1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Achievement Saves (for the lazy and/or the frustrated people out there)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by FeiLing, Feb 19, 2012.

  1. WeaselSlapper

    WeaselSlapper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    505
    FeiLing you may also want to add on your OP that you cannot get achievements (or progress towards them) while playing in offline mode and that the achievements log only updates when the game is saved/completed. So if you play a couple turns and make a bunch of progress and don't save the game (I don't know if autosaves count) you will not be able to track your progress in the log.

    In the save I uploaded you should be able to buy about 200 tiles per load. I didn't count exactly, that's just a rough estimate based on how many times it took me to go from having 450 tiles purchased to completing the achievement.
     
  2. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,731
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    About the log

    That's not how it works.

    The log is updated everytime the exectuable is restarted. Right now, I completed the game as Augustus, got several of the Generals, builded about 30 temples, and I will not see it in the logs until after I start Civ 5 again.
     
  3. clint0601

    clint0601 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    I can confirm that the Pillage 9 Farms works without the DLC it came with.

    Also, in the sinking ships save file, you could make a note to sell all of the Science buildings in every city. I was able to go to 2005 AD (T245) before destroyers appeared. Thanks a bunch for the save files!
     
  4. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,120
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Do you still need me to do the Polynesian scenario saves?
     
  5. FeiLing

    FeiLing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,017
    :) not really, sorry. Did finish the Samoa one I had already started right before Spain/Inca and Mongols were done and I'm like 15 turns from finishing the last one (Hiva). Couldn't resist, as with those done I'm done with the whole thing.... at least until the expansion comes out ;)

    @WeaselSlapper, note added, thx (oh, and TKOBO is right about how it actually works :p ).
    @clint0601, good idea! & thx for confirming that one too!
     
  6. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,120
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Ah, okay. I'll do my best to help when the expansion comes out, which should be easier then because of the supposed DLC enabling / disabling feature
     
  7. FeiLing

    FeiLing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,017
    Oh really, they're adding that functionality? That's great news!
     
  8. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,120
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I think so, it was sort of mentioned off-hand by Greg clearing up a prior comment about DLL
     
  9. WeaselSlapper

    WeaselSlapper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    505
    FeiLing, I checked the numbers and in the save I posted you can buy about 200 tiles. One thing that will maximize the number of tiles you can buy is to never buy a tile that cost anymore than 5 Gold more than the previous tile purchased. In some cities there are some tiles that are crazy expensive (haven't quite figured out why) and if you buy those you will waste gold that could be spent on cheaper tiles.
     
  10. RD-BH

    RD-BH Human

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    Formerly: Missouri, USA
    Nice collection :goodjob:

    I haven't had a problem with Civ5 ...
    ... but I've had achievements deleted on other games and find such "cheats" useful.
    Espcecially after losing achievements for the umpteenth time ...
    ... I'm looking at you, BioWare :thumbsdown:
     
  11. tithin

    tithin Merely Marauding.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Melbourne Aus, formerly Glasgow.
    My Little Pony - Catherine the Great Achievement

    This will only get you the "My Little Pony" achievement for Catherine of Russia.

    Goal: to get to the Horse Riding tech before anyone else in the game. Just hit End turn.

    Conquest of the World - Alexander

    Goal: To wipe out all opponents on the map before 350 BC.
    To Achieve: Use the last standing swordsman south of Egypts capital to attack.

    This should provide the following achievements:

    Win on a Duel Map
    Win on a Pangaea Map Type
    Win on Settler Difficulty
    Win as Alexander
    Win as Alexander before 350 BC in a domination victory
    Win a Domination victory
     
  12. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,731
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Which difficulty? Will also count that too :)

    If it's the last city of Egypt it will also provide "Crush an enemy completely" achievemnt.
     
  13. tithin

    tithin Merely Marauding.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Melbourne Aus, formerly Glasgow.
    Both are on Settler difficulty. I was just rushing the achievement.
     
  14. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,120
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Potentially map type as well. I got seven achievements when I did that a while back:

    Win as Alexander
    As Alexander, wipe out every nation etc.
    Destroy an existing civilization
    Win on [difficulty]
    Win on [Map Type]
    Win on [Map Size]
    Win a domination victory

    Potentially also Win on all standard map sizes and types, and win all victory conditions
     
  15. tithin

    tithin Merely Marauding.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Melbourne Aus, formerly Glasgow.
    Updated my post with all of the victory types off the top of my head. Pretty sure it's all of them.
     
  16. FeiLing

    FeiLing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,017
    :D

    Added them to the list, thanks for contribution.

    Spoiler :
    (won't list redundant achievements as well as map sizes and difficulties though (I know I did for a few in the beginning)) but they are kinda trivial anyway).

    edit) aww... just assumed they were free of DLC requirements as nothing was mentioned. Unfortunately I was wrong :p
     
  17. tithin

    tithin Merely Marauding.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Melbourne Aus, formerly Glasgow.
    Sorry yeah, I have all the DLC and have no idea how to turn it off for single player - sorry!
     
  18. Aleenik

    Aleenik Pwnzor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,199
    Location:
    Earth
    I love this thread.:) Thanks a lot FeiLing and everyone else who has helped to add to the amazing collection of achievement saves. I only had a handful of achievements because I always (Except when I first started playing Civ 5) have mods on. I use Unofficial Patch/VEM and many non gameplay changing mods. I would definitely not want to play without them.
     
  19. ggmoyang

    ggmoyang Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    956
    Location:
    Rep. of Korea
  20. FeiLing

    FeiLing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,017
    Haven't bought G&Ks yet. Waiting to see what the summer sale says about it's price maybe. Also playing a lot of Diablo3 :D

    But in general I plan to continue this, so everyone might very well share their saves too.

    Question: Are all the old saves useless now? Heard the expansion might have completely broken all old saves?
     

Share This Page