1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

civIV Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire (RFRE)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by primordial stew, Aug 26, 2006.

  1. primordial stew

    primordial stew Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    a puddle
    I agree, it would be nice to see more historically driven mods. They are a tremendous amount of work to do, especially for such a long period as this is. That said, it is nice to see it done differently. Different map scale, different units, different revolutions, different civs...


    The "100BC" scenario is actually 110BC, so war with the Cimbri and Numidia at the begining. The city ownership is about set, only Persia needs attention. Armies are coming along.. there is quite a bit to set for this one.


    In the civ5 version in addition to the 275/110BC, 200/400/500AD scenarios there will also be "battles". Battles are just a bunch of units on small map, such as the Battle of Cannae. I might do the same for Warlords, but we'll see. It depends when they fix civ5 WB. It will have *lots* of city states. The ones you already expect like all the Gallic ones, but also Palmyra, Cyrene, and a lot of the now barbarian cities.

    Anyway, if anyone want to create one now, it's pretty easy. Just read up on a battle (The Wikipedia page perhaps), whip up a small map in WB, throw some units down, and write an introduction! That's most of it. I'm not sure if "battles" will be really cool, or lame. It's worth a try though ;)
     
  2. wolfman1234

    wolfman1234 King

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    764
    Location:
    Spain GMT+1
    Primordial, and how about doing the same thing RFRE is but a lower scale. I mean, a mod with the Punic Wars, another one with the Civil War, another one with the Gallic Wars. But with all civs playable.

    I am talking about BTS, i think Civ V needs some expansions more for being fully enjoyable.
     
  3. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,212
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Wohoo!!!!
    You are finally closing on official release :goodjob:
    I'm sure it worth the wait ,)
     
  4. primordial stew

    primordial stew Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    a puddle
    > lower scale

    In civ5 "battles" will make sense. It's the 1 UPT that makes territory actually matter in that game. In the civ4* not so much. If you surround a city, it only keeps more baddies from getting in, but so what? It's never done since it doesn't matter, just pile everyone in 1 plot and go for it! So I don't see the point of it here. Also, something like this would require a whole new mod so that the millions of settings could be set appropriately.

    The are some mods/modding that I really want to have for this. A key one is variable hit points. Right now it's a global setting, but if it can be modded we can get back to some of the beauty of civ3. It's stupid that a 5000 man legion and a 300 strong Eques both have 10 hit points (100 in civ4). In civ3 a legion nominally had.. 6 and a horse unit 2, while both having the same combat rating. As is I'm forced to give the Eques lower combat and a high withdrawal.


    > worth the wait?

    If you're into this sort of mod ;)

    In honor of Hanukkah, one of the last additions will be a potential Macabee revolt around 166BC if the Seleucids happen to have conquered Jerusalem, or actually anyone else around then. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanukkah
     
  5. wolfman1234

    wolfman1234 King

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    764
    Location:
    Spain GMT+1
    I was thinking in more depht , i mean, more buildings, wonders, units, etc.. if you go with a lower scale. Not in combat and so.

    I.E. in a only punic wars scenario,the timeline is shorter, so the techs can be better implemented. Think in Rome Total War, you can build a Mediterranean mod, but if you take only Western one you can show more detail.

    It´s an idea. The mod is very good as it is, but could be better with regional sub-mods with all faction playable.
     
  6. primordial stew

    primordial stew Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    a puddle
    Yes, I'd like to play those too, but most likely it would have to be someone else who creates them.

    If you think certain buildings or wonders are missing, just let me know!

    Perhaps for civ5 though. The reason being I think it's possible to create a mod in a mod, that is for a scenario to change game settings. Right now each scenario has a specific set of python which sets the variables, gives techs, sets the super specialists, and add some units if a certain name is needed (eg "Legions of Marcus Junius Silanus" starts against the Cimbri and "Legions of Quintus Caecilius Metellus" start in Africa to battle the Numidians). While some things can be done in python, I'm limited to the functions available. In civ5 whatever is in SQL should be modifiable during mod compiling (eg # of moves), so what in civ4 would require a separate mod (ie for any XML changes) and be done using SQL commands during mod compile. Same XML, just run a different set of SQL commands ;)
     
  7. primordial stew

    primordial stew Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    a puddle
  8. Rathvilly

    Rathvilly Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Quick question - do I have to re-download the whole mod or just the SDK files ?

    Cheers ...
     
  9. Ajidica

    Ajidica High Quality Person

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    19,235
    Congradulations! This has to be the most impressive single-modder project I have seen yet.
     

Share This Page