I don't think you should change anyone to a hills bias. Its generally not a good start for someone who doesn't have synergy (pretty much only Inca does, Celts have a small boost). I wouldn't consider the Ottoman's unique forge a hill synergy, its too small to be significant.
Settle on a hill= 2 food, 2 hammers
Settle on flat freshwater= 3 food, 1 hammer
Settle on flat land, no freshwater= 2 food, 1 hammer, 1 gold
The resource rules are tricky. I think the rule is that settling a resource will never decrease your yields. So look at settling on top of a gold resource.
You will always earn the culture.
You will earn the gold if its a hill, or if its freshwater. But if you are on flat land, no freshwater, you will still only earn 1 gold, not two.
Other examples/ things to note:
If you settle on grassland horses, you get no bonus. However, if you settle on plains horses, you get a free hammer.
Its generally really hard to get extra food from you settling position.
Settling on flood plain wheat does not give you 4 base food, not sure why. Its the only exception I've found.
Other resource boosts=
If a building increasing the yield of a resource specifically, the city will always receive this (granary, stables, stoneworks, luxury boosts, etc).
Example: A granary gives wheat +1 food. It will give the city +1 food if you settle on wheat. However, a boost to farms will not affect the city's tile itself, because it is not a farm.
If the monopoly gives +X food/culture/whatever, you get that.
The pantheons and other effects that award mines, pastures, plantations, quarries, camps, etc. will never count (its a city, not a plantation)
Spirit of desert will count (if you settle on a desert resource, you do get the bonus). I assume Tundra pantheon is the same but I haven't tested.
What I know about this is.......................By the way, does anybody know the value of city yield depending on the terrain (and the modifier from resources) ?
Settle on a hill= 2 food, 2 hammers
Settle on flat freshwater= 3 food, 1 hammer
Settle on flat land, no freshwater= 2 food, 1 hammer, 1 gold
The resource rules are tricky. I think the rule is that settling a resource will never decrease your yields. So look at settling on top of a gold resource.
You will always earn the culture.
You will earn the gold if its a hill, or if its freshwater. But if you are on flat land, no freshwater, you will still only earn 1 gold, not two.
Other examples/ things to note:
If you settle on grassland horses, you get no bonus. However, if you settle on plains horses, you get a free hammer.
Its generally really hard to get extra food from you settling position.
Settling on flood plain wheat does not give you 4 base food, not sure why. Its the only exception I've found.
Other resource boosts=
If a building increasing the yield of a resource specifically, the city will always receive this (granary, stables, stoneworks, luxury boosts, etc).
Example: A granary gives wheat +1 food. It will give the city +1 food if you settle on wheat. However, a boost to farms will not affect the city's tile itself, because it is not a farm.
If the monopoly gives +X food/culture/whatever, you get that.
The pantheons and other effects that award mines, pastures, plantations, quarries, camps, etc. will never count (its a city, not a plantation)
Spirit of desert will count (if you settle on a desert resource, you do get the bonus). I assume Tundra pantheon is the same but I haven't tested.