1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

1300 AD on GEM

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Giant Earth Map Mod' started by ijnavy, May 28, 2008.

  1. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    1300 AD- The Rise of Timur and Fall of the Byzantines.

    The civs are (28) : Portugal, Castile/Aragon, France, England, Papal states, Wittlesbach, Hapsburg, Scandinavia, Marinids, Mamluks, Ethiopia, Hungary, Poland-Lithuania, Moscow, Byzantium, Ottomans, Il-Khawnate, Golden Horde, Timurlame, Delhi Sultanate, Bahmani Sultanate, Vijayanagar, Thailand, Yuan, Chagatai, Japan, Maya, and Venice.

    What is happening in the world: In Western Europe, the 100 years war is going on and the Holy Roman empire is being fought over by the Wittelsbach and Hapsburg families. The Ottomans are waging war against the Byzantines, will they (Byzantines) survive? Timurlame is about to conquer a mighty empire. The Indian states are at war with the Delhi sultanate.

    How to install: first, install GEM here: here.
    The download 1300 AD and unzip it to your mods folder here/
    Screenshots comming soon.
     
  2. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    How is the Scenario?
     
  3. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Since no one is criticizing anything, I guess that this scenario (except religions) got everything right.
     
  4. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    So, what happens in Germany? Are the Ottomans strong enough. What about Muscovy? How much does Timur conquer? Is china too strong?
     
  5. Traiano

    Traiano Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA (POB: Rome, Italy)
    Sorry man, I havent played it yet.
    Stubbornly I have been trying to fix something on my mod: find a way to display the initial greeting of the new LHs that I imported.
    I'm stuck on that: new LHs interact fine but do not show their first contact diplomatic-text...

    I will play your mod soon.
    Once I do I'll quickly post a breakdown of my game.
     
  6. xxxkilikxxx

    xxxkilikxxx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Testing it out now. Go Byzantines!

    Got to 1400 AD with Byzantine. First i'd like to ask if there is any way to change the speed. I guess it's just a personal preference of mine, but my computer goes rather slow when ending turns, so 30 turns to build a building for me takes forever.

    What happened while I played:
    I immediately began the construction of forges in all my cities except one of em, which I produced units at. I used those two macemen in Turkey to of course take the worker and I also managed to pillage almost all of Turkey's improvements, LOT of marble over there. Switched Research to 70%, and even 60% when my gold when short, and got in 30% culture. With the culture bonus I took a lot of Turkey's improvements, even got Turkeys capital to revolt for me. Most of the game I just lured the Turkish units out of their cities and just took em out real slowly. By around 1370 AD, after killing a bunch of Turkish men with my own starting men, I made peace with the Turks. Immediately after, they declared war on France. I was able to get the Gunpowder tech from Venice, which will help soon. My two forges have just been completed, and i'm now planning on massing Muskets and, after the Turkish capital goes under my control from culture, i'll re-declare war on the Turks. It's goin well for me now.

    I also plan on taking out the French, Russians, and the English. They forced me to give them tribute, but they will soon pay!
     
  7. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Go to your 1300 AD folder then privateMaps, and open the worldbuildersave in notepad. In the second line, it says speed and you can change it to any speed that you want (epic, normal, etc.).
    That means that I did everything right for the Byzantines.

    Is he the only one who played the scenario?
     
  8. Apekiller

    Apekiller Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9

    Hehe,here's a second one!
    I ve played as the Papal States and intend to give Byzantines and Scandinavians a try.This is my personal favourite GEM scenario.
     
  9. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Thanks:)
    Can't wait for your review.
     
  10. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    I wanted to update the scenario to GEM 5.0, but it has not been fixed for the new patch. Will update the scenario for the new patch soon.
     
  11. Apekiller

    Apekiller Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I had the impressions I played the scenario on Gem 5.
    I ve played the scenario several times with various civs cause as I ve told before,I love it.
    Here are a few issues you should consider imo:
    1.The scenario less eurocentric than it should be.Sooner or later most european civs become vassals of asiatic and african ones.Especially the Yuans and Mamluks are really overpowered.
    2.Venice after a few turns assimilates culturally to the papal states.Some culture producing buildings should solve it.
    3.Give Ottomans and Byzantines some more military units.As long as their war ends (apart from the outcome) they have serious problems with their neighboors.
     
  12. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Thanks for the advice.
    I'll update all of my scenarios to 3.17 when GEM 5.1 gets updated.
     
  13. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It is just updated!
     
  14. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Thanks Genghis_Kai
    I can't figure out how to update my scenarios to the new patch. Can someone please point me in the right direction?
     
  15. Lean

    Lean Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    New York
    I really liked this senario back when I could play it. IS this going to be updated? I'm really hoping so.
     
  16. Spearthrower

    Spearthrower Thrower of spears

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Sorry I haven't played the mod yet. I've got it downloaded but no time to play. I just wanted to make a quick comment that there was no such thing as Thailand until 1939 -then it went back to Siam for another 10 years before finally becoming Thailand again in 1949.

    Given the time of the start date of this map, can I suggest renaming them Kingdom of Ayutthaya? This is just at the beginning of the Ayutthaya ascendancy which lasted until 1767.
     
  17. Clonefusion

    Clonefusion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Lu with BASF in Germany
    Hi ,

    is this scenario compatible with 5.3 ???
     
  18. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    I'm not sure, when did the patch come out?
    I'm going to add some new leaderheads and the Orthodox religion.
    Probably change some other things to.
    Any recommendations?
     
  19. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The scenario looks good and I'm looking forward to playing it.

    All i'd say is that it would help massively from a users perspective if the version compatibility was in line with Kai's releases. If this isn't working with 3.17 then most people aren't going to be able to play it, especially as Kai's latest version runs on 3.17.

    Also, some screenshots would be really nice.

    Happy xmas

    Tom
     
  20. dknight237

    dknight237 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    seeing as how old this thread is, Im assuming this doesnt work with bts 3.17 or 3.19

    shame, since this is a time period that doesnt get much play
     

Share This Page