1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn of Civilization General Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Is starving foreign cores a viable way to reduce overextension? Or am I just a genocidal despot?I am playing Germany and I had to starve Paris from 14....... to 1 which is about 4,000,000 people . I have no choice but to starve most of my newly conquered cities to stabilize my over extension.
     
  2. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,715
    That shouldn't be useful, Leoreth changed it a while back to use the highest pop value of the city in history instead of the current pop value
     
  3. Malchar

    Malchar Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Saint Paul, Minnesota
    Does that apply to any foreign area, or just foreign core? I believe it still works to starve foreign area in v1.16.
     
  4. Hickman888

    Hickman888 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    Haven't played Germany yet, but it might be better for you to adopt Despotism and use it to whip out jails/courthouses in your conquered cities. If you are trying to reduce the population of your foreign-core cities, might as well turn that population into :hammers:!
     
    mateyson and 1SDAN like this.
  5. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,715
    Oh, I misread your comment. Yeah, that's viable. I thought you were talking about city razing penalties. Sadly starving your people is rather effective
     
  6. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Do you guys use regulated trade in the early gane? I always use merchant trade because it has low maintenance and will give a +1 trade route to every city.
     
  7. Hickman888

    Hickman888 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    As China and Korea, I definitely did. With most other civilizations, I do not have the plantations or the commerce in the capital to justify switching to it.
     
  8. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,715
    i do as England, France, Japan, and most other civs with strong cottage space and a UHV where you generally don't expand beyond your core until midgame. The base commerce from the Palace makes the capital your primary source of commerce early game, and RT just improves it further.
     
  9. Lord Roanino

    Lord Roanino Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m guessing this has probably been asked elsewhere, but are there ways to speed up the in-between turn wait times once you get to the late renaissance and forward? Other than being patient, I mean.
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,858
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Have you tried this?
     
  11. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Do you guys know what graphics tileset is this? This is from the civ 4 stories and tales discussion "MEXICO FOREVER!" (he was also playing RFC DOC). I think you can still change the terrain graphics because it does not really change anything in the game.
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,858
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Did you mean to attach an image?
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,858
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Found the thread. Not sure what this tileset is but I have seen many mods use it. You can easily put it into the mod. That is exactly what the Blue Marble module does.
     
  14. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh im so sorryyy. It was past 12 midnight and I was in a rush. Here it is anyways...

    (Photo by Lokki242)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,858
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Yes, I've seen it but I don't know what those assets are or where to get them. @Lokki242 is still around here, maybe you can get their help.
     
  16. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Hmm, he seems to be last online 10 months ago so I doubt it. Anyways, I may have found the graphics pack. They're from Realism Invictus. May I ask if these highlighted files are okay to remove?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,858
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    I don't know. If the RI art package has replacement for all of its contents then yes. You should make sure by comparing the contents using PakBuild. By the way, if multiple FPKs have the same files, the game will always use the older FPK (on a per file basis). So there is no need to remove an FPK file at all. That is how the Blue Marble module works.
     
  18. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Everything seems to be in working order, I removed the terrain 2.fpk file which makes the game a bit too bright and weird (the plain tile just looks too gree. hehe sorry). My only problem is that when I remove that file the marsh art kinda goes haywire (purple). I would assume that the marsh tile art is in the terrain 2.fpk file. Is there any way where I can have the marsh tile are separately?
     
  19. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,858
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Well that's what I was talking about in the post you quoted. The FPK contains files the game needs that the RI file does not supply. Have you tried not to remove Terrain2.fpk?
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2020
  20. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Well yes, I have. Nothing really happends besides the missing the swamp art. I tried unpacking the terrain 2.fpk file and make its own but it does not seem to work. I'm sorry if I've been asking this for a long time because this is actually the first time I have tried to change things inside the assets folder
     

Share This Page