1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing Mods on Civ5 for Mac

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by AlanH, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,070
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Hi. How did you manage to get a copy of the App Store version without downloading it from the App Store? When you install an app from the App Store normally, it is likely that it registers itself in your operating system. If you have just copied it from someone else's hard drive then that will not happen, and bad things are likely to happen.
     
  2. Borbby

    Borbby Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I am experiencing this same issue. I am unable to click on any of the menu. in addition to what he said, there id also the text at the bottom of the screen that says "InvalidVersionNumber"

    did I looked through the old lua file and can't find anything differences... I only pasted in the two dashes.
     
  3. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,070
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Hi Borbby, welcome. :wavey: Which version of Civ5 are you running - Steam or Mac AppStore Campaign Edition?

    Looking at my Steam installation, it seems the MainMenu.lua file has changed and should no longer need any edits to allow the Mods button to display.

    My Campaign Edition is now way out of date, so it's possible that has changed as well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2018
  4. Ben Kavanaugh

    Ben Kavanaugh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi Alan,

    I am looking for a folder ~/Library/Containers/com.aspyr.civ5campaign/Data/Library/Application Support/Civilization V Campaign Edition/MODS with no luck. There is no such container, but i have played the game.

    Could it be under different name because it was not purchased from the app store or steam? or is it compatible at all.

    Thanks,

    Ben
     
  5. Ben Kavanaugh

    Ben Kavanaugh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    It was a pirated version of the ayspr campaign edition. I'm now wondering if there is a save location for that data that is not stored in the same location.

    Moderator Action: Sorry, but this site has a strict anti-piracy policy, so you will get no help here. -- Browd
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 9, 2018

Share This Page