can then UN ban nukes and walk all over everybody with air power.
     
  13. GA econ FTW

    GA econ FTW Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    on TMIT's Nuke power for ships:

    ....that will give you subs, destroyers, carriers and even Missile cruisers.....but I can't remember, it won't give you transports, right?

    Now that would be awesome if true...watching Nuclear destroyers, AEGIS cruisers and (empty) supercarriers with a good polaris sub screen....escorting galleons....

    ...filled with redcoats....just like in the south park "24" parody episode....

    just a muse....it might be a fun challenge in my future to pick a type of hammer/military crucial resource and worldbuild it out just to see how it affects my (and the AI's) outcomes....
     

Share This Page