CIV and The History Channel

Mano3

King
There's a show on The History Channel called Engineering An Empire, hosted by Peter Weller :scan: (RoboCop). Each episode focuses on a civilization and how it rose to power and what marvels they are responsible for. So far, I've seen episodes on the Aztec, French, Russian, Greek, Carthage, Roman and Chinese empires. It's well done and really gets into the detail of each civilization, its leaders and wonders.

Makes you want to try out that episode's civilization in the game after the show! :)

As for RoboCop - Peter Weller left Hollywood and finally received his masters degree in history from Syracuse University. He does a great job hosting.

yeah i found out about that series here. i never watch the history channel, hubby watches it a lot, i was surprised he never told me about it. i mean, i'm an engineer myself, the stuff is fascinating!

I like comparing each episode's CIV with the game CIV. Seems that Sid and his design team did their homework.

Just before a commercial break it says "check out history channel on line and build your own empire” or something like that, what’s that about?

I love that show! It comes on every Monday night I believe. I enjoyed the one about the Mayans, and they actually taught me how to make concrete just like the Mayans used to make. It's really easy. :p

Cool! But i dont have a history channel....

Thanks for the heads up--I'll have to check that out! Looks like the Canadian history channel is also carrying it...

Ya it does im grateful for that. I saw the Aztecs episode and it was amazing. They had no beasts of burden so the workers had to drag everything themselves. They said one stone took 50 000 people to drag it into town :crazyeye:

I agree with the OP , this show is majorly Civ enducing, even if for me it happens to be with Civ3 :)

Add: also if I see another eps. of "Rome" I'll be forced to play RFRE all over again (conquest sceanarios)