1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Better Ship Scale

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Elhoim, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. Military man

    Military man Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    It is extracted and it is in the coustom assets folder. Do I need to put any of the files in a diffren folder in the coustom assets?:confused:
     
  2. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Nope. When the zip is the custom assets, just extract there. It will extract the files to the corresponding folders.

    Check the folder CustomAssets\xml\art. There should be a file called CIV4ArtDefines_Unit.xml

    If it´s there, the mod is installed. ;)

    BTW, which version are you using?

    Hope it helps!
     
  3. Military man

    Military man Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    I looked into the art folder under XML in custom assets and it wasn't there so I found it and moved it there. I am using fleets v1.3. I saw some other files in the extracted folder under the folder names of audio and units then I checked in the XML folders and they were not there. Do I need to move them too?:) Also I just played and the galleys look smaller thanks.
     
  4. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Yeah, in the fleets version those files are for the fleets and for reducing the sound of three ships moving at the same time. Right now I guess that you are only seeing one galley, when you should be seeing three. :)

    One question, tough. Why weren´t the files there? I arraged the zip in a way that when you extract it inside the CustomAssets folder it follows the same directory estructure. Anyway, I´m glad that you figured it out and have the mod working. Enjoy! :D
     
  5. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    I've been using this in the past couple of weeks (along with the Better AI mod) and I have to say this is a sheer stroke of genius, Elhoim. Well done!

    We should start a petition to Firaxis to formally adopt this with the next expansion. :)

    Wodan
     
  6. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    :lol:

    Thanks! I don´t think I´m a genius, just a master of simplicity. :)

    About the petition, let´s first get their attention with the flavor one :p
     
  7. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Tried this last night. Very nice!

    Any thoughts to doing a "better Army scaling"?
     
  8. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    What, exactly, is wrong with scaling of land units? I haven't, frankly, had anything jump out at me.

    Wodan
     
  9. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Check the regiments mod. Perhaps that´s what you seek. :)
     
  10. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    That's it! Thanks.
     
  11. truhijo

    truhijo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    ho does this work. I downloaded it and put it in the right folder.

    I started up warlords and loaded up my game. The ship scale was fixed, caravels, galleons have 3 units instead of one. ALl thats tsuff works, except how doe sthe fleet feature work. I just sent over a huge armada over to the next continent, and well having a fleet would've made everything much cooler.
     
  12. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    First, welcome to CFC! :D

    Second, the "fleets" change is cosmetical. The difference with the normal versions is that you have three ships in each unit instead of one. That is all there is to it. :)
     
  13. truhijo

    truhijo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    ohhh. From the pictures I thought that it actually looked like a fleet, my bad.
     
  14. Delta187

    Delta187 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Nürnberg, Germany
    @ Elhoim

    First of all: Great Work!!! Thanks for that!

    Do you have the possibility to make the new ship scales for BTS? I don´t think that your mod (for Warlords) is working for Beyond the Sword, right?
    That would be great.....:king:
     
  15. Scheherazade

    Scheherazade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Hi Elohim. Is there a BtS version? :))
     
  16. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Yes, I will be doing a BTS version, but it will take a while. I'm very busy right now. :)
     
  17. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    I'm looking forward to it :goodjob:
     
  18. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    If you want to pull the code out yourself, we've converted this to BTS over at BUG.
     
  19. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    I just updated the version in BUG to Fleets (including 2 on 2 battles and forward-facing ships). Shall I post it here?
     
  20. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    If you can pull it out without taken other BUG code with ya, go ahead. Wouldn't want them getting power ratings in their score, or attitude icons, if they don't want 'em.;)
     

Share This Page