General Beyond the Sword/Civ4 Tips/Strategies?

Alsark

Noble
Alright... so back when I played the original Civilization IV, I would almost consistently be in first place on Noble difficulty. Beyond the Sword comes along, and suddenly, I'm looking at consistent last placement. Clearly, the AI is now doing something right that it wasn't doing before. So I'd like for people to just give me general tips... just spew out any little thing that comes to mind and assume that I'm an uber noob.

Here's a brief summary of how I play (includes a question or two along the way):
- I'm very peaceful (I never declare war). In fact, I hate war so much, that when somebody does declare war on me, I feel like quitting. I don't, of course, but I may as well
- Generally I tend to lack military. What is a good general rule of thumb for how many soldiers to have in each city? Though I feel like no amount of soldiers can save me from the "stack of death" that often comes at me in Beyond the Sword.
- I cottage spam. I build a cottage in every single tile except for resource tiles.
- I refuse almost every time somebody asks me for tribute or when somebody asks me to stop trading to somebody.
- I generally don't pick people out who I do and don't trade with... I just trade with everybody. Is this a bad idea?
- I generally have about one worker per city.
- I feel like I don't expand that much, and yet, I feel like opposing settlers surround me so quickly that I haven't any room to expand. If I'm not going to be trying to claim cities via war, should I just build almost nothing but a bunch of settlers for quite awhile?
- My build order is usually: warrior (to increase population), worker, settler. After that, I usually build some domestic buildings.]
- When I found a religion, I generally don't place much importance on spreading it. Should I?