1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 2 can be played on an Android system

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by Cassius Critzer, Dec 27, 2017.

  1. Cassius Critzer

    Cassius Critzer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    918
    Gender:
    Male
    With 7700+ readers of this topic, that indicates a genuine desire to still play Civ 2 after more than 20 years and maybe that should have a more addressed focus as millions have Androids and Iphones.

    With dosbox and emulation and partitioning, millions using laptops might play Civ 2 especially the ToTTP scenarios out of the Scenario League.
     
  2. Cassius Critzer

    Cassius Critzer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    918
    Gender:
    Male
    Someone just pmed me, a super nice person who has been very helpful, and discussed why bother making a mod over the last 9 months for Civ 2 MGE? After all it came out in 1996. Well I would say when 7900 people are also trying to run Civ 2 on a tablet then that clearly indicates a desire for retrogaming.

    In fact that is the whole reason Dosbox got popular because thousnds are playing old games. In fact, the venerable Fallout game and those mods are incredibly popular.

    I think there are a lot of old and new gamers who would play Civ 2 now if the process was demystified. Some Civ 2 mods are BETTER than any Android games today.

    You can buy an old laptop but will it keep working? I doubt it as that gear is ancient. Even new computer users have trouble getting Civ 2 to work.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2019
  3. Cassius Critzer

    Cassius Critzer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    918
    Gender:
    Male

    This may help some folks. It would put a Windows 3.11 version on an Android tablet or similar, then you would port over your Civ 2, then run it that way.

    I once got something like this to work. It's my fallback position so I can both run Civ 2 and edit things like the cities.gif, the units.gif, and terrain.bmp resources using Paint Shop Pro. It also wouldn't have the higher requirements of a Windows XP partition.

    It's not as reactive for game play as emulation, but this means the Civ 2 utilities made by the community would work.
     
  4. Cassius Critzer

    Cassius Critzer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    918
    Gender:
    Male
    http://www.aemula.net/getstarted.html
    For some reason, I guess that most folks here do not comprehend that running Civ 2 MGE on a tablet or Ipad is considered the "holy grail" and there are countless inquiries on Reddit on how to accomplish this. Why? Because retrogaming is HUGE (not just GOG which is extremely popular but 75 large sites) and has been huge for years as devices allowed portable gaming that was complex.

    The whole reason Aemula was made was to facilitate Civ 2 use and mods. That is the untapped market. An ap made strictly to create a Windows 3.11 partition just to accommodate this deep desire. Thousands and thousands of people want this.

    What happened was very low end Kindles and Nooks were sold to millions who could not justify a full blown tablet. These are for reading ebooks but have internet use and apps. Well then the version of Linux was suffice to handle running Civ 2 but the process was cryptic. Then a Kindle becomes almost a full tablet and some people "root" them and a cheap device really is close to a tablet.

    That will affect anyone who like the Civ series. It has been since 2012.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2019

Share This Page