1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Ingame Editor

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by DonQuiche, Aug 21, 2011.

  1. Acoustic

    Acoustic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    This is a fantastic tool but I have a request:

    Being able to spawn a dead player's (or new player's) units.

    I am trying to create a "Dynamic History" so to speak within my game, where I can spawn in civilizations later but after I kill a civilization off, I can't spawn anything of theirs anymore.
     
  2. DonQuiche

    DonQuiche Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Hello. :)

    It is strictly impossible(1)(2) to add new plays after the game has started. And I think it is also impossible(2) to revive a major civ but I do have a slight doubt.

    (1) But if I am wrong about resurrecting dead players a mod could start the game with some players being already dead. This would be out of the scope of IGE though.
    (2) It may be possible if you modify the dll (I am only speculating) but not only I do not have the time to invest in that, but also most players would not benefit from it (no dll on Steam, other mods already having their own dll, etc).
     
  3. Craig_Sutter

    Craig_Sutter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,743
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    You could give all of your civs the never die trait. Then they will still be alive even lacking settlers, cities or units. It would be easy to mod the civ trait to do this. This might make a victory that requires eliminating all civs impossible.
     
  4. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,344
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    If you mean the Domination victory condition, that only requires all capitals bar one to be captured, not all player to be wiped out. If you mean a custom VC, it would just need to check that at least one other player had one city or one unit on the board.
     
  5. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,649
    Location:
    France
    you can revive a major AI civ, and for a human you can hide a sleeping special unit until the turn the civ should span. at least you could when I tested that. need to check if it's still working...
     
  6. Acoustic

    Acoustic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Where would I edit that at? I take it I would have to create a mod for that as well?
     
  7. DonQuiche

    DonQuiche Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    @Gedemon
    Hello. :)
    Thank you for the tip. So I could add a resurrect feature... I guess it would be a nice addition. I already imagined the UI for this but I do not remember IGE's code enough to know how long and cumbersome it would be to add it. I will try to delve in the code this week-end and see how it looks like.
     
  8. Acoustic

    Acoustic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Don, if I were able to create a new trait for all civilizations that made them not "die" then would IGE never label them "dead"?

    Any assistance with actually doing this would be appreciated :p.
     
  9. Acoustic

    Acoustic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Anything? lol.
     
  10. Mars83

    Mars83 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Be patient! He said:
    Its Friday... Friday is not the weekend so be patient.
     
  11. Acoustic

    Acoustic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    I wasn't talking about that. I was referring to the post about the creating a trait for all civilizations where they never actually die. Thanks for the input however.
     
  12. Mars83

    Mars83 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    That is what hes looking into. So again just remain patient.
     
  13. Acoustic

    Acoustic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    No, he is looking into a way of creating a resurrecting feature that has nothing to do with a trait.

    I am talking about developing a mod myself that would give all civs that trait, but I need to know if IGE would even recognize them after all of their units/cities were gone.

    He said himself that there is no certainty that he can get it to work his way, so it wouldn't hurt for me to try it my way.
     
  14. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,649
    Location:
    France
    well, after a few test to update my code, it seems that things have changed in the way the game handle defeat, I think I'll have to look at your reseed code...

    edit: forget that, works fine with special unit with founding ability, even without the "complete kills" option, it was just me having some problem debugging a few things :o

    (I was testing with Greece, I was killing even the special waiting unit at start and then set spawn date to 2700 instead of -2700... :shake:)
     
  15. Craig_Sutter

    Craig_Sutter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,743
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Simply add this code to any trait (here I've used Art of War). I've not tested it with IGE but should take about a minute to do so... kill off the civ by adding a bunch of units beside it's initial city, and see what happens.

    Code:
    <Traits>             
    <Update>
    			<Set StaysAliveZeroCities="true" />
    			<Where Type="TRAIT_ART_OF_WAR"/>
    		</Update>
    </Traits>
    
     
  16. Acoustic

    Acoustic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Excuse my ignorance, but wouldn't I have to create a mod for that? Or could I just plug that into the default files?
     
  17. Craig_Sutter

    Craig_Sutter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,743
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    I would create a mod, but you could add a row entry to the original files... not certain an update entry would do it.

    It is usually advised not to mess with the original files, though... and I think updates would wipe out your changes.

    The mod would be easy to create if you have done any modding previously. I don't have time right now, but could do it up tomorrow if you cannot do it yourself.

    Of course, whether it works as expected with IGE needs to be tested... don't have the time today, though.
     
  18. Acoustic

    Acoustic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Well, I dabbled around in modbuilder and assuming I did everything right, it doesn't work in IGE. If you have some free time, i'd appreciate it if you would see if you could get it working or at least send me the mod and I will.

    Then again, I am not sure how far Don has gotten with actually ressurecting a dead civ, so. We shall see.
     
  19. Tayran

    Tayran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mods used:

    Really advanced setup
    Commnitas gem + civup
    Ingame editor

    Starting it works fine and editing stuff for only the player. When I change player to edit stuff for the AI though, thats when problems start. After giving all AI some tech and policy I want to change back to my civ and the game crash. Also if I save during this and try to reload it crashes.
     
  20. Craig_Sutter

    Craig_Sutter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,743
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Do you have it in safe mode? Sometimes that fixes problems.
     

Share This Page