1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Colonization First Impressions

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - General Discussions' started by rastak, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. rastak

    rastak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Anyone care to share? I will not be able to play for about 6 hours but will try and post something when I do.
     
  2. cripp7

    cripp7 Playin' Bored

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Fantasyland
    interface is a little overwhelming at first because it's a lot different than bts. still figuring out everything. looks good so far.
     
  3. Honolulu Blue

    Honolulu Blue Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Michigan
    Very quick impressions:

    * The manual is OK, but not great by Sid's past standards. The Pedia is your friend.
    * Where's my unit/terrain card? More Pedia work.
    * Install was smooth. It nagged me about my not-up-to-snuff integrated video card, but it runs - and that's the important thing.
    * The Pedia works as it's supposed to, but it seems to be missing links for peaks and hills.
    * Many of the customization options from Civ IV have been retained here.
    * John Paul Jones is back! And he still has that gift wrapped frigate!!
    * On the missing list: Jakob Fugger, Paul Revere, Henry Hudson... I'm sure there are others.

    Gotta run.
     
  4. Zhahz

    Zhahz PC Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm reading thru the manual. It is often saying "check the 'pedia for details" kinds of things. Which I don't think is all bad since you'd probably be in-game when you want to look it up and the 'pedia is generally easier to deal with than a manual. Plus, there will be a good number of digital purchases and those folks will probably get a PDF manaul - and I'd personally much rather deal with the 'pedia than a PDF any day! Ie, keeping most game documentation in the 'pedia works for all buyers.
     
  5. rastak

    rastak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Location:
    Minnesota


    I want it in both but I have to admit, with patches things change so the pedia should always be the authoritative answer.
     
  6. Dajet24

    Dajet24 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    amuone play the old Imperialism 1/2 series this reminds me ALOT of it.
     
  7. Canabrava

    Canabrava Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Brazil
    I liked it so much. It's diferent in the beggining but so cool to learn more and more.

    Weird is see Inca in Argentina, english cities on brazil...
     
  8. NikNak

    NikNak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Do the natives have different graphics? Do Incan villages look like Aztec towns which look like Sioux settlements? Do their warriors look different.
     
  9. Lord Shadow

    Lord Shadow General

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,896
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Got it! :D

    Aztec towns do have stone temples and the occasional pyramid, but they're usually surrounded by little huts. Both Sioux and Aztec Braves look the same, though, I think.

    Also, I noticed you can open a diplomacy screen with the King! The only option there is to ask for military support, which leads to him offering you a unit for a certain price. I got a Cannon for 300 gold, which is a bargain since their base price in Europe is 500. Perhaps more options will appear in the future, but I might restart this game. Doing awful and got already boxed in by English territory after 40-50 turns (Normal speed, playing as the Spanish). Also, I've just a couple of Founding Fathers when England has 3 or 4. Yay for lame first game. :p
     
  10. guczy

    guczy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Just like Shadow I got boxed quite fast by the cheese-eating surrender-monkeys ((C) by Groundskeeper Willie:), seems like you have to start off by bulding some cities. Or bulding an army right away and killing them. If you send 2 seasoned scouts out for exploring you can make a not-so-small fortune from gifts and can build an army. Colonists seem to come much faster than in the originial and i havent built a chruch yet. Well im going back to play, gonna kill those frenchies :)
     
  11. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Here's a tip I use:

    Get 5 cities up ASAP! And close to each other. Every new colonist == a new city (till you get 5). Otherwise, you miss out.
     
  12. Trackman20

    Trackman20 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    A few notes from me:

    1. The interface is a big change from civ4.
    2. It seems rather easy to make money (i'm playing on easiest :) )
    3. Building takes forever......
     
  13. guczy

    guczy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    1. yes it is, but for me its perfect
    2. im playing on explorer and its still easy to make money. way easier than in the original
    3. just use expert carpenters and it gets a LOT faster
     
  14. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    It's easier to make money, but you'll spend a LOT more on your army later.
     
  15. rastak

    rastak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Location:
    Minnesota
    So far, I like the music, the graphics are fantastic. A mix of the familiar with Civ and the new. Just starting out as the English and I have natives and a Dutch settlement very close to mine.
     
  16. marioflag

    marioflag History Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,897
    Location:
    Napoli, Italy
    Is there a Marathon speed? And how much turns does it last?
     
  17. cripp7

    cripp7 Playin' Bored

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Fantasyland
    @rastak
    get the BlueMarble version! excellent

    @marioflag
    yes there is quick,normal,epic,marathon just like CivIV.
     
  18. Lord Shadow

    Lord Shadow General

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,896
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Quick: 225 turns, everything's 25% faster
    Normal: 300 turns
    Epic: 450 turns, everything's 50% slower
    Marathon: 900 turns, everything's three times slower
     
  19. ChrTh

    ChrTh Happy Yule!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    6,255
    Location:
    Piedmont Triad, North Carolina
    Played about 40+ turns so far. I got one size 5 city and a couple other cities (one is a silver mining town although I'm not very happy with its location). Natives to the north and south, no other European colonies in contact. No warfare yet.

    So far it reminds me a lot of the original. Still working on getting a trade network going (the silver mine should help a lot for that).

    The weird part is that I seem to be passing up a bunch of founding fathers. Don't know if that's the right idea or not.
     
  20. themadz

    themadz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    couple of things i'm not pleased with comparing to the original

    1)music is horrible. it's downright depression and the music for combat is amateur like someone went to a re-enactment with a tape recorder.

    2)maps are really small.
     

Share This Page