Bridge

Railroaded tundra mines and roaded forested tundras give the same amount of production and commerce. Unrailroaded tundra mines provide less producion than forested tundras.
 
Forests, along with marshes and jungle, are the first targets for global warming. If you don't have any of those, and global warming strikes in your territory, it will degrade one tile. But if you at least kept your tundras covered with forest, that's where warming will strike, destroying the forest, which you can replant. That's why I always keep my tundras forested, even after railroads are available.
And if it is plains, and you intended to mine it, but there was a forest, you can just leave it for the time, as forests gives the same food/shield as mined plains.
And they look nice :D

Now back to the topic, at first I didn't understand what bridges did, so when I saw my irrigated grasslands only giving 2 food, I thought it had something to do with not having bridges... so my roads must be blocking the irrigation from the river. Something like that. It was much later when I learned it was because of the despotism penalty and had nothing to do with not having bridges. :crazyeye:
 
Nice. Isn't it kinda strange that when you have bridges and the AI doesn't, you don't get a movement penalty in their territory?
 
Nice. Isn't it kinda strange that when you have bridges and the AI doesn't, you don't get a movement penalty in their territory?

That's because knights are equipped with prebuilt, just-add-water portable bridges, to use in foreign territory.
Isn't that what happens with railroads too? If the AI doens't discover steam power yet, and you build RR in their territory, they can take advantage of the fast movement, but not the production bonus. :confused:
 
That's because knights are equipped with prebuilt, just-add-water portable bridges, to use in foreign territory.
Isn't that what happens with railroads too? If the AI doens't discover steam power yet, and you build RR in their territory, they can take advantage of the fast movement, but not the production bonus. :confused:

"'And how do we tell if the witch is made of wood?' :confused::confused: 'We build a bridge out of her!'"
-Monty Python and The Holy Grail

The AIs don't get the production bonuses? I did not know that.:eek:
 
You can plant and chop forests to earn those 10 shields more often, even fairly industriously.

Sorry to be pedantic but wasn't this disallowed in the later patches? I.e; shields from forests can only be harvested once and if the forest is replanted in the same spot and 'chopped' it won't yield any shields the second time.

Not sure if this extends to 'virgin' forests planted in-game or is restricted to pre-placed forests, perhaps someone would care to enlighten?
 
You are correct. One of the *early* patches disallowed the "Plant, Chop, rinse & repeat" exploit. No forest tile can get the bonus for chopping more than once.

However, that doesn't mean you can't plant and then chop forests on every tile available to a given city. So any given city has an absolute maximum of 200 shields available from the plant/chop strategy: 20 tiles in the BFC, each with a forest chopped (planted first, if necessary).

Of course, you have to keep track of which tiles have had forests chopped, so you don't waste worker turns planting and chopping, only to find the bonus for that tile has been used, already. ;)
 
You are correct. One of the *early* patches disallowed the "Plant, Chop, rinse & repeat" exploit. No forest tile can get the bonus for chopping more than once.

However, that doesn't mean you can't plant and then chop forests on every tile available to a given city. So any given city has an absolute maximum of 200 shields available from the plant/chop strategy: 20 tiles in the BFC, each with a forest chopped (planted first, if necessary).

Of course, you have to keep track of which tiles have had forests chopped, so you don't waste worker turns planting and chopping, only to find the bonus for that tile has been used, already. ;)
I've found that if you leave a planted forest alone for enough time, you can still get the bonus for chopping it.;)
 
I've found that if you leave a planted forest alone for enough time, you can still get the bonus for chopping it.;)

You can chop it the same turn it is planted.

IF THE TILE HAS NEVER HAD A FOREST CHOPPED ON IT BEFORE, YOU CAN GET THE 10 SHIELD BONUS.

Sorry for shouting, but that is the key 'rule'. Each tile can produce the forest-chopping bonus once. It doesn't matter if the forest was primeval, or planted. Once that tile's bonus has been used, it doesn't matter how often you plant/chop, or how long you wait before you chop. You won't get the bonus from that tile, again.
 
Yep, it's a one-shot deal. CivAssist 2 can track shield-forests for you, so you know where they can be used and where they've been used. I usually have my workers too busy to bother with planting/chopping them.
 
Back
Top Bottom