1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FIXED] Crash at 850th turn, content handling?, DX11 problem?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by Zaath3, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. Zaath3

    Zaath3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I didnt really find this problem in the Confirmed list so I give this a try and maybe it helps the dev. I have included the saved game and my dxdiag.

    Settings:
    England, Earth, Huge, diff. 2, Marathon
    11 other civs, Domination
    Playing with High settings on Video, 2x MSAA, Vsync
    Not High details
    1920x1200 60Hz
    GPU 75 degrees so that was not the issue
    Directx 11

    This worked out well until turn 850.
    The saved game is at 864 ..about.
    Around 60 cities at turn 850, 67 at 864. This may be in the post 70 city post but I can still play but it crashes after some turns.

    1. After doing your stuff you press Next turn. (I have tested doing just nothing to click on everything I can)
    Expectation would be next turn. But the hard drive sounds like it doesnt know where to write the data and the game freezes and then crash. Its easy to just shut down the application and then start the game again. Playing another 3-10 turns then a new crash after clicking "next turn". The crash appears when AI seems to be done doing its ..doing.

    I have checked my HW with diagnostic programs and found no errors. Tried other games and they worked well.


    Workout:

    I have tested to load old Autosaves and this reapeat it self.
    you cant say exact what turn cuz its random. I have done turn 860 with and without crash. Maybe this is a Content handling issue?
    I had no crash until turn 850 with 60 cities incl Puppets. about half map opened...about.

    I have tested with Directx 9 and then it does not crash. (I have just tested toturn 888 though)

    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    I loaded your save file and played straight through to turn 892 (1873AD). No crashes. I'm running Windows XP SP3 with 2GB RAM and an NVIDIA card with 256MB of RAM. Can use DX9 only. So my system's spec are inferior to yours, but I don't get a crash. What happens if you force DX9?

    Petek
     
  3. Zaath3

    Zaath3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    It worked ok with Dx9 so maybe its something fishy with the Dx11 and the game.
    I will test more this weekend though
     
  4. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Sorry, didn't notice that you already tried DX9. We've seen other situations in which DX9 is more stable than DX11.
     
  5. Zaath3

    Zaath3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Ah , hehe no worries :) Im glad you took your time testing the saved one.
    I was thinking of maybe my graphic card maybe not are strong enonugh to load the content with DX 11 at some point of the game. But its strange that it worked very well until 850. It doesnt make sence.

    Next weekend I will test GeForce 480 against this game and see if there is any difference.
     
  6. Zaath3

    Zaath3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I have tested now properly between DX 9 and DX 11.
    With DX11 ALWAYS crash sooner or later.
    With DX9 works to the end of the game.

    Booring but true in my case.
     
  7. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Thanks for taking the time to test. I'll move this to the Confirmed Bugs forum and note the DX11 issue.

    Moderator Action: Moved to Confirmed Bugs forum.
     
  8. Vaiks

    Vaiks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brazil
    I'm facing a similar problem in around turn 950. Game craches while triggering a winning condition if I'm not wrong.

    When I move a unit to explore 1 more ex.
    When I conquer 1 more city.
    etc...
     

Share This Page