1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn of Civilization General Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,698
    That is since a resource bonus was added to certain civics when having forts.
     
  2. Ani Taneen

    Ani Taneen Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    That's because of feudalism giving bonuses to forts and becuase there is nothing else that can be built on dessert tiles.
     
  3. Vit20141012

    Vit20141012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Russia, Kazan
    I understand everything, but ... because of this fleet moves across the desert far and wide.:)
     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    You are playing the downloaded version of DoC, right? Because since then forts cannot be build adjacent to cities or other forts anymore.
     
  5. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,800
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    It seems the UHV fixes aren't commited.
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    After recent discussions I have given initial city population and buildings some thought. Some background on that:

    Before the recent code refactoring, the way it worked was that every player had a hard coded era modifier for starting population and buildings (two different values). For buildings, the "free start era" of each building was used. Both values did not change during the game, so you were stuck with the modifier you started with.

    After, your population bonus was simply your current era minus one. Buildings worked the same way as before, except that your era was determined by the era you started the game with. This affected some civs that had a building era modifier hard coded that was ahead of the era they started the game with, which means that they now have less buildings on start than before. This includes Portugal, Mali, Aztecs, Turkey, Mughals, Thailand and Congo (medieval instead of Renaissance starting buildings) and Netherlands, Prussia and America (Renaissance instead of Industrial starting buildings). Note that most of these civs are not likely to depend on many founded cities in the early game anyway.

    Considering the buildings this affects, I have decided to leave the changes in the game. This is also because I could not come up with a good way of determining the buildings on start depending on tech level or similar.

    But I decided to increase the building bonus to just your current era (basically +1 across the board except for the ancient era). At the same time I also changed how the extra Astronomy bonus works: previously, after Astronomy France, Spain, Netherlands and Portugal received an extra +1 population on start, England +2. Now, it applies for all civilizations, but only for cities founded overseas. England loses its extra bonus.

    Now they are :)
     
  7. Daniel Khan

    Daniel Khan Bail Baby Bail

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    Sparta, Tennessee, USA
    On the military advisor screen, several civs have little red fists next to their leaderhead, mostly civs who are at war. What does this signify?
     
  8. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Properly Paranoid Proletarian

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,726
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    That if you would attempt to bribe them into a war in the diplo screen all or most leader names would be redded out and the reason they give for their unwillingness to declare war would be "We have enough on our hands right now". That means that they are currently in a war or are preparing a war. If they are at peace with everyone it obviously means the latter.
     
  9. Auric

    Auric Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    I hope you're not bothered with this question too often, but when do you plan to release the new version?
     
  10. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,800
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    A: "When it is ready."

    Q: "When is it ready?"
    A: "Around the time of the release."

    ;)
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    As merijn points out, my releases are based around features not dates, and my progress is hard to predict. All I can say right now is that I am currently working on the last major feature that will be part of the next release.

    That said this question does not bother me at all, it shows that people are interested in the new content I am working on which is always great to hear :)

    This means I need new flippant non-answers right? :lol:
     
  12. The Green One

    The Green One Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    do settlers come with a free worker and defender? Think I read that somewhere?
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    For the AI yes.
     
  14. The Green One

    The Green One Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Ah so not for humans. Good job I've sent a load of Galleons to a conquered and vassalised Mexico. They're now going to pick up the units I was given and take them to found colonies.
     
  15. MechatronicJazz

    MechatronicJazz Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    So, when is the Phoenician core supposed to change to Carthage? I forget what the trigger is and it sucks to have a growing western Mediterranean empire collapse because no core cities. :/
     
  16. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,800
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    It is supposed to change when you build Carthage. But when redoing the code which handles the cores, the Phoenician core change was overlooked. I suppose it hasn't be restored yet.
     
  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Oh sorry, I still have a ticket for this bug in the backlog.
     
  18. The Green One

    The Green One Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    So I'm playing as Polynesia and I've founded Niue and then Viti Levu, which is Foreign. It keeps flipping within 10 turns no matter what. Why is this? I know its outside my core but it still seems extremely premature.

    I am just trying a few different things with them to try to get the UHV. I just cannot get the culture pops I need in order to get to Hawaii. Any advice from anyone?

    I guess I'll have to persevere with Niue (this has to be founded right to get to the East?) and Manu'a first despite their proximity.
     
  19. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    The degree to which your civilization can tolerate ahistorical expansion increases as you progress through the game. Since Polynesia starts off very unadvanced, you should probably not try to do that without a solid core population.

    For RFC in general you should not think too much in terms of city proximity as much as you would in BtS. Especially for Polynesia where the populations are too small to work the full city cross anyway.
     
  20. Publicola

    Publicola Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    549
    Check out my Polynesia victory (technically two of them) in the Great DoC UHV 1.13 Challenge.

    Basically, to reach Hawai'i, you'll need to pop a Great Artist and use him to build a 'Great Work' in the previous city. I recommend assigning the specialist at Tahiti, which has pretty decent growth and needs the culture to open the path to the Marquesas Islands anyway.
     

Share This Page