1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Huge Europe Map

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Road to War' started by Chamboozer, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    *coughdalepleasecough*
     
  2. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    I've attached the updated RtW Event Manager. I've set your map to be self.Map == 6.

    I've setup Vichy France to occur on 5 French cities occupied, but you might want to change that (in this script). I've also set it as a 1936 map. Didn't know what date you wanted to start in. :)

    No events are setup, so if you go through the script you'll see where to put them in (I would suggest using self.Map == 0 [1936 Europe] settings as a template).

    IMPORTANT:
    Plot(0,0) MUST MUST MUST be TERRAIN_WINTERPLAINS for RtW to detect it correctly. :)
     
  3. sk8er AG

    sk8er AG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    was just wondern if theres a approx date for huge europe map comin out, lookn foward to playn.
     
  4. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Ahh finally! Thanks Dale, i'll get on it immediately.

    I don't want to set a release date because it means I might try to rush it, and rushed = lower quality.
     
  5. sk8er AG

    sk8er AG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    o ok know what you mean
     
  6. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    I'm having a little trouble with Python, so i'm going to postpone the coding of the map untill I can find myself a decent tutorial. However, I plan to release a codeless version of the map soon so people can give me their impuit on terrain/cities/borders, etc.
     
  7. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Just so you know, this project is not dead. I'll make an attempt to get some new screenshots up sometime tommorow.
     
  8. Omathaar

    Omathaar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Good to know! I was just thinking about this today. Looking forward to the shots! And take your time, we'll be glad to have your best job on it
     
  9. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    I can't get Civilization IV to work on this computer so I'm transfering the map to another. That's why it's taken so long to get screenshots. Expect them shortly.
     
  10. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Ok, here they are



    The (unfinished) English Channel.



    I think Poland's borders are a little more realistic in this version.



    Here's Yugoslavia
     

    Attached Files:

  11. BLubmuz

    BLubmuz HoF Quattromaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,160
    Location:
    Vicenza, Italy
    Seems interesting.
    Could you post a SS of the whole map (satellite view with cultural zones)?
    What else do you have to improve?
     
  12. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    I'll see about getting the sattelite map.

    USSR and USA aren't anywhere near being completed, and I need to finish the French Colonies, Turkey, tile improvements in France & britan, Cities in Scotland, and I'm redoing all of Scandinavia because I didn't get the shape right.
     
  13. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    I'll see about getting the sattelite map.

    USSR and USA aren't anywhere near being completed, and I need to finish the French Colonies, Turkey, tile improvements in France & britan, Cities in Scotland, and I'm redoing all of Scandinavia because I didn't get the shape right.
     
  14. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA


     

    Attached Files:

  15. REDY

    REDY Duty Caller

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,514
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Praha
    Small note: Czechoslovakia
     
  16. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    If thats the case, then its Dale's fault :)
     
  17. sk8er AG

    sk8er AG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Just a minor note. I think Greece should be considered facist. It was under the control of General Mextacas(not sure if spelled right). Thanks for the screenshots, really lookn forward to playn.
     
  18. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    I considered that as well, but for the purposes of gameplay in open mode, I think it should remain as it is.
     
  19. BLubmuz

    BLubmuz HoF Quattromaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,160
    Location:
    Vicenza, Italy
    Seems interesting, still.
    but dammit, Caorle? call it Trieste.
    Why not italian names? Venezia, Napoli, Roma... more ralistic, i think.
     
  20. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Not a bad idea, sure makes finding cities on google maps far easier, though, naming Russian cities in russian might be difficult.
     

Share This Page