1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Caveman 2 Cosmos (ideas/discussions thread)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by strategyonly, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You should get more gold on faster speeds, not less (although it's probably set up the other ie. wrong way round).

    The other thing to consider is that the return scales with the size of the foreign settlement. If you give "too much" for prehistoric settlements sized 1-3, the amounts as cities reach sizes 50-100 really get out of hand, especially if they scale "linearly" or above, and as better traders get better base rates.

    So it's tricky, but I have to say that imo he should get a minimum of 1 gold for every turn the trip took. And if that means a Renaissance trader to a size 100 city gets too many billions:mischief:, then the effect of population (and maybe even distance) needs scaling back.
     
  2. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I tend to agree but there are arguments for scaling the other way and I just feel that eliminating the scaling is more appropriate and letting the fixed movement speed naturally scale things.

    It's not entirely based on that but yes, you get more with larger cities being traded with and some small modifier for farther destinations.

    I'm pretty sure it would at least min out at 1... probably. I'd be interested to see a case where it doesn't.
     
  3. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy The Village Idiot

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Land of the Lost
    I don't know. I didn't see a way to do it. Maybe I'm looking in the wrong place.
    With the gateway tech at the beginning of the Ancient Era it helps all civs sort of catch up anyway. So making the Minor Civs setting obsolete earlier rather than later would only benefit the AI. It doesn't seem like it can be too detrimental if it ends early on.
     
  4. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I think you need an embassy, and that has a tech prereq.
     
  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I was referring to the entire option regardless of when it ends. It keeps the AI on higher alert and more militarized and less focused on developing and growing.
     
  6. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy The Village Idiot

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Land of the Lost
    Suggestion:
    Renaming the Trails tech to Pathfinding. I doubt that Trails were deliberately created by early man. They were more likely created because humans were traveling the path of least resistance. Pathfinding would also fit the Scout unit better, IMO.
     
  7. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Interestingly enough, the Pathfinder is a new planned unit on the books further down the recon line. I will take a look at that suggestion though and it may fit better to make the pathfinder in the scout position and move the scout name to later.

    I don't put it past early man to consciously wear down certain trails and recognize them as paths to travel. We're not suggesting they are necessarily going out of the way to make them but they would certainly identify them and naturally enhance them with regular use and begin to learn how to communicate what those routes are among them. I know the workers 'make' them but that's kinda a civ route generation dynamic. I suppose you're saying this would be better termed 'pathfinding' except that pretty much all of the route accessing techs are named after the routes they unlock as a standard operating procedure here.
     
  8. hau

    hau Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    What the name of the song "SA_Early" (It playing on diplomacy screen of Smoke Jaguar)? I tried to google it and don't succeed.
     
  9. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,262
    Location:
    Norway
    um, because there is already a path built on the plot to the NE while there is no route at all on the one to the SW. . .
     
  10. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,604
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    ahahaha sorry about that, i just looked up what the order is, kinda confusing because it doesnt say what the order is u just have to look at the techs i guess, lol, anyways, thx. . .

    EDIT:
    i know why i was confused, the trail/path/roads almost all look the same, just a darker shade is all .. .
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  11. lightning551

    lightning551 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m back after a few months and updated my game. I know you guys are probably used to me popping in just to list everything I don't like about the mod but this time around after 3 hrs of playing I have nothing to complain about!

    Not only that but I’m really happy with how fast the games loading these days and the work done on the window for diplomacy and such. You guys are doing a great job with it.

    Now I’m off to try to find things to complain about. lol
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  12. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,945
    Location:
    Poland
    Search for it in audio defines files.

    They may be in mod or vanilla files.
     
  13. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ok yes thank you Raxo: some have space terrain requirements.

    Another thing is you probably should limit the number that can be built. Especially for the autobuilds which otherwise just appear overnight in every city.
     
  14. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy The Village Idiot

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Land of the Lost
    What is the Folk Medicine icon supposed to be? Can’t seem to make sense of what I’m looking at.
     
  15. Trantor

    Trantor Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    216
    changes noticed on playing after 1 year
    1- animals are normalized in first 100 turns. - good
    2- AI is expanding fast - good
    3- turn times are same - :(


    did 200 turns, will post again after another 200 turns
     
  16. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,945
    Location:
    Poland
    Well speed improvements aren't really felt when everyone has one city each.
    Autosaves on beginning can take proportionally substantial amount of time.

    On what gamespeed are you playing?
     
  17. Trantor

    Trantor Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    216
    playing normal speed in large map. at turn 400 my civilization was over run by barbarians :)
    guess the AI improvements are good , or else i have deteriorated in the gap (was playing diety mode)
     
  18. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,604
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    AGAIN: can someone please put back the Great Farmer the way is was before, thx .. .SO...
     
  19. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,945
    Location:
    Poland
    @Toffer90 I think he hates, that Great Farmer can place resources only in certain terrain/feature combinations.
    That is Great Farmer should be able to place any plant/animal resource anywhere.
     
  20. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Just to be clear, you're fine with tropical plants being grown in the arctic?
     

Share This Page