Civ IV G5 Performance

comradeTJH

Chieftain
I'm a bit curious about the most comments here on the board that state the Mac version of Civ IV as a 'more than playable experience' and so on.

I started playing Civ IV on my PC just when it came out and I became addicted immediately as I did since the very first version of Sid Meiers Civilization - and that was on a Mac.

Unfortunately, as Civ IV came out I had to play it at the office after work as I haven't got a WinXP-PC at home so I was eagerly awaiting the Mac version and visited Aspyr's website frequently just to see when a port can be expected.

When I finally got the OS X Version I was so disappointed about the 'performance' that I really got angry and started to google for fixes as I was sure that this must be something with my configuration or I'm missing something. Here I found other people complaining about the same issues I experienced and found out that a patch is already imminent.
I installed the beta patch.... very slight performance update and some sounds were appearing... the final patch came and brought along all sounds but no further performance improvements. And I must say, it IS REALLY unplayable.

Here's my Mac-config I use (and yes, it's more than supported):
PowerMac G5 5 Dual 2.5 GHz, 3 GB RAM
ATI RADEON 9800 XT, 256 MB VRAM

Playing CIV at 1024x768 (windowed)

Switched all graphic options to low (of course no antialiasing enabled), enabled single units, disabled effects.. and so on and so on and started a small map with 3 opponents. It runs OK for some turns where I only own one city... but after the 3rd, 4th city, some improvements and owning some units and revealed some territory the game really begins to run awfully slow... I'll get up to 4 frames per second at max and the delay between turns makes me feel the game is in realtime... (!!)

My PC Config at the office:
Intel Pentium 4 3.06 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM
ATI RADEON 9800, 128 MB VRAM

Playing CIV at 1280x1024 (windowed)