1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BtS] Amra's Modpack v3 for Beyond the Sword

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Amra, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. Jasmo

    Jasmo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Great Work as usual Amra. I would like to add my voice to those who would like to see you incorporate Revolutions in a future version. It brings a really nice variation to the game play.
     
  2. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    Well, maybe someone around would make an Amravolution for BTS. I know that if I have time I will, but it is not likely.

    @Amra

    I suggest that you play a game with revolution. It has matured a lot. You may change your mind then. Just think of how much it would be interesting with the number of civs you have in the mod. It would be too good to be legal.
     
  3. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,080
    Location:
    In orbit
    I've checked for compatibility and I just may do a scenario or two (Amra Editions, as it were), if that's okay with you.:mischief:
     
  4. Amra

    Amra the Lion

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Khauran
    Okay, an Amravolution BtS is in the works. Don't ask for a timeline on it yet though. Just stay tuned. ;)

    However, I will say that if anyone else wants to do something with my Basic modpack & Revolutions it is okay with me and may actually get done quicker. Just let me know so I don't duplicate the work.

    Of course, let me know when you've done them and I'll post a link to them on the first page.


    @everyone else
    Well, it's been a few days since I posted the Basic version. Have any other problems/bugs shown up? Other than the embarrasing audio problem, that is. :rolleyes:
     
  5. Fierabras

    Fierabras Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    Just wondering: the included DLL is just the Bhruic patch and nothing more? Or is it a new custom dll?
     
  6. Amra

    Amra the Lion

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Khauran
    Just Bhruic's Unofficial Patch DLL in the Basic version, nothing else.

    When I complete the Full version it will have a custom dll.
     
  7. Seidrik_The_Gray

    Seidrik_The_Gray Seidrik The Gray

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,160
    Amravolution with DCM (Please, Please, Please, Please) :beg:
     
  8. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    @Amra

    These are good news indeed! I will be waiting eagerly along with many others I presume. No pressure as for timeline, we know you've got a life to live and other projects to work on.

    @Jeelen

    I can't wait to try your scenarios with Amra's mod. Civ Gold versions are quite nice :goodjob:
     
  9. brun58

    brun58 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Amra, as always, your work on Mods, Leaderheads, ect. is greatly appreciated, you add much to the community. I was wondering since you are going to add a custom DLL for your full version, if you might add one of the mods that increase the total number of civs, like Lt. Bob's for instance, because I tend to add it myself to mod's that don't have custom DLL's, but obviously I wouldn't be able to do that with yours if you have your own added. I know there's gonna be lot's more civs added, and it would be fun, at least in my opinion to have more of them in play at a time. I know sometimes when someone asks a modded to add the ability to play more civs at a time, there will be some that say, but my 'puter can't handle some many more..ect...but that's easy enough...they just have to use willpower and only choose 18...lol. I have a fairly high end rig, and can play lot's of civs on fairly big maps, so I was hoping it might be early enough in your work on the full version to consider a request like this. Again, that's for all the time and effort you pit towards the community, it is greatly appreciated.
     
  10. Fierabras

    Fierabras Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    The reason I asked, because I wanted to test using a custom debug DLL. I have run a test and it looks this mod is in pretty good shape structurally. The only bug I found in the XML was a reference to ARTSTYLE_WEST_EUROPEAN (which is used for CIVILIZATION_CANADA), but this artstyle is not defined correctly. It's missing in Globaltypes.xml

    I see this is a bug in Geomodder's Ethnic Artstyles. I'll let him know as well... Bug report Ethnic Artstyles
     
  11. Amra

    Amra the Lion

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Khauran
    Thanks for catching that Fierabras. I'm not sure what happened there as I don't even show that as a choice of City ArtStyles in my list.

    Upon reviewing the CIV4PlotLSystem.xml file it is defined in there but then not in the CIV4CityLSystem.xml file so I'm not sure if it would work even if it was defined in the GlobalTypes.xml file. :crazyeye:

    I'm preparing a small patch and I will include a change of Canada's ArtStyle to just plain ol' European. Oh, and I also saw your other post in Geomodder's thread about the "MESO" typo. I've already fixed that in the upcoming patch.


    @brun58
    When I did my Warlords modpack, I had an alternate dll included that allowed players who wanted it to play with more than the standard 18 civs. I think it was 24 civs (total number of Warlords original civs) but I will probably up that to 34 this time around for BtS since that seems to be a popular number for the other dll's you are talking about.
     
  12. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,080
    Location:
    In orbit
    :cooool: (On both counts - I'll keep you posted!):thumbsup:
     
  13. Loke.be

    Loke.be Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    I've been testing the mod in a 2 players game for a few hours yesterday and everything looks fine. We had no trouble at all. I'll play some 3 players games next weekend and I'll tell you more at that time..

    I hope that your final version won't be too heavy for multiplayer games. I ususally have some troubles starting mid-game using mod like HiTM (which is great too). I guess there is just too much stuffs in it.
     
  14. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Please, please, PLEASE upload the next version (or even the current version) to a site other than AtomicGamer, like FileFront. AtomicGamer's wait times are atrocious!
    Oh, and I would suggest you change the name of the Civ Transylvania to Walachia, since during that time Transylvania was merely a region within Walachia, and Vlad himself was a Prince of Walachia.
     
  15. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,080
    Location:
    In orbit
    Just uploaded::goodjob:

    1000 BC for Amra

    A special edition of 1000 BC for BTS for use with Amra v3 Basic, featuring 8 custom civs plus additional units from the mod.

    Download here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=8837
    (with link to Amra's mod).

    Screenshots forthcoming!

    Check it out!:)
     
  16. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    @Jeelen

    Downloaded it, and gonna give it a trial right away. :goodjob:
     
  17. Amra

    Amra the Lion

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Khauran
    Good work JEELEN. :goodjob:

    I've created a Scenarios & Add-ons link in the first post. I appreciate your hard work.
     
  18. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,080
    Location:
    In orbit
    As do I your posting! (I'll see about doing some more after I've redone screenshots - which turned out like black screens). BTW, when including Scythia I noticed "Tanais" mentioned twice in the City List(also: "Olbia" and "Oblia" - don't know it that's intentional, but I liked Karagodeuask and Tsymbalka, which were Scythian sites as well). Just a minor comment.;)

    @Kalimakhus::) Hope you enjoy it - and post comment (if any)!
     
  19. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    @Jeelen

    I started a game as Zhou and it is quite exciting.

    Some minor notes (none affects game play):

    - Psusennes uses the LH of Hatti!! (I guess he should use Ramses' one).
    - D'mt has Ethiopia and Ethiopian as short desc. and adjective tags. Also as per your notes in the download page it is supposed to be a minor nation but it is not set as so. It seems however that it starts in state of war with everybody.
    - As Zhou I start with contact with D'mt (Ethiopia) and in war with it - I am also in war with Polynesia though I have no contact with them. (I knew only because I got the event of the meditator offering to negotiate peace with them).
     
  20. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Quick question, but did you actually have any options when that event popped up? Were you actually able to negotiate peace? If not, the problem could actually be with tabs in the python script. I should know, I tackled with this problem for days. :lol:
     

Share This Page