1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Beta V0.05 - Download, Issues, Discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mare Nostrum' started by Ekmek, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Egypt was known as Aegyptus back in the Roman era
     
  2. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    I was unaware.

    This is a great mod, easily one of my favorites. seriously, its professional and beautiful, good enough to have been released as an expansion though they never went with the x-pac route for Col.
     
  3. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Thank you.

    Unfortunately I never got the time to dedicate other stuff I wanted to do with it -

    I wanted a more elaborate resource system
    Added slaves as a resource and needed for production
    and fully integrate it with AoD2
     
  4. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    How do i make my cities grow normal? i dont remember where but i saw the fix somewhere, my cities start swallowing up nearby tiles and i cant tell what im nearby.
     
  5. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    i havent played this in a long time but this is the first I heard of this issue. can you post a screenshot?
     
  6. Androrc the Orc

    Androrc the Orc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,620
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    I believe he is referring to an issue also present in vanilla Civ4Col; as cities grow, their graphics start to encompass those of nearby tiles as well.
     
  7. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    oh, ok. i actually liked that. but didn know it covered the whole tile. i think it can be fixed by adjusting the city scale in the xml file
     
  8. KJ Jansson

    KJ Jansson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Please, make such simple modification:

    1. Open GlobalArtDefines.xml (...\Assets\XML\Art)

    2. Find these lines:
    Code:
    	<Define>
    		<DefineName>GAME_CITY_SIZE_EXP_MODIFIER</DefineName>
    		<fDefineFloatVal>[B][COLOR="Red"]1.05[/COLOR][/B]</fDefineFloatVal>
    	</Define>
    3. Exchange 1.05 on 0.5 (for instance).

    4. Save changes and compare a new view of your city with old one.
     
  9. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,318
    Dear Ekmek,

    Can you please somehow update your "real" Mediterranean map to beta 5? It is missing many resources and even yields now...
     
  10. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    :eek:
    I'll take a look to see whats wrong.
     
  11. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    I use this with the rhye earth map, i wish i were talented enough to make TLC starts for it. I would want to make aztec, inca and maya as "normal colonists" and have "barbarian" civ's for some of the culture groups like the olmec, zapotec, quito, and some of the "natives" that the mesoamerican empires swallowed up.

    The Inca were made from Quecha culture, their group emerged at Lake Titicaca and became an empire when it conquered Cuzco. they conquered natives and were doing so all the way up to the end.

    The Aztec were likely texans but they were clearly from the north, were granted permission to settle, and conquered the natives. Until the end of their civilization, they were spreading and conquering.

    Same with the Mayans, who spread their empire by a mixture of peaceful assimilation and brutal warfare.

    I have tried to make my case for this, so i beg for someone to make these 3 empires in the game. As europe closes up and nations fall, they will prepare to colonize the america's and asia.

    At the same time, 3 native empires are building up to meet their fate with better luck than before.

    I would also argue for Japan, who attacked korea, china, and the pacific islands - or the polyneans who held rule over hawaii and influence over maori culture all over the pacific.

    Aztec
    Inca
    Maya
    Japan
    Polynesia

    There would also be some natives in these areas.

    This would make the game global, and more diverse. It would simulate a good portion of the world, and when the east and west meet over both oceans...

    Each nation would start with one capital - one pioneer - one settler. Each native would just start with their settler, have buildings such as the ball court and instead of having constitution named that, it would be named cultural emergencies. this would simulate their desire for sovereignty and cultural equality while having less technology.
     
  12. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
  13. CeeBee

    CeeBee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Chase BC Canada
    Download link is dead :( I've got a new pc and a new laptop and would really like to play this mod again. Anyone happen to have a working link?
     
    wejin1 likes this.
  14. wejin1

    wejin1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hey, links dead... anybody here?
     

Share This Page