1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

black tiles in C2C

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by civhelp121, Jul 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dusckr87

    dusckr87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    It runs just fine for me in 64 bit without setting the compatibility (and of course the extracted files work fine), but then again it could be dependent on the version of PakBuild. Mine is 2.14.
     
  2. Raven Destroyer

    Raven Destroyer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    564
    on the SVN everytime i update the first time i run it i need to safe my game and then Exit due to the map being All black also the banners are black/grey but Second time it works good and until the next update it behaves itself
     
  3. salvelinus

    salvelinus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Arezzo, Tuscany, Italy
    This is my window from PackBuild Preferences
     

    Attached Files:

  4. MarinoCorps

    MarinoCorps Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I was hoping that deleting .28 completely and extracting .29 would fix the black tile problem. I've just read about 50 posts and tried a bunch of stuff listed to no avail. Would you "sticky" the best solution, or solutions if there's more than 1 so it's right at the top of the list? I think this mod is pretty awesome, but where it worked once, it has never again. (Black Tiles).
     
  5. AIAndy

    AIAndy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,392
    The most reliable solution has been to unpack the FPKs (at the cost of a long loading time).
     
  6. Praetyre

    Praetyre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    You know, given the endless pages of fruitless discussion and the fact a lot of newbies are probably going to wander into this page confused and possibly bork their computer with all sorts of voodoo-magic, why not close this thread and open an entirely new one that makes clear the present solution to this issue and that people can speculate on other possible causes and solutions to it within it.
     
  7. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,532
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    I second that opinion. Especially after my last fiasco of attempting voodoo :cry:
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,903
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Good idea but who's going to compile the debugging methods as expressed throughout the many pages here? Rightfuture... where u at?
     
  9. Praetyre

    Praetyre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    You're missing my point; there's no need to compile any of these debugging methods when we've got the FPK method, any more than, say, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders needs to list exorcism and homeopathy alongside antipsychotic drugs as a treatment for schizophrenia.
     
  10. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,297
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    :eek:Say What:faint:
     
  11. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,920
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    He is saying is all we need do is close this thread and open a new one which has in the opening post the way to solve black tiles is to extract the art from the FPK and how to do it. It always solves the problem.
     
  12. Monster2821

    Monster2821 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Memphis,TN,US
    What exactly do i need to do to fix the black tiles?
     
  13. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,532
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Apparently wait until the new thread is started.
     
  14. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,920
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Warning this document has not been tested by someone else yet. I am dyslexic and sometimes get stuff in the wrong order. Can anyone confirm this is all correct. If it is then can we get this thread closed and a new sticky one created with a copy of this as its opening post?

    Some quick things that fix the problem for some people.
    1) Delete the contents of C:\Users\<your name here>\AppData\Local\My Games\Beyond the Sword\cache

    2) Deleting the contents of C\Users\<your name here>\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\CustomAssets.
    Note: "Documents" may be "My Documents" on some versions of windows. On my machine it is "Documents\My Documents".​

    Final thing to try when all else fails

    1) Get the program PakBuild.

    2) use PakBuild to extract all the art from the FPK files in the Caveman2Cosmos/Assets
    Click PAK in the menu area and select Unpack... from the resulting drop down menu

    Select/Go to the Caveman2Cosmos/Assets folder in the folder area. See image 1 attached

    Select the the file C2C FPK file

    Again select the Caveman2Cosmos/Assets in the new window and press OK.

    A fuel gauge will come up and quickly indicate that it has finished. Don't be fooled it takes awhile. Wait for it to disappear. When it does the art that was in the FPK file is now in your art folder.

    Do this for each of the FPK files in turn.
    3) remove the FPK files from the assets folder.

    4) Your loading of C2C will be much slower but you should not have black tiles any more.

    Note. If you were using the alternate terrains you will need to reinstall them after doing this.​
     
  15. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,675
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I find deleting the contents of C:\Users\SgtSlick\AppData\Local\My Games\Beyond the Sword\cache

    And deleting the contents of C:\Users\SgtSlick\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\CustomAssets

    Fixes black tiles.
     
  16. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,920
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    All well an good but it doesn't help us close this thread. Is what I said usable and does it do what it says it does?
     
  17. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,675
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah doing what you said works 100% except you need to change~

    1) Delete the contents of C:\.....\My Games\Beyond the Sword\cache
    2) Deleting the contents of C:\.....\My Games\Beyond the Sword\CustomAssets

    To be:

    1) Delete the contents of C:\.....\AppData\Local\My Games\Beyond the Sword\cache
    2) Deleting the contents of C:\...\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\CustomAssets

    Deleting cache and custom assets works for me 95% and doesn't slow down the load and is easier to do - so its worth mentioning.
    Basically I get black tiles every single time I update svn, I then have to play it, quit - delete custom assets + cache and it then works fine.
     
  18. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,297
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    This "crap" is so weird :crazyeye::mad: When i mess with the Units.FPK, is when it happens, i have tried 1/2 of the units and made 2 FPKs , three FPKs, one just for Unique , nothing works.:mad:
     
  19. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,920
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I have created a new thread with the fix(es) in the first post that means this thread can be closed.
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,297
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Request Approved. . . . SO

    Moderator Action: -> closed, as requested.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page