1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Crossing the Sea

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by pred8er, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. pred8er

    pred8er Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Hi All,

    i am new to the civ series, and just started playing a few days ago, can anyone tell me how to cross the sea? I took over all the cities on my island and want to move to the bigger island and start creating puppet cities.

    for some reason i cannot get across the dark blue water.

    anyone have an idea on this? if i have to build something in particular to get across?

    thanks!!
     
  2. Warspite2

    Warspite2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Hi bud and welcome, you need to research the 'optics' tech. Then any land unit you move into the water will automatically embark on transports ready to sail the seas! Just don't move them to far without some escort. If you are at war, you can get sunk easy. Even if you are not at war, barbarian ships can sink them easy too.
     
  3. pagh80

    pagh80 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Denmark
    To move through the dark blue tiles you need to research astronomy
     
  4. Warspite2

    Warspite2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Correction...'astronomy' too, did not realize he said dark blue water.
     
  5. Boojumhunter

    Boojumhunter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Brampton, Ont
    And your units need to return to within your borders to 'learn' the embark skill once you acquire it
     
  6. CarloTheCurious

    CarloTheCurious Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ah-hah!

    A couple of games I've been puzzled as to why my units couldn't embark after optics but could a few turns later, that was probably it.
     
  7. Pantastic

    Pantastic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    You don't need to return to your borders, just to friendly territory. If you make friends with a city state or sign open borders with an AI, you can walk into their territory to acquire it.
     
  8. pred8er

    pred8er Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    thanks for the input everybody! astronomy did the trick and I won my first game!

    thnx!
     

Share This Page