1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Babylon & Persia

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by myclan, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. myclan

    myclan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    559
    I was using Babylon, when Persia appeared, sometimes I found that I was at War with the Persian and sometimes not. The same problem occured when Greeks apeeared. Is it just luck or controlled by some special factors?

    I have also met another problem. Though the Persian was at war with me, he just sent all his troops into my boundary, and stood there doing nothing. Neither trying to attack my city, nor destroying my village. What's more, the position his troops choose is not a very good tile to defence. I just wondered what had happened.
     
  2. Jusos2108

    Jusos2108 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698
    It is a feature, some civs start at war against other civs. It is random, though there is probably slightly bigger chance for starting at war, perhaps 60-40.

    I believe that the Persians don't attack because they don't have siege weapons, not sure though. It is an AI problem and very annoying one. I assume that it is known.
     
  3. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Poland
    I think they have single catapult and they are SLOWLY destroying your walls...
     
  4. myclan

    myclan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    559
    No, they just stood there, with no catapult, even not near to my city:crazyeye:
     
  5. NitroJay

    NitroJay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Tecumseh, MI
    I had the same thing happen to me when playing as Babylonia... The Persians just sat there with a stack of immortals (2N, 1E of Babylon) and never attacked...

    Granted, I played Babylonia a bunch of times in a row (going for the UHV) and this only happened once or twice... Other times, they would attack my one city with their chariots... (mostly) but a few times they got the immortals off of their ass and attacked... It's not a definite bug, since they DO attack, but I know what you mean, I've seen it.
     
  6. astrognash

    astrognash TXT_KEY_CUSTOM_USER_TITLE

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Empire of North Carolina
    I've noticed a similar thing. Got BtS today **yay!** and instantly started up an RFC game as Babylonia. I DoW the independants in Shush. They send a warrior to stand a tile or two northeast of Babilu until the Persian spawn. I'm thinking this may be a bug related to playing as Babylon?
     
  7. myclan

    myclan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    559
    This is not a bug, for it is the only thing one warrior can do
     
  8. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    It isn't a bug but a "feature" of BetterAI mod that has been implemented with the BtS expansion. It makes the AI more cautious. Sometimes, too cautious.
     

Share This Page