Bug Report

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Realism Invictus' started by Houman, Sep 10, 2006.

  1. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    XML i think.
    Korean galley and favorite religion has TXT_KEY_* names. Mexico fixed that whith favorite religion, or so he posted here.

    But i watched XML's and missing korean galley name whith japanese/china galley and found nothing missing. Also compared unitinfo.xml whith few other xml, but i have not found what the problem is. I checked mostly names, refering to civopedia, upgrades.
    But i dont know what is [unames] in XML's are these names for like great persons ? Instead for naming them all gp, they are moses, homer etc ?
     
  2. Mexico

    Mexico TR senior programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Slovakia, Kosice
    missing txt_key etc..:
    this is refered in <Description> tag in xml file (unit infos, promotions infos etc..),
    defined is in (usualy) CIV4GameTextInfos.xml for each language (or in any file undet Assets/XML/Text directory

    <Unames> tag is used for GP - there is define Unique names for each GP born (randomly, but only one time)

    and now biggest problem: trade CTD
    as i wroted before, generating trade optins is hardcoded (not in SDK) so this part of game cannot be debugged. all gemas pointed , that problem is with favorite religion . now i want ask (especialy Anaztazioch - his analyze was very detailed :) ) - can someone run pure Warlords + Favorite religion mod and try to make CTD? -> in this case we can say that problem is within this component, otherwise problem is with implementing this in TR

    Anaztazioch, i will be very grateful, if you can run this with same test as you mentioned in your post, so we can compare...

    i can't do this by myself (better said: i can, but don't have time): my liitle daughter is sick, so i take care of her (my wife is very tired from last days), i have only 2-3 hours of free time every day
     
  3. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    @ Mexico

    Thats what happens when you marry... Dont ever do that again :lol:

    searching religion mod. But it would be nice to tell me, what version of Religion mod WTR is using, to use the same. Now getting latest on forums.

    Or tell me how to launch religion mod only.
     
  4. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    In download section there is no religion mod.

    Tried the Favorite Religion v0.1.1w. But it has no Zoroastrialism, and it doesnt look like this mod actually works. Rather its just a modder resource.
     
  5. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
  6. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    cant find Religion mod alone for Warlords, witch TR is using. Help ? link ?
     
  7. noid

    noid Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Poland
    CTD at start of my turn mial the saved game..
     
  8. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    ehh version noid ? dont forget that, it may be crutial to even load the save.
     
  9. noid

    noid Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Poland
    concerning post #107 : the version of the game i get a CTD in is WTR beta 2 :)
     
  10. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    Well

    Sens 2 saves. The one when CTD occures, and atleast 4 turns earlier autosave, you can attach them like i did in #97. I will check them, try and make it easier to Mexico.

    He deserves some help, atleast the small one i can offer.
     
  11. Mexico

    Mexico TR senior programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Slovakia, Kosice
    yeah, i found this :)

    problem is in Favorite religion mod - missing one entry in CIV4BasicInfos.xml file - problem appear, when player don't want "trade" civics (adopt civics) because of bad attitude based on favorite religion

    if you want test this, in attachment is zipped this XML, put this under Assets\XML\BasicInfos (replace old file) - there can be TXT_KEY_DENIAL_FAVORITE_RELIGION text, this will be updated in Gold (must consult with TheLopez, why religion affect civics trading)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    Gj Mexico. Seems this is nailed.

    I have TXT_KEY_DENIAL_FAVORITE_RELIGION when im asking Wang Kon (Buddist, as it is his favorite) to adopt tribalism or other civic.

    Also TXT_KEY_MISC_ATTITUDE_FAVORITE_RELIGION istead for "+2 you have our favorite religion adopted". Just to remind you to not forget to have it in Alpha version of beta 3 :lol:

    Checked this on one save, "anaztaziochs" (second save in my save spam post). Used WB to give Bismark Cristianity, no CTD.
    So i say this bug is killed.

    Now waiting for a beta 3 of most anticipated Civ IV mod of the year.
     
  13. JahtheIII

    JahtheIII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    39

    Mexico,

    This patch should be applied in the Program Files/Fraxis/Warlords/Mods/Assets/etc.....?

    I have always had problems with getting TR to load up in Vanilla and Warlords, but after doing this, I get an error on startup saying Python failed to load or something, whereas this always happened later with an XML error when it would crash on startup.

    Did I put this in the wrong place?

    Was going to check out the save game I sent and see if it would play through...
     
  14. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    Hmmm. Well WTR beta 2 has installer witch autodetects your Civ IV Warlords instalation folder, therefore installer installs WTR beta 2 in the right place.

    clearing cache might solve the problem, but im not doing that and have no problems.

    And yes.... Mexico's diplomacy fix should be put in Warlords/Mods/Assets/XML/Basicinfos/
    If you intalled Mexico's fix into Warlords/Assets/XML/Basicinfos than you need to bring up backup file (if you have one) or reinstall Warlords (and WTR).


    And to avoid it do this steps (helped me, and i no longer crash on startup):
    1) Launch Warlords its self and start a game on duel map. Play 2 turns and exit.
    2) Launch Warlords Total Realism (not world map), if this dont work do 3rd step.
    3) Launch Warlords, go advanced options, load a mod Total Realism.
     
  15. Mexico

    Mexico TR senior programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Slovakia, Kosice

    correct path is:
    Warlords/Mods/Total Realism/Assets/XML/Basicinfos/
     
  16. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    Crap forgot Total Realism folder... so did Jahte III
     
  17. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    A small bug, making game a bit annoying.

    Well when you enter city screen, you (or atleast i) will still see some of the civilization contacts (score, leader name, disposition) in bottom right corner (over the specialists). Its not much exept that they are over the specialist, making you harder to see how many are applied and more importandly harder to select unselect them.
    Another problem concerining them, is that when you click contact (eighther by accident/missed specialist selection or on purpouse), you will open diplomacy screen when exiting city. And if that is not enough, the more times you click this contact, the more times you will open diplomacy screen (even if of the same civilization). They do not open simulatously, but one after another after closing the first one... like its not annoying enough.

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/uploads/89892/interface_problem.rar

    link to the saved game and required Worldinfo.xml with customized huge map size.(its actually winzip not rar :))

    C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Warlords\Assets\XML\GameInfo
    (Mexico prolly know the link, but other may try and play on bigger map)
    BE SURE TO MAKE A BACKUP FILE OF WORLDINFO.XML as customized is not compatibile whith Total Realism scenarios including World Map

    On this save you should see Qin Shi Huang, Caesar and one more.
     
  18. Mexico

    Mexico TR senior programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Slovakia, Kosice

    hmm...this is first time that i see this. after inspecting saved game, ale leaders, which stay at screen has id more than 18 (default # of civs) - maybe this is reason? (also this explain, why i never got this - i never played with more than 10 civs (poor comp))

    EDIT: after inspecting python, there is hardcoded number 18 for hiding and positioning score list (but not for showing - there is used actual number) - so i hope that i will be able fix this soon :)


    EDIT: as expected, bug is killed (i hope) :goodjob:
    in attachment is zipped CvMainInterface.py - place this in Warlords\Mods\Total Realism\Assets\Python\Screen and test this

    Mexico
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    And few say that killing never bring up any good :)
     
  20. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    save i send you and one game. Seems this bug has been assassinated.

    And found another :). Dont think this will require any save games or debugging.

    1) After completing aqueduct, to pop up menu asked me what to build next. Leonardos Workshop was reccomended, but after hovering mouse cursor on it, the discription poped out, saying what hammers needed and turns and
    TXT_KEY_
    I belive it was soppoused to be placed in "World wonder allowed :1", but didnt payed more attention, clicked it and... it would take 5 mins to lead save to dubble check this so i continued playing.

    2) Samurai (foot units, not mounted) doesnt replace Knight (also foot unit)... or it does replace knight, but Japan can build both Knight (has maceman icon. str 9 etc.) and Samurai (still foot unit).
    Yari cavalary is replaced by Samurai Knight, so no problem there.
    Samurai horse archer is not replaced by Samurai Knight (can select witch one to produce)

    3) Yari cavalary does not replace catapraht. As above i can select witch one to build. (dont know how it should be)

    4) Samurai Longbowman doesnt replace archer. Can produce both.

    5) Terime (or something close, Bronze Working "frigate". str 2 +33% vs galley, hope you know what i mean) is not replaced by Caravel (didnt check if it can be upgraded to it, but according to sevopedia it can.

    6) reported it earlier, but dont know if it was noticed or fixed, never actually checked it again.
    The Great Wall. Once i builded it and recived nice Fraxis original movie of that wonder contruction. Animation went nice through the hills and it ended. Stats of this wonder showed up (hammer cost, bonus for having stone, what it does, +great person etc.).
    Shortly after the stats showed up, Total Realism custom movie started playing whith its music, but after 3 seconds animation froze and sound entered "loop mode". Had to click "ok" fast.

    [wonder why there is no "cancel" button after completeing Wonder]

    [And reminder]
    Kobukon (Korean galley) has TXT_KEY_ instead for name and description.
     

Share This Page