1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

comparing civ 2 and civ 4

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Nicol.Bolas, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. stoferb

    stoferb Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    There is one thing I like in Civ2 that I think they should have kept in later games. You could select music in Civ2, and if you got tired of the game music you could listen to your own music. A simple thing but very nice, and it's rather strange that they abandoned it to force you to listen to music you may or may not like.
     
  2. nerdfighter13

    nerdfighter13 Prince of the Universe

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    Starship Bistromath
    You can turn the volume off in the settings and listen to music from itunes or youtube at the same time.
     
  3. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,110
    Well, in Civ 5 you can do that with any Great Person, but that possibly should not be a reason to play that game:mischief:
     
  4. Manco Capac

    Manco Capac Friday,13 June,I Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,051
    I'm not sure how it was, but I clearly remember listening my own music within the game (Civ4) in the past. First, I think there's a file path to take a folder within which your music files lie and second I think you simply can swap present in-game music with yours. Search more...and don't try to fond faulty specs from civ4. That game is god compared to other levels in the franchise.

    ============================
    ============================

    @Lymond
     
  5. ChaosSlayer

    ChaosSlayer King

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    608
    in Civ4 - go to sound options - set ANY folder as default background play for mp3s
     
  6. ChaosSlayer

    ChaosSlayer King

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    608
    Civ2 had none of those ;)
    they all from Civ1.
     
  7. gps

    gps King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    I must have delusions - I vividly remember updating my throne room in Civ 2...
     
  8. jarhead_leif

    jarhead_leif Civ2ToT Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    Philippines
    I even captured a barbarian leader yesterday, with Civ2ToT.

    But no throne room. :D
     
  9. gps

    gps King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    885
  10. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,708
    Barbarian leaders were around too. The only thing I don't recall is having the game rank you every time you quit.
     
  11. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,576
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    I got mine set up for each era. 70's, 80"s, 90's, etc. Nothing quite like having classic def lep blasting during the middle ages :)
     
  12. Civking5

    Civking5 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    393
    No, what I meant was that you could use engineers ( some sort of advanced workers) to change tiles like grass land to other tiles with random bonus such as wheat or animals.
     
  13. Tatran

    Tatran Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    4,184
    Yeah, terraforming was great; especially the city center square into a hill (100% defense bonus).
     
  14. MilesBeyond

    MilesBeyond Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    432
    I play it occasionally but mostly for the nostalgia. If I go retro I usually go all the way and play Civ I. Simple, quick and very board-game-y. Though I will concede that Civ 2 is superior to it in every way except playing time lol.

    I guess the main reason I don't play Civ 2 is that everything it can do, Alpha Centauri can do better LOL.
     
  15. Nicol.Bolas

    Nicol.Bolas Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Location:
    Bohemia
    some more stuff:

    felt more epic in civ2:
    - building the spaceship (you could build various sizes of the ship, to affect capacity, speed, reliability and thus score)
    - democracy/republic "civics" - big bonus, but you really had to "care" for them to keep them
    - air combat - I never really got the taste for aircombat system which begin in civ3 and was followed to civ4

    interesting, not necessarily better or worse:
    - unit support system (unit supported from its home city by hammers, home city concept)
    - caravan system
    - war unhappyness - based on the home city concept, away units from that city makes citizens unhappy. (but could be abused via shakespeares theatre which does the same thing)

    way better in civ 4:
    - less grind
    - due to no engineer transformation (aka terraforming), you have to work with the land you have, I like this. more variety in tile improvements
    - AI, compared to civ4, civ2 feels like a sandbox game. AI was improved hugely in all aspects: combat, expansion etc. this might seem obvious, but is there as much improvement in AI from civ3 to civ5?
    - diplomacy system , in civ2, AI sneak attacked any time one of its units met a weaker unit
    - culture system, removal of troops before war.
     
  16. SquirrelCensus

    SquirrelCensus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    No way man. Palace was Civ1, Throne Room was Civ2. Ransoming barb leaders was both.

    Now that I think about it, it wasn't Save>Quit, it was Save>Retire would bring you to the demographics and rank screen.

    EDIT: A little detail about Civ2 I liked--depending on what kind of government a civ had, their leader's title would change. For example, you would get an invitation to speak with Comrade Ramesses of the Egyptians (for Communism), or High Priest Napoleon of the French (with Fanaticism).
     
  17. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    Civ3 AI was far superior to Civ2. And Civ4 was yet another big step forward. Then came civ5. :sad:
     
  18. gja102

    gja102 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Too true. SMAC still compares pretty favourably to more recent Civs as well, though.

    Someone should mod the SMAC engine into a world-history setting.
     
  19. Nicol.Bolas

    Nicol.Bolas Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Location:
    Bohemia
    whats smac
     
  20. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities

Share This Page