BTS Beta-1

Methos

HoF Quattromaster
Hall of Fame Staff
Retired Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
13,100
Location
Missouri
While the general Hall of Fame is an ongoing competition, we like to run time-definite competitions between updates that we call Gauntlets. Standard Hall of Fame rules (*) still apply, but any games meeting the settings will be counted towards the Gauntlet.

[size=+1](*) Please read the >> HOF rules << BEFORE playing!
[/size]​

Settings:
  • Victory Condition: Space Race (though all victory conditions must be enabled)
  • Difficulty: Warlord
  • Starting Era: Ancient
  • Map Size: Standard
  • Map Type: Hemisphere
  • Speed: Epic
  • Civ: Holy Roman Empire
  • Opponents: Any
  • Version: 3.02.001, 3.03(3.02.001), or 3.03.001
  • Date: 5th to 24th August 2007

Note: This is a Beyond the Sword gauntlet only! Have fun with the new expansion!
The earliest finish date wins, with score as a tiebreaker.
See BTS Beta-1 for details.

EDIT: see here for an update to fix HOF Warnings.
 

superslug

Still hatin' on Khan
Moderator
Hall of Fame Staff
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
11,413
Location
The Farm
Moderator Action: THe Beta tables are reopened and this event is live. Have at it!
 

Padraig

Father of future Civver
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
142
Location
Winona, MN, USA
Does Hemispheres automatically run balanced resources? I keep getting the HOF warning, but I don't see an option to do standard resources at all.:confused:
 

Methos

HoF Quattromaster
Hall of Fame Staff
Retired Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
13,100
Location
Missouri
I keep getting the HOF warning, but I don't see an option to do standard resources at all.:confused:

Have you made the change below? That should get rid of any HOF warnings for this game.

Edit: To make things easier:

Attached is a new HOFSettings.txt file for the BTS Beta that changes the HOF Warnings as follows:

Game Options:
No Random Events = Player's Option
Map Scripts:

Beta Legal:
  • Big & Small-all wraps
  • Boreal-Flat only
  • Global Highlands-all wraps
  • Hemispheres-all wraps
  • Medium and Small-all wraps
  • Rainforest-Flat only
Beta Illegal:
  • Arboria
  • Donut

Just unzip the HOFSetting.txt file and replace the one in the HOF-3.02.001 folder.

Download: BTS_BETA_HOFSettings.zip
 

culdeus

Emperor
Joined
Aug 8, 2005
Messages
1,303
Location
Where we live today, sports.
First time coming here. Quick question.

Is this legal?

-Starting map
-Playing 1000 years decide map sucks
-Abandon
-Start a totally different map from scratch

Sorry for the n00b post.
 

Methos

HoF Quattromaster
Hall of Fame Staff
Retired Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
13,100
Location
Missouri
First time coming here. Quick question.

Is this legal?

-Starting map
-Playing 1000 years decide map sucks
-Abandon
-Start a totally different map from scratch

Sorry for the n00b post.

First off, welcome to the HOF! :band:

Yes, it's perfectly legal. In fact, you can play as many times as you want and submit every winning game if you want to. Of course, so long as each game is played on different maps.

Just to clarify, is that in order to compete in this event you have to use the HOF Mod.
 

hecubus

General Specific
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
267
Location
Philly-ish
Regarding the balanced resources note, I'm getting that in addition to one saying assets have been modified from the original install. I haven't modified BTS at all since installing, and the only other mod installed is the Warlords HOF mod. I noticed on the download page for the BTS HOF mod, it says "If you've modified the Warlords install at all it's advised to reinstall/repatch." I assumed it should have said Beyond the Sword instead of Warlords, but will I need to reinstall Warlords? Or is this due to the mod having been changed by the new text file from above?

Edit (I admit I'm using this as much to talk myself through the problem as anything): I never patched to 3.02 so I did that. I reinstalled the HOF mod and the text file from above. I'm no longer getting the modified assets error, but I'm now getting one that says CRCs are missing. I'm not sure what these are?
 

Denniz

Where's my breakfast?
Hall of Fame Staff
Retired Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2003
Messages
11,102
Location
Dallas
Regarding the balanced resources note, I'm getting that in addition to one saying assets have been modified from the original install. I haven't modified BTS at all since installing, and the only other mod installed is the Warlords HOF mod. I noticed on the download page for the BTS HOF mod, it says "If you've modified the Warlords install at all it's advised to reinstall/repatch." I assumed it should have said Beyond the Sword instead of Warlords, but will I need to reinstall Warlords? Or is this due to the mod having been changed by the new text file from above?

Edit (I admit I'm using this as much to talk myself through the problem as anything): I never patched to 3.02 so I did that. I reinstalled the HOF mod and the text file from above. I'm no longer getting the modified assets error, but I'm now getting one that says CRCs are missing. I'm not sure what these are?
You must have "Locked Modified Assets" checked. Using Custion games to start your games.
 

hecubus

General Specific
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
267
Location
Philly-ish
Are you using Vista?

No sir, XP for me. I just started up a new game and am only getting the balanced resources error now. Game on! Thanks for listening, not sure what the CRCs error was but I seem to be ok now.
 

Denniz

Where's my breakfast?
Hall of Fame Staff
Retired Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2003
Messages
11,102
Location
Dallas
No sir, XP for me. I just started up a new game and am only getting the balanced resources error now. Game on! Thanks for listening, not sure what the CRCs error was but I seem to be ok now.
There have been an occasional game where Civ4 has failed to calc CRCs. It is fairly rare, though.
 

Dianthus

Small but hardy
Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2003
Messages
5,814
Location
Woking, UK
Excellent, I'll have to try out this one.

Do we need the new HOFSettings.txt file, or is it just to stop the balanced resources message?
It's just to stop the warning messages, so you don't need it to play.
 
Top Bottom