1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Interesting Screenshots

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by kill fire, Nov 10, 2006.

  1. Mirc

    Mirc Not mIRC!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    15,825
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, ->Germany, E.U.
    You are right, I didn't notice that, but the artillery shown in the 3 units list is still the one on the mountain west of it. And on the tile southwest of the damaged Dutch infantry, there is no artillery (mountain, no road).
     
  2. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,507
    Location:
    Honolulu
    I find this to be pretty funny. This is from an SG I'm playing, 3CC AW PTW Monarch, and I've just gotten Mysticism (and 5 other techs) from the Great Library:



    How can Mystics invent Mysticism? Mysticism would have to come before Mystics, and thus would have to be invented by someone other than a mystic! :crazyeye:

    What's next? Will our Alchemists invent Alchemy? Will our Scholars invent Education? Will our Engineers Invent Engineering?

    And yes, I know that those 3 are impossible.
     
  3. btfx

    btfx Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    *laughs*

    That was funny, but you should have let someone else kill it....


    ...like the robots that invented robotics....
     
  4. Swiss_Mercenari

    Swiss_Mercenari Comedic Jihadist

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    When did you stop talking in Italics?
     
  5. Lord Emsworth

    Lord Emsworth Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    On a shipchain
    Why? The quoted portion in your post is in perfect italics. :confused:





    :lol: Actually it just got too annoying, so I ditched that quirk a few months ago.
     
  6. Theryman

    Theryman King

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio.
    I was playing a crowded map, with 31 civs on a Tiny map. In about 100 bc, I was looking through the score, and noticed Zululand's score was 10. Total. I was suprised- how can a civ alive till then have a score of only 10? I looked and looked for their cities, and eventually established an embassy in their capital to get a look at them.



    Looks like they will be a bit player. Note that they have horses and iron immediately next to them, but do not own them. Note also that there are 5 other capitals within two tiles, and a sixth just a little bit further out.
     
  7. MAS

    MAS Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,080
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Zimbabwe could easily reach size 3. Whats keeping them?
     
  8. dirtworm

    dirtworm Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    they may keep trying to make a settler...to try and grow...
     
  9. Theryman

    Theryman King

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio.
    I think they keep pop rushing, because they had a lot of units, but no settlers.
     
  10. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,507
    Location:
    Honolulu
    If they had a lot of units, they would capture some of those cities. ;)
     
  11. Dezzilisk

    Dezzilisk THIS GUY.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Location:
    NZL


    I knew I forgot something!!

    Silly AI :lol:

    EDIT: I'm speaking of course of the colony that isnt connected by any road
     
  12. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,507
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Chox no get it. :confused:
     
  13. Ansar

    Ansar Détente avec l'été

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,555
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY (soon)
    Dezzilisk - :rotfl:

    Silly AI!
     
  14. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,507
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Ah... I see now. Why don't they connect the other tin? :lol:
     
  15. Headbanger

    Headbanger Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    It probably was connected until a barb pillaged it.
     
  16. PaperBeetle

    PaperBeetle Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Location:
    London
    I think if you go over there and refresh your map of the area, you will find that it is connected (colonies get a free road remember). It would look similar if they built a town in the same place; your fogged map would not show the connection of the road that you already saw to the new town, even though of course such a connection exists.

    Edit: oops, this was an inglorious use of my 1000th post. :( I was saving it for some earthshattering revelation about Civ3 strategy that would overturn the whole way we think about the game!
     
  17. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,507
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Here's a couple of pics I have. All of them are from a game played on Quintillus' 31-civ Earth Map, if you're interested in knowing.

    Hail the Great Instigator, Baby (This is what he's saying, in case you can't see)! This message just sounds funny to me, especially when my advisor is angry!



    Uh... Aren't rivers supposed to allow me to grow to size 7 without an Aqueduct?



    Ever seen an AI in Feudalism?



    Declaring war on the Most Powerful Civ in the game...



    ...Is a very bad idea, especially if you have only one city they can easily attack!



    So this message a few turns later is no surprise:

     
  18. Taras Bulba

    Taras Bulba gone

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,442
    hahaha, those are some good ones

    actually, i have a few times... Dutch (i have no idea why) and Maya
     
  19. Dezzilisk

    Dezzilisk THIS GUY.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Location:
    NZL
    That view is refreshed, id just goten their world map off them and before i,d gotten that i couldnt see that area.
     
  20. PaperBeetle

    PaperBeetle Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Location:
    London
    Interesting. I'd still like to see the area under your direct line of sight, but refreshing your world map with the civ responsible should have done the trick; colonies give line of sight to their owners don't they? Mind you, note that the colony does not belong to the empire from which the road originates. That empire is turquoise, but the colony is dull green.
    But if it the colony truly isn't roaded, then it certainly is an interesting screenshot; not because the AI is silly, but because it shouldn't be possible. If a barb got onto that tile, the colony would be destroyed, even before they could think about pillaging the road.
     

Share This Page