[BTS] Evolution

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by ripple01, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    New York City
    I've just posted the latest update for Evolution, Public Beta 6. Two changes for this release:

    Public Beta 6 (released 12/5/12)

    Updated K-Mod to 1.38
    Added Advanced Diplomacy 2.1 by Afforess, stolenrays

    I'm excited about the addition of Advanced Diplomacy. It can be turned on or off via the Game Options. It seems to be working correctly according to my limited testing, however, the Diplomacy tab in the BUG Options screen is currently not working. I think I know how to fix it, it will just take some time.

    For the next release, I really want to put some time in to fix the 2 main bugs remaining in Evolution. I will be going back to my post in the SDK forum and seeing if I can get some more help in fixing them. My time has been limited lately due to a new baby, so I haven't been able to put in the time needed to figure this out. Fingers crossed I can get it working!
     
  2. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,288
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Alright, fingers crossed ;)
     
  3. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,899
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Congrats on the baby! Thanks for keeping this great mod going and boy was there a lot of work for you to include K-mod. I really really want to get excited about Civ5 but the AI is just too weak and it lacks one more turn factor. If I get any time during the holidays, I'll fire this mod up and see if I can help. A quality AI like K-mod is a big attraction.

    The bug so far is that barbciv is broken is that right?

    Happy Christmas to everyone and thanks
    Cheers
     
  4. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,943
    Location:
    israel
    hi ripple!

    i found this baby as my old friend glider was wise to name it,

    after a year or more away from the forums, i decided to get in again.

    i started up with the mod - i wanan ask, maybe u know how to actovate the autoai play?
    i know kmod 1.38 have made it possible only undercheat mode as he explains in his readme,
    but i dont know ho wto get in cheat mod and active it.

    can u help perhaps?

    kodus on this massive merge of two superb mods.
     
  5. Ulysses

    Ulysses Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Germany
    When I put on Min/Max commerce button in BUG mod I get an error message. Same goes for "Deal Turns Left" option. FA screen goes blank when turned on.
     
  6. Cruel

    Cruel King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    823
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    yes, I think a very interesting idea. For the new version we are doing many optimizations that would also be useful for C2C. Do you would like starting another thread?
     
  7. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    New York City
    Hi all,

    After a hiatus, I've posted the newest version of Evolution, Public Beta 7. I hope to have another release out in the not too different future incorporating the latest K-Mod and also updating the Advanced Diplomacy to the newest version. stolenrays has done some amazing work updating and expanding this component, so I am looking forward to merging it.
     
  8. Gavagay

    Gavagay Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Moscow
    Hi ripple01, nice to hear that. Did you find a way to fix the bug with barbarian civ component?
     
  9. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    New York City
    Not yet; I've got some points in the right direction from a couple of people, but I just need to sit down and see if I can figure it out. I need to read up a little more on C++ and it will probably be a large undertaking. So I don't know when I'll be able to get to it. If anyone else wants to take a stab, that would be awesome, let me know.
     
  10. Edgecrusher

    Edgecrusher King

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Not sure if this is a bug or just random execution.
    I have noticed that AI players do not research technologies that found religions as quickly as in other games.
    Not sure if this is intentional or not.
     
  11. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    New York City
    Hm, interesting. I'll look into it.
     
  12. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,899
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Hi Ripple
    I've just started playing Evolution and I've hit the same bug exactly as you in barbciv. What happens is that when the barb city converts to a minor civ, sometimes the old barb garrison remains after the conversion and so the barbs immediately capture the new minor civ next turn.

    I'm almost certain this didn't happen in RevolutionDCM but you never know.

    I'll spend some time when I can.

    Cheers
     
  13. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    New York City
    Thanks, glider. I've done a little investigative work that may point you in the right direction: Check this thread: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=470748

    I've got the next version ready, I've updated K-Mod and Advanced Diplomacy to the most recent versions, and added the Advanced Cargo mod. I'd love to get this BarbCiv bug sorted before I post it.
     
  14. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,899
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    I've found a few other bugs and I'll give you the fixes as I continue to play the mod. Also, advanced diplomacy isn't finished merging yet. LeaderHeadInfo's hasn't been merged.
    Cheers
     
  15. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    New York City
    Thanks, glider1, I feel humbled that you've taken an interest in this mod. :) Your work on RevDCM is quasi-legendary in the Civ4 community and I am trying to of sorts carry on in your tradition.

    I welcome any fixes or help you can provide.

    Also, in the upcoming release I have updated Advanced Diplomacy to the newest version, including the LeaderHeadInfos.
     
  16. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,943
    Location:
    israel
    hey guys,

    nice to see u ripple and even glider...

    even better to see this mod :)


    keep up the good work,
    ur old pal kel'
     
  17. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,899
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Hi Kel and Ripple
    Thanks for that friends. Wonderful that this community is still going on what is a great great game BTS+modders. I don't know what it is about Civ4, but it has real magic. I came back to civ4 a few times frustrated by Civ5 but was having odd graphics problems with a really powerful machine. The graphics were stuttering and slow until finally I have found this fix:

    http://forums.2kgames.com/showthread.php?82488-Civ-4-Graphics-fix-for-stuttering

    and now Civ4 runs silky smooth better than Civ5. I can't believe how quick the turn times are now thanks to all that amazing work by the modders to make the game run faster.

    Ripple, I have very little talent for there are many who made this mod that are much more talented than me. It's just the sheer numbers of years I put into it every day day after day. That is the part that I lament I no longer have!

    Cheers
     
  18. Daft73

    Daft73 ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Baba Yaga's Hut
    I have too agree with the magic statement. I can think of a very small list of games that fall under this category...and I'm :old:..well relatively speaking. Welcome back, even though I never 'forumed' with you. :lol:
     
  19. Edgecrusher

    Edgecrusher King

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I have to say I am excited to see where this mod goes too.

    RevDCM was my favorite mod when I played a few years goo.
    I ended up (like many others), getting Civ5, and never really getting into it, actually ended up walking away from both games for a little over a year, until very recently something (not sure what), caused me to check in and see what was going on.
     
  20. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,899
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Edge, my experience is almost identical. I tried really really hard to fall in love with Civ5 when the VEM and GEM mods came out for it. I tried to buff the AI to make it more interesting, challenging and dynamic, but in the end always came away frustrated. Civ5 doesn't have a soul yet. They tried to be clever that's the problem with the game. They should have just improved Civ4 by expanding the concepts that are in RevolutionDCM. I know a friend that has played RevolutionDCM every single day for the last 5 years and never tires of it!

    Here are the fixes I found so far for beta7 Ripple. I found the barbciv bug and it was really a challenge. I've done a number of auto runs and the logs are completely clear and not one CTD that is really amazing considering the diversity of this mod.

    I've also found a couple of other small things and re-enabled stack attack and battle effects just for flavor because although stack attack is flawed, I love the concept so much it gives me a lot of *childish* joy. Not everything about a strategy game has to be serious! I think that stack attack concept should have been improved in Civ5, rather than going to 1UPT. The main problem with SA at the moment is that very rarely the stack goes into an infinite loop that does not crash the game but stops the user interface. Just reload the save and play on! That is how to fix SA at the moment.

    Ripple, I shake my head :eek: in awe of the scale of difficulty merging K-Mod into RevolutionDCM! :goodjob: It must have been a huge labor of love. I wonder if Keldath would have been capable of such a merge, would have had the energy to do it. I tried to merge it myself a couple of days ago, but there are so many challenges to get it to work properly.

    I'm not saying we are out of the woods yet with the Evolution of RevolutionDCM! The book of Civ has many many pages it in, and buried deep inside there will still be bugs and things we have missed!

    Would it be OK with you Ripple if we do finally sort out all the issues in such a complex merge, that I finally release RevolutionDCM 3.00 at some stage acknowledging your work and of course master Karadoc. Is the version of K-Mod in Beta-7 1.40?

    Cheers
     

Share This Page