Getting back into CIV IV trying to improve have a few questions

Le Singe

Chieftain
Hey, guys and gals I recently started playing Civ IV again [BTS], one of my all time favorite games. I am a monarch player that is hoping to improve. I can win on monarch, but not consistently enough for me to be ready to move up. I have a few questions.

1. I seem to have this instinctual desire to lay cities out so I rarely leave any green tiles unable to be worked. In doing, this I seem to find that, I have a lot of average cities and it is somewhat hard to specialize them. Should I instead be trying to group 4 or more food (when improved) tiles to were most cities have two or possibly more of them. This means wasted (unworkable) tiles less cities but the one I have are much stronger and easier to specialize? I know it is never black and white and you will have to do some of each but just as a general rule of thumb.

2. How do you approach war, take several bites of the apple with rest between (I've been reading sisuitils games and he seems to do this a lot) or take someone out in one go. I tend try to get it all in one go, but too often find that once I’m done dispatching one or maybe two foes I'm too far behind to get a good advantage situation on the remaining AIs. The downside of taking a pause is conquered boarder cities are almost useless because of culture and it give the AI time to tech up etc. What is best practice? Alternatively, is vassals the best they seem useless and often times are even spamming spy missions AT me.

3. If you get a decent number of cities to start with is it possible to get a domination win if you don't start warring till the gun powder age or do you need to take at least one CIv out with a catapult and swordsman (elephants if possible) war?