Help with Openings

Alterac

Chieftain
Greetings everyone!

I am a long time reader of the site and a first time poster. I have been playing cIV now for nearly 8 years. Most of my games tend to be team games PvE with my friends ( we are too competitive to be able to play FFA with each other). As such my skills as a solo player are... lacking. I enjoy playing with random leaders and random maps as well as playing the hand that is dealt, no tech trading and no barbs (feel they don't do much more than force you to make a few more early warriors/chariots/axes than usual). I feel its these situations that can teach me more about how to play cIV well.

The game I am requesting some advice in is rather typical of the kind of games which give me the most trouble. It boils down as to how to make the best of a situation where I don't have the right techs for the resources on hand, and there is no clear "good" move

Map Settings:

Monarch
Normal Game Speed
Opponents Random

Huge Map (18 Civs)
Low Sea level
Temperate Climate
Random Map Script
No Barbs
No Tech Trading
No Huts
No Events
Choose Religion
New Random Seed on Reload (not sure how that one got clicked on... must have been going fast down the list).
No Buffy or Bat mods installed

Leader:

Alexander (Phil, Agg) of Greece

Situation:

From the get go surrounded by forest, lake side, ocean visible to the north west with fish revealed. The starting location only has pig hills visible (see attached screen shot of the start location). The scout doesn't seem to be able to help reveal much more of the start due to its position and all the intervening forests.

My Though Processes:

I should move my settler South West 2 blocks, this seems like it would reveal the most tiles and give me the best odds of finding goodies. Is there a more reasonable alternative?