1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Any news on the Fall Update?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by Martinus, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I've tried bootcamp, and that is fine, but you have to boot specifically into Windows. I haven't tried it in a VM, maybe someday. I don't play a whole lot, maybe once a week on average. It just sucks being behind on the new features of the game.
     
  2. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,570
    Location:
    Lucerne
    New features like the starting position bug :p
     
  3. matt91486

    matt91486 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Maybe we'll finally get cross platform (As they promised AGES ago) by the time Civ 7 comes out.
     
  4. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    643
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    VM and Parallels don’t support Civ VI because of DirectX. I’ve tried. Now we have Nvidia’s GeForce Now cloud gaming which is in Beta until March 2018, at least it used to say that two weeks ago in their website, but they took it out. It’s really cool if you have fast internet service.
     
  5. Hammurabbit

    Hammurabbit Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Siptah likes this.
  6. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    643
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    Aspyr just made Civ VI available on iPad. I think that is pretty great regardless of what is going on with MacOS. I never thought it would make it there, to be honest.

    Once you download it, It gives you a 60 turns for free and then you have to buy the game. It is valued at $59.99, but it will be 50% off until January 4, 2018. I won't pay for it again, but it would be such a gesture to reestablish confidence and loyalty if they would give us access to the game for free or at the very least a 75% discount.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2017
  7. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4,692
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    If an iPad can play Civ VI, then it would be great if it were on the Nintendo Switch as well.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2017
    Siptah and Ondolindë like this.
  8. gcareaga

    gcareaga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    I would never pay $30 for an iOS game, let alone $60. Neither Civilization Revolution 1 or 2 delivered a very satisfying tablet experience at <$10.
     
  9. belligerent

    belligerent Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Agreed. I remember playing Civ Rev twice after purchase. Played it on the highest difficulty and beat it easily twice, never opened it again.
     
  10. KWagle

    KWagle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    This is not Civ Rev. It's Civilication VI. And a touch-based interface is better for Civ than a mouse and keyboard.
     
  11. gfeier

    gfeier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    I bought it. It works surprising well on my 2017 9.7" iPad and It's just the thing for those long chemotherapy sessions. Not sure if I would have spent $60, but it's on sale now at $30, so I couldn't resist.
     
    Ondolindë likes this.
  12. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    I have definitely started using bootcamp and am switching back to PC once my current mac breaks down. FWIW, Bootcamp is surprisingly easy to set up (I am NOT a tech person by any stretch of the imagination) though you need to buy Windows (like Windows 7 for 30 bucks or something). Bootcamp works surprisingly well.
     
  13. DanaLea

    DanaLea Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    344
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    They said TOMORROW!!!!

    upload_2018-1-10_22-44-0.png
     
    iamliberal, Siptah and Hammurabbit like this.
  14. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,570
    Location:
    Lucerne
    I'm very happy to read this (and Blair's posts in general, usually).
    But this will also mean that we will have to wait for R&F quite long, if they want to ship that with x-platform.

     
  15. Rajendran

    Rajendran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    I wrote in Steam civ 6 MAC saying “Blair, just to re-confirm what you wrote. You mentioned “will dive back into xplat with Rise and Fall”. Does it mean, Rise and Fall will be released first and thereafter continue to work on xplat or Rise and Fall will be released after solving the xplat problem. Hope they will release the RISE and FALL first and then continue to work on xplat”. He says this is spam. He is a stupid fellow who is coward to give a honest answer. But instead choose to say my query is a spam.
     
  16. gfeier

    gfeier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    I thought his answer was quite clear. We get R&F first and xplat later (or never).
     
  17. Rajendran

    Rajendran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    His answer could also be interpreted they will work with Rise and Fall, which may mean that Rise and Fall will be released once xplat is workable. Of course, if Rise and Fall comes first, I will be more than happy. But his answer was not very clear. Steam Civ 6 MAC discussion group is not very forthcoming with the progress. Mostly, they choose to keep silent. Even if Rise and Fall were to come first, they are hesitant to provide an estimate time of release. It is similar to the DLC (Khmer and Indon) which was released in last Oct for PC but MAC version is delayed so Long. Will it be the same case for Rise and Fall.
     
  18. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,570
    Location:
    Lucerne
    If they try to get xplat working with the release of rise and fall for mac, I don't think we'll see it in February. There is a possibility that it will take much, much longer. If they release the add-on first, without xplat, I think 2-3 weeks after windows release is realistic (just like it was with the first 4 DLC and the base game).
     
  19. SirWill90

    SirWill90 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV, USA
    So Fall update expected sometime today then? Or wishful thinking? Not able to check Steam atm but that would be awesome to be able to play a decent game without booting into Windows.
     
  20. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I've been checking off and on since this morning, nothing yet on my system.
     
    SirWill90 likes this.

Share This Page