1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Difficulty Levels?

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by adac, Apr 19, 2018.

  1. adac

    adac Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Is there a complete list of what changes (handicaps, bonus units, etc.) for each difficulty level in VP? My understanding is that there is no difference in AI behavior between levels so the differences all come down to these bonuses. Is that correct?
     
    saamohod likes this.
  2. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,866
    Almost.
    When making a policy/tech/production choice, the AI takes the 3 best choices and choose at random between them, for the difficulty 1-2-3.
    At difficulty 4-5-6 it takes the 2 best choices and choose at random between them.
    At difficulty 7-8 it takes always the best choice.

    You can change it in the file DifficultyMod.xml (in the (2) Community Balance Overhaul), they have for name "TechNumOptionConsidered" or something like that.

    Full infos about difficulty there: http://civ-5-cbp.wikia.com/wiki/AI_and_Difficulty
    But in short:
    • No bonuses techs. And very few starting bonuses.
    • No bonuses to wonder construction.
    • Regularly (new era, great person born, ...) the AI will recieve bonus yields. The bonus are scaling with era (in a quadratic way), so the AI will have far more bonuses in end game than in early game.
    • The AI still has more units, more XP to its units, and cheaper units. Even though the AI is far better than in unmodded, a experienced player is far better at warfare than the AI.
     
  3. adac

    adac Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Ah right, I do remember seeing that mentioned in the past (the decision making).

    So looking at that wiki article (which I assume is up to date), is it accurate to say there is no level where you are exactly equal to the AI? I know when you factor in periodic yield bonuses, it would be tough to define equality anyway.

    What is considered the difficulty where you are "even" with the AI? I know any competent player should curb-stomp the AI at that setting (which means it's about where I should play)
     
  4. ElliotS

    ElliotS Warmonger

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,654
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago
    Debatably Settler or Chief. Chieftain has 100% for the AI's production cost, but they get some bonus yields from the game-long handicap. Settler has a 110% cost for buildings, pop growth and units, but gets some bonus yields so they cancel out.
     
  5. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,810
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    This is a difficult question. If you are asking in which difficulty level AI gets the same bonuses as the human player, then there is none. AI always gets handicaps yields. Costs are more even in chieftain, I think. AI scripts can't be competitve if they played with the same rules and lower computational power.

    But the real question is when AI is even with the human player. Humans use memory and holistic methods to make decisions not available for AI scripts, while AI scripts are quite proficient at managing raw numbers. In other words, humans can plan for long term while AI is better at making short term economic decisions. In the end, AI needs extra bonuses to stay competitive with skilled humans. So the real answer is that AI is even to the human player when the human player wins half of the games. But that isn't completely true, as you are learning from every game, and when you win half the matches, you probably are ready for next level. Also, AI is continuosly being improved by our developer stuff, and sometimes, when you think you are ready for next level, you are forced to stay in the same level.

    Start playing warlord, for example, and see how difficult is for you to reach victory screen. Then decide if you can move up, stay or go down one difficulty level.
     
    saamohod likes this.
  6. adac

    adac Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Cheers; I tend to play Warlord to Prince in VP, depending on how I have been doing on the latest version. Lately I've been playing Warlord and (sometimes) even Chieftain again as the AI performance has improved and I haven't :). But I still enjoy the mod, I just have no ambitions to work up to deity or anything (as I refuse to micro or start wars unprovoked,which is sub-optimal for winning VP at anything but the easiest settings). So basically what you recommended (find my level of competence)

    I was just curious what the actual handicaps were, but the wiki article covers that pretty well. Thanks to all of you.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  7. ElliotS

    ElliotS Warmonger

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,654
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago
    It sounds like you know your level of competence. If Warlord is challenging yet fun to you, play Warlord. If it's too easy, place prince.

    I will say that I can win a peaceful game where I never declare a war and set all workers to automated as soon as they start getting annoying in medieval/renaissance consistently on Immortal.

    So even if you don't want to micro or warmonger, you can still improve quite a bit.
     
  8. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,810
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Immortal requires active diplomacy (declarations, friendships, alliances, support), in my opinion, so it's much more involved.
     
  9. vyyt

    vyyt Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,828
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Also, you can see (and edit) difficulties.xml. The handicaps/bonuses are all written there in quite a readable format. I am on my cell now, but I think you will find the file in (2) Community Balance Patch/Balance/
     
  10. adac

    adac Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks, I'll definitely check that file if I need to tweak something for my tastes/ability. Between that and "Really Advanced Setup" I should be able to get a setup that works for me.
     
  11. adac

    adac Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    I would definitely agree with that (in my limited experience at higher levels). Even on Prince, I find that my lack of diplomatic scheming bites me in the later eras when the entire world gangs up on me.
     

Share This Page