1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Any news on the Fall Update?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by Martinus, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. Martinus

    Martinus Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,793
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Are there any news on the Fall Update / DLCs for Mac OS?

    I gotta say the level of support from Aspyr is getting weaker and weaker. I could understand the delay of the Summer patch, as it was a holiday period etc., but four weeks during a "work year" is atrocious.

    If Paradox can develop their Mac OS support in house and keep it on par with the Windows support, surely Firaxis could do it too (I doubt there are fewer people who play Civ VI on a Mac than there are people playing Stellaris). .
     
  2. Hammurabbit

    Hammurabbit Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Agree, I can't see why it should take up to a month to release on Mac, as I assume a majority of the code base is the same for both platforms. I can only assume that Aspyr have other work in the pipe that prioritized higher.

    Here is where they typically publish news. Current statement is about a month old... https://support.aspyr.com/hc/en-us/articles/216979606-Civilization-VI-STEAM-KB
     
  3. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,535
    Location:
    Lucerne
    I think there is more to revise since people are having problems with the new OS and civ VI. First priority should be to fix that.
     
  4. wiggawuu

    wiggawuu Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Can anyone recommend some Paradox games? I'm really starting to think I'm done with Civ. Firaxis just isn't what it used to be.
     
  5. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,535
    Location:
    Lucerne
    Did you try Endless Legend? I prefer that one to the Paradox games actually. It has many flaws, but I think less than civ VI - and EU IV has enough flaws as well imho (and is way too expensive). I always felt that history games by Paradox are most fun when roleplaying.
     
  6. wiggawuu

    wiggawuu Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    i've never tried a paradox games. They old school board war games though.
     
  7. Hammurabbit

    Hammurabbit Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I started playing EU4 while waiting for last DLC. It's an excellent game - but of course pretty pricey...
     
  8. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4,578
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    The Paradox games are great for roleplaying.

    The Endless games are better if you enjoy the exploration aspect and fun battle scenes.

    Ultimately, it's your choice.
     
  9. gfeier

    gfeier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    Endless Space 2 is the most "just one more turn" game I have ever played. It's in about the same part of its life cycle as Civ VI, but the AI really knows how to fight. It has a steep learning curve, though and it's very hard to figure out just what's going on much of the time. Worth a look.
     
  10. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4,578
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Endless Space 2 is a very deep 4X game that I would recommend as well. Its dev team is very communicative and has numerous content updates as well, some of which are decided by fan votes.

    It's owned by Sega now.
     
  11. gfeier

    gfeier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    I'm wondering if the Fall update is being held up by the need for High Sierra compatibility.
     
    Siptah likes this.
  12. Hammurabbit

    Hammurabbit Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I'm pretty sure that's the hold up. It's been over a month...
    Does anyone know what they changed in Sierra that could cause so much trouble? Any other games having problems?
     
  13. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    The problem is the new file system that Apple implemented (APFS). I moved my game files over to an SD card that is Mac OS X Extended format and have had no issues.
     
  14. gfeier

    gfeier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    Latest bad news on the Fall update from Aspyr on Steam:

    Aspyr-Blair [developer] 16 hours ago
    El Bart 0:

    I realize there are difficulties in the process. Been there, done that, know how much it sucks. Do you at least have a target date that Aspyr is driving toward, or is the bug tracker still so backlogged that its 'eventually'?

    We are doing everything we can to get this out before the break. I'll be the first to admit however that Jan is a real possibility due to pretty much the entire industry shutting down mid/late Dec.
     
    iamliberal and Siptah like this.
  15. gfeier

    gfeier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    More info from Aspyr-Blair:

    "Thanks for the understanding. To be clear, 2K/Firaxis make a crazy strong effort to get us stuff asap, and in most cases we get it quite a bit before launch. There is just no easy button. Game development and native port work from DX11 -> OGL/Metal and Linux is sometimes extremely challenging. This is especially true for x-plat (Homeworld Remastered is a great example...it was mathematically impossible to make x-plat work)."
     
    iamliberal and Siptah like this.
  16. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    I just read all this in Steam. Unbelievable!
     
  17. j51

    j51 Blue Star Cadet

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    969
    Location:
    Ping Island
    Why do they still use Aspyr? Why don't the do this in house? Why does Amplitude have Mac stuff ready close to, or on day one?
     
  18. Martinus

    Martinus Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,793
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    I have asked the same question. Paradox is another developer who manages to have simultaneous Windows and MacOS (as well as Linux) updates done in-house - and they are certainly not larger than Firaxis. It's really unbelievable.
     
  19. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Mac users still waiting on fall patch, meanwhile, we will announce the newest expansion pack Rise and Fall. Mac users will be waiting how long for this release? When I started playing Civ back in the Civ 2 days through Civ 4, I used a PC. I get a nice MBP from work every two years, so I decided to switch to Steam when Civ 5 came out and use my Mac. I'm considering switching back to PC.
     
  20. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,535
    Location:
    Lucerne
    Ever tried Bootcamp? Or parallels? I haven‘t used them in many years, but afaik it works fine.
     

Share This Page