1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Enhanced Goody System (Unit only Goodies and Protected Goodies) [IMPLEMENTED]

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by raystuttgart, Nov 8, 2020.

  1. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    @Schmiddie has got some ideas to add Sounds into the KFMs - but he knows to explain it better. :)
    (I know only very little of KFM files.)

    But yes, maybe you can help him to create the sound files he could use. :thumbsup:
    I already told him that he might contact you because you are a "Sound Expert".

    Edit:
    Cross-Post with Schmiddie. :)
     
  2. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,255
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Are we talking about an ambient sound that you hear when zooming the improvement? I think that is controlled by XML files like in case of terrain and features.
    I know nothing about KFM files but can make and/or mix some sounds if needed.
     
  3. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Germany
    Maybe ambient sound can do it for the moment. I'm thinking about a sound that is started by the kfm files when the improvement is "active".
     
  4. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,255
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Okay, I just checked the xml files and now I understand that it doesn't work the way I thought. :undecide:
     
  5. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Germany
    @raystuttgart

    The branch large river seems to be currently instable. :sad:

    I had some crashes to desktop when founding a settlement near a shipwreck and when I placed a settlement near the shipwreck with the worldbuilder this happens:

     

    Attached Files:

  6. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Don't worry, that is probably quite easy to fix.
    (I am almost sure that I already know what causes it.)
    I will fix it this evening after work and send you a new DLL. :thumbsup:
     
  7. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    And me))
     
    raystuttgart likes this.
  8. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    @Schmiddie @Mr. ZorG

    The bug with the Shipwreck is fixed. :)
    The new DLL was sent to you in the team chat.
     
    Schmiddie and Mr. ZorG like this.
  9. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Hi guys,

    as requested by the team, the "Hostile Native Villages" are not defended by "Native Mercenaries" anymore.
    (They were too powerful and dangerous for Scouts and also not really immersive.)

    They are now defended by a new Unit "Hostile Native".
    (It is about as strong as a "Revolting Slave" - but has a few more Terrain Bonusses.)

    It is configurable in XML though, which Units a "Hostile Native Village" spawns.
    (There is a "GlobalDefine" for it now.)

    Spoiler :



     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 27, 2020
    Schmiddie and Mr. ZorG like this.
  10. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,255
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Have you solved this? Because @Gearbolt38 has created a unit recently and he seems to know how to add sounds.
     
  11. HiFiPanda

    HiFiPanda Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Is there a chance you could make all the Goody Huts more visible or highlighted for Scouts? I'm mostly thinking about Ancient Ruins, which are grey and then you have Taiga and Tundra which are also grey and they are not very distinct from one another...
     
    nci likes this.
  12. ConjurerDragon

    ConjurerDragon Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    382
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhineland-Palatinate
    If you take Malinche? as far as I remember the name the ruins and huts are visible specks within the darkness of the Fog of War - practically highlighted.
     
  13. HiFiPanda

    HiFiPanda Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    No, it's just the problem of old and lazy eyes, even if you have Malinche it's still hard to spot them while they are next to your scout.
     
    nci likes this.
  14. nci

    nci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    @HiFiPanda I have the same problem. Adjusting FOW_WAS_VISIBLE_COLOR and FOW_MINIMAP_WAS_VISIBLE_COLOR to 0.63 in GlobalArtDefines.xml makes those covered by fog of war much more noticeable, but highlighting goodies near scout is still required.
     
  15. Taurus

    Taurus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    I agree, even if you take Malinche it's hard to spot those ruins and huts.
     
    nci likes this.

Share This Page