1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

GOTM-02: Pre-Game discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Game of the Month' started by ainwood, Dec 27, 2005.

  1. ronricorum

    ronricorum Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9
  2. Kryptyk

    Kryptyk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    looks like fun, too bad i cant play standard maps on my comp. Any chance there will be tiny maps in future GOTMs? btw im new here and this seems to be a very active and good natured forum, keep it up
     
  3. Ozyman8

    Ozyman8 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    If you enjoy the game, that's what counts. I won my last few games on Noble; it's time to move up a level.

    A good goal: Avoid getting slaughtered by the barbarians!
     
  4. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    [pissed]

    FYI: the barbarians are the least of your problems, I've found.......



    :spank:
     
  5. Strobe

    Strobe Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    I played 4 test games and have found the barbarians to be a real problem, I have never played epic before. Normally I skip archery and trade for it later but I am finding forming more than 2 towns early on with only warriors is just not working out.

    Could go for bronze working early but I was thinking of getting agriculture,animal husbandry and sailing as starting techs. I find barbarians by this time are a big problem.

    Anybody got any tips for early defence on this type of map ?
     
  6. MeteorPunch

    MeteorPunch #WINNING Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,834
    Location:
    TN-USA
    It's possible to have archers well before the barbs get dangerous units.
     
  7. lemmingz

    lemmingz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Auckland
    Does anyone know how far exactly into the game the Barbarian units upgrade (like, go from Warriors to Axemen etc.)? Is it triggered by our own research (like entering the Classical Age or sth) or do they just follow their own timeline in growing in strength?
     
  8. Seraphinus

    Seraphinus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I saw barbarians having horse archers in the time I get to knights. Looks like they progress too, but slowly or maybe as average of others.
     
  9. Wallabulla

    Wallabulla Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Norway
    This is going to be fun, never played cIV on prince level yet :) Maybe going to have a testgame with the same conditions as this GOTM to get a feeling for it
     
  10. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    How do we actually start the GOTM? Is it different in [civ4]? Should we "load game" and simply open the save-file or use a scenario option, or?
     
  11. Requies

    Requies Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    381
    Though some simply open the save-file, others have reported problems with that.

    For myself, I just "load game."

    Req
     
  12. Requies

    Requies Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    381
    Well, if the original programmers had included some pretty basic functionality in the game, I would agree with you.

    As is, I know that trying to deal with specialists is going to be a nightmare without my mod.

    And it was REALLY nice to not have to wait for 15 seconds to figure out what turn you're on.

    Plus, I'd really like to be able to take a glance and see how other civs feel about other opponents without having to hover over every damn leader head.

    And in the future, pop-ups related to cities about to grow, cities which just grew, enemy units landing near your cities, etc. would be very nice to have.

    And for QSC, it will take MUCH longer without eotinb's log changes mod.

    Req
     
  13. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks. I used "load game" indeed and that works fine. I seem to recall from [c3c] that there was some kind of welcome message introducing the game as a scenario, but maybe I'm mistaken. It's been a while since I played GOTM.
     
  14. Shillen

    Shillen Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,122
    Location:
    MA
    All good reasons. :)
     
  15. Ani

    Ani Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Norway
    This is a VERY interesting GOTM. Havent had so mutch fun in a long while. Suppose we will get lots of crying afther the first 2 cities is settled.
     
  16. Roland Ehnström

    Roland Ehnström Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Norrtälje, Sweden
    No spoilers please.

    -- Roland
     
  17. GenericKen

    GenericKen Not at all suspicious

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    202
    3x lakes + lighthouse + financial + start sailing makes for something of a powerhouse tech start. I'd settle on the spot and pump every worker and settler from the capital after getting a library/academy out while teching up to happiness stuff and pumping military from the second city. Probably ignore religion until someone spreads it to me so I can cap their holy city. Stabalize at math and catapult one, maybe two rivals into the ground.

    That's the plan, anyway. See you on the other side.
     
  18. culdeus

    culdeus Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,303
    Location:
    Where we live today, sports.
    Hi, it appears you can walk around the world. Or at least it seems that way. You can at least scroll around the world. Before I get too far can anyone confirm that the lakes world is "flat"?
     
  19. Burebista

    Burebista Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    wet, hot, 5 billion
    I never played a Lake map, but according to Sirian's map script guide:
    this is a regional map and there is no world wrap.
     
  20. jsut

    jsut Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    in the test game i was messing around with last night the map wrapped normally.
     

Share This Page