1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Announcing BUFFY

Discussion in 'Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)' started by ruff_hi, Jul 25, 2009.

  1. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,840
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    Glad you like it.
    That is a good suggestion and something that we can add in time. I don't think other mods have a separate logger so it will be BUG or nothing. BUFFY includes BUG.
    It would be all python. Look in the logger python files for examples, especially the 'AI change civics' part. We have all of the logger text in xml for multi-language support.
    This is the very reason I added that 2nd page - if you look on the turn they perform their espionage, you should be able to figure out who did it to you.
     
  2. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I don't think this is available in BUFFY as you added this feature fairly recently. :(
     
  3. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,840
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    good point - when are those lazy so-and-so's going to release an updated BUFFY?
     
  4. bivision

    bivision Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks ruff_hi, will checkout BUG mod and also will eagerly wait for next BUFFY release including it. If your espionage page gives the data, that is good enough.
     
  5. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Also check out BAT which combines BUG and BULL (both in BUFFY) and other goodies in one easy-to-install package like BUFFY.
     
  6. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,242
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    And it's a good source of dietary fiber!

    Well, ok, not really, but it is a lot of fun. ;)
     
  7. obsolete

    obsolete Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    If the new version of Bat includes Bull, I am confused why I don't remember it asking me to change my DLL file.
     
  8. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,852
    BAT's a stand-alone mod. it has its own DLL file. (and BULL has been in BAT for quite some time)
     
  9. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Correct, because BAT is a full-fledged mod that lives in its own folder under the Mods folder, it can have its own DLL. BUG installs to CustomAssets which BTS does not check for a DLL, thus BULL must either go in its own folder like BAT or into the game's core Assets folder, replacing the original.
     
  10. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,852
    Hey ruff - any chance of BUFFY getting a facelift (i.e., latest bug/bull features) ?

    kossin asked about this over on the sgotm forum so I thought I'd post the same here.
     
  11. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,852
    Anybody out there? :) This forum has been quiet for a while. I hope you guys (and gal) aren't all working on V.
     
  12. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,840
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    yes - we are discussing it very slowly. RL keeps getting in the way.
     
  13. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Same. I've had very little time to work on BUG at all lately. :( Rest assured this is just a lull, like hibernation.
     
  14. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,840
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    yep - EF and I have stuffed a big bunch of grass and stuff up our neither regions and we are hibernating.
    Spoiler :
    Is that over-sharing?
     
  15. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Oh dear, did I leave the webcam on again? :blush:
     
  16. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,852
    So back to my question of 12/23/09 :) - Is BUFFY ever going to be brought up to date?
     
  17. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,840
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    Yes it is.
     
  18. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,242
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Perish the thought! This is me when playing V --> :sleep:

    Modding it --> :badcomp:

    Yup.

    Ewwwwww!

    :D
     
  19. Mathalamus

    Mathalamus Emperor of Mathalia

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary.
    why does Buffy not save settings, thus requiring to run is as an admin? i notice no other game or mod suffers this issue.
     
  20. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,242
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    If you're using Windows 7 or Vista, you need to run Civ4 as an Admin. Civ4/BTS normally installs into a protected user folder on those versions of Windows, and it requires Admin privileges to write to those folders. It's a Windows thing, not Buffy.

    If you want to get around this, reinstall the game into a standard folder on your hard drive, like "\Games\" for instance. Not the User folders. :)
     

Share This Page