1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Delnar's AI Cleanup 2016-11-06

Delnar's AI Cleanup

Tags:
  1. Zero0018

    Zero0018 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    That's quite a substantial sum of money. I wonder if they just rely on modders to fix it for free. Do you know if they are going to allow modders to fully access the AI and actually change it?
     
  2. Sireaglestrike

    Sireaglestrike Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    This has been my belief about how Bethesda does their Elder Scrolls games. I consider them to just do the world building and let modders fix everything else.
     
  3. alberts2

    alberts2 Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,947
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Bethesda even gave the Unofficial Patch Project Team a beta version two weeks before the Skyrim Special Edition release. So that they could convert the Unofficial Patch to the Special Edition.


    Civ6 was released to early they just did what they could to release it on time.
     
  4. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy The Village Idiot

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Land of the Lost
    I'm curious, how are people liking this mod so far?
     
  5. Delnar_Ersike

    Delnar_Ersike Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    localhost
    I'm guessing that's their intention, but that intention won't actually be fulfilled because 2K does not realize that the DLL source code their lawyers don't want released is precisely what modders need to make any sort of substantial AI change.

    It's not that Civ6 was released too early, it's that Civ6 was released incomplete. This was more apparent in previous Civ games because the incompleteness was spread throughout all systems, but in Civ6, it's concentrated on a few key ones. In addition to AI problems, have you wondered why the tech tree is so sparse and prone to beelining? Why the only civ with multiple leaders is Greece (it's because Firaxis actually couldn't figure out how to do this, so they used a hack-ey solution for Greece that works only because Greece is the only civ with multiple leaders)? Why around 90% of the game's beliefs are copies identical to beliefs from Civ5 even though the two games have vastly different yield balance? Why ideological combat is just a copy of regular combat but with only 3 units to choose from, instead of being something completely different and new? Why the UN, a constant feature of civ games since Civ2, is not in Civ6? Why barbarians still spawn and move on the same turn in simultaneous mode, even though the solution to this literally took me all of 5 minutes to write for Civ5?
     
  6. sresk

    sresk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    I'd asked this question before but I think it got buried when it come to the values in Leaders.xml:

    <Update>
    <Where ListType="DefaultSavings" Item="SAVING_UNITS" />
    <Set Value="2" />
    </Update>
    <!-- Adjusted default flavors a bit as an experiment, active defense flavor should be more than city (passive) defense flavor anyway. -->
    <Update>
    <Where ListType="DefaultFlavorList" Item="Offense" />
    <Set Value="6" />
    </Update>
    <Update>
    <Where ListType="DefaultFlavorList" Item="Defense" />
    <Set Value="4" />
    </Update>
    <Update>
    <Where ListType="DefaultFlavorList" Item="Expansion" />
    <Set Value="7" />
    </Update>

    Do lower values have a higher priority or higher values? becuase from some of the other code it appears that lower values cause the AI to execute them first and that higher values are last... can anyone confirm this?
     
  7. Delnar_Ersike

    Delnar_Ersike Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    localhost
    In almost all cases, higher number = higher value for flavors, but higher number = lower priority or later order for priorities and sequences. The problem is that I don't know which one applies to the DefaultSavings items: I don't know if the categories (units, plots, splurge, etc.) are ordered by priority or as flavors.
     
  8. Real SciPio

    Real SciPio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    in v.6. huge settler spam
     
  9. nComrade

    nComrade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Yeah, I'm afraid the AI is overdoing the settling at the moment. Ran an observer game, and Brazil kept on pumping out settlers which were immediately captured by barbs. 100 turns in and Rio de Janeiro is surrounded by over a dozen barb settlers, and they keep on sending them!
     
    plus likes this.
  10. Demonel

    Demonel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    8


    yup, they are spawning them kinda too frenquently
     
    plus likes this.
  11. Littlebob86

    Littlebob86 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    329
    One thing I modded was giving warriors and slingers a maintenance cost of 1, seems to have reduced the ai spamming **** tonnes of them . . Maybe it could be done to settlers as well ?
     
  12. Real SciPio

    Real SciPio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    can we please have v.2 of this mode...it was working just fine untill settler changes in v.3
     
  13. Delnar_Ersike

    Delnar_Ersike Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    localhost
    Won't actually do anything. Military unit pseudoyields are controlled by MilitaryAI keeping track of unit maintenance per military strength. Settler unit pseudoyields aren't controlled by MilitaryAI, and Military is the only AI subsystem that cares about unit maintenance.
    Hmm, guess that's an interesting thing to note. Looks like the AI's settler pseudoyields are heavily regulated by the cap on Settle operations, so increasing pseudoyields while also removing the cap results in the observed behavior. I think I'll lower the cap to 2 (number of extra settlers Deity gets) so that the AI doesn't start building new settlers when it has existing ones out, because it turns out that the AI subsystem that decides what to produce doesn't take existing settlers into account when purely weighing settler pseudoyield.
     
  14. Real SciPio

    Real SciPio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    exactly...:D
    can you post v.2 in the meantime...cant play vanilla AI
     
  15. opezdl

    opezdl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello!
    My big respect for this mod.
    As far as i understand - to fix settler spawn we need to add line corresponding to to settelrs cap.
    Sry - wasnt able to find that line in mod files.
    Would you be so kind, to give me a clue - what table and param should be tweaked? This can be done from SettlerLove.xml ?
    thx
     
  16. lordhaw

    lordhaw Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Ah! So that explains why my current game has been swimming in settlers! I've captured so many of them I've been having to delete them to keep up. Russia has been sending them ahead of their troops in a kind of human wave thing (seriously, it has!). I came across India producing settlers rather than combat units and Norway having a few too many as well. Russia has also been sending great people around combat zones too. No one else that I've seen so far, but Russia has. That was new after the current version of the mod so far as I could tell. At least I'd never come across it before.
    Still, been liking this mod so far. There has been a definite difference in the way the AI has been behaving overall, for the better.
     
  17. sresk

    sresk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    I don't know if this has been brought up in this thread yet or not but adding a 1 gold maintenance on slingers and warriors does seem to cut down on the silliness of warrior spam from the ancient era. And it may just be my perception or some other improvements in this mod but it also appears my AI is upgrading more units.

    Although I'm playng with slower tech, faster production and a little bit more gold on some of the bonus tiles.... so the upgrades may be influenced by that.

    I too am noticing settler spam... which is an improvement over the extreme lack of settlers from before. At least the world is filling up in the first 2-3 eras... but is there a way to tell the AI to stop building settlers once there are no available spots?

    Lastly the AI seems to be incredibly hesitant to attack. I think they are trying to preserve units by refusing to take bad trades, and with the lower priority on ranged units it makes them spam melee and then stand around and try to heal while my crossbows just chew threw the wall of meat.

    All of this is not criticizing this mod rather just pointing out current flaws in the AI that I'm hoping can be addressed.

    Also I'm convinced from my own playing that adding +1 movement to all units drastically improves the AIs ability to use the few ranged units it does make. Id encourage others to try it.
     
  18. Delnar_Ersike

    Delnar_Ersike Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    localhost
    Uploaded v7. It has a few extra goodies in addition to the settler cap thing, so check the changelog.

    Attack hesitance is extremely difficult to precisely judge and even harder to improve without access to CvGameCoreDLL's source code. As for the rest, they're a result of Civ6 largely using Civ5's AI code: much of Civ6's AI code is recycled from Civ5, so it was written with certain assumptions in mind that don't necessarily apply to Civ6 (all military units cost gold maintenance, movement points are spent after moving into a tile instead of as a requirement before you move into a tile). Besides altering Civ6's game rules to resemble Civ5's, we cannot do anything about these AI problems until CvGameCoreDLL's source code is released.
     
    hermes11 and notque like this.
  19. Setrax

    Setrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Most of the issues with the simple problems that they didn't fix come down to Firaxis being a top-heavy organization.

    When developer time is closely managed by suits at the top, simple things aren't given the short amount of time that is needed to fix them.

    The logistical effort of sorting those small issues into a manageable priority list also requires a manager-level decision if everyone is being micromanaged. Not to mention that the core systems for the game probably on a tight schedule.
     
  20. notque

    notque Artificially Intelligent

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,654
    You're incredible dude!
     

Share This Page