1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

K-Mod: Far Beyond the Sword

Discussion in 'Civ 4 - K-Mod: Far Beyond the Sword' started by karadoc, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. devolution

    devolution Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    293
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    @Fippy
    Greetings Warrior Queen! :crazyeye:
    I remember lurking your thread where you explored (your gripes concerning) K-Mod a while back.

    Maybe you should try out @f1rpo 's glorious Advanced Civ ? I think that several of your complaints have been addressed. In particular, the AI is more "utilitarian" (as in less dice-rolling) when it comes to diplomacy and war declarations.

    Advanced Civ 0.95 was released last week:
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/advanced-civ.26111/
     
  2. f1rpo

    f1rpo plastics

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Germany
    I don't want to discuss other mods in the K-Mod forum, so in short regarding "Advanced Civ": Issues are addressed, but there are also numerous low-key changes that veteran players will notice and not necessarily welcome. E.g. partial builds start to decay after 8 turns, Workers can't be stolen, wonders that aren't queued don't generate fail gold, parts of the AI bonuses are turned into human penalties on Emperor and above - changes like that, only some of which can be disabled through XML. And, as the version number 0.95 suggests, kinks are still being ironed out. The highest two difficulty levels in particular haven't been tested much. I still think that AdvCiv could be of interest to Deity players, but those who really would like BULL/BAT with only a more competent AI -- it isn't that.
     
    gavenkoa likes this.
  3. Fippy

    Fippy Micro Junkie Queen

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,682
    Gender:
    Female
    Works, great ty very much!!! :banana:

    @devolution i will look there too :)
    I was a bit spoiled by other mods when playing k-mod, but especially with so much help around i think it can be really good.
     
  4. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
  5. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    Is BULL bundled with K-Mod?

    I see AutoSave.ini in 'My Games/Beyond The Sword/K-Mod/Settings' and it has interesting feature:

    * When checked, your player name is used for the saved game name along with the turn year.
    * Otherwise the name is a concatenation of 3-letter versions of Leader Name, Difficulty, Map Size, Map Type, Speed, Era, Year, Climate and Sea Level.
    * This feature requires the BUG DLL (BULL).

    This is great feature to maintain parallel games...
     
  6. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
  7. f1rpo

    f1rpo plastics

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Germany
    Not really; see this post of mine. The Python code for the AutoSave options is included in K-Mod, but not the DLL code. And the options have been removed from the BUG menu (that happens here).
    As far as I can tell, this option only applies to the on-game-start, game-end and exit saves, not to the regular start-of-turn autosaves. So I don't think it's that helpful for playing games in parallel.
     
  8. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    I found such info in BUG bundled CHM help file and looking into UI after I got BULL installed along with BUG.

    At least it is possible to trigger game save.

    My idea - to capture some stable prefix (based on user name for given play) and add some static info for sorting like turn number / in-game year and extra info - for early game number of cities, workers are good ones, recent wonders / wars (just_built_Pyramid, war_with_Bull, just_vassaled_Egypt) in the middle game, or recent tech.

    Sorting by alphabet should keep different games separate and within one group ordered by game progress (so year or turn after common prefix).

    I think about hotkey or menu button for UI box with "save" button and editing field with cursor in the middle (if you like to add extra info quickly) between static prefix + #turn and variable suffix with recent tech/wonder/war (generated automatically)
     
  9. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,520
    Location:
    israel
    bull made mp games not to work i think, kmod took the minimal from it i think,
    maim wrong.
     
  10. f1rpo

    f1rpo plastics

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Germany
    Right – there is
    SaveGame(CvString& szFilename, SaveGameTypes eType = SAVEGAME_NORMAL) = 0;
    declared in CvDLLEngineIFaceBase.h (implemented in the EXE) and the AutoSave mod exposes that to Python (via CyGame.cpp). So it seems that the idea with the stable/ sortable prefix could be implemented through changes to getSaveFileName (AutoSave.py). The only necessary DLL change would be to replace the CvEngine::AutoSave call in CvGame::doTurn with a Python call. For recent events, one could perhaps (in the DLL) search the Event Log for the most recent major event (MESSAGE_TYPE_MAJOR_EVENT).
    That also sounds feasible (quite a bit of work of course).

    Separate quicksave (Shift+F5) slots could probably also be implemented. There is no LoadGame(CvString& szFilename,...) function; so, to load some uniquely named quicksave file, one would first have to rename it (temporarily) to "QuickSave.CivBeyondSwordSave" and then call quickLoad.
     
  11. Serp

    Serp Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Topic: unitlist?

    Hi, first time playing Civ4 (played 5 and 6) and thought this mod might be best to start with.
    Currently I'm missing some kind of unitlist. I always disable the automatic unit-jump of the camera and want to cycle through my units myself. But I can't find any cycle button or unitlist to do that. In settings I see settings about the BUG mod which includes settings about an unitlist, but regardless of my settings there, I'm not able to see any unitlist.

    What am I missing?
     
  12. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,520
    Location:
    israel
    There should be cycle btns above the minimal, bug has an option for it.

    Also,
    I recommend playing advanced civ or civ reimagined or my dawn of the overlords.
    All of them are kmod based with vast improvements.
     
  13. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
  14. Serp

    Serp Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Yea I also saw them (except "civ reimagined"), but since they are quite new and not properly tested (especially in multiplayer), I did not choose them. My first priortiy is zero bugs (since my friends have a zero bug tolerance) and second priority is good AI. The AI from Civ5(even plus mods) and Civ 6 is horrible. And now I want to test out the AI for Civ4+mods.
    We usually play Coop against AI in multiplayer, that's why AI is important (at best an AI without too big advantages, like "one unit every turn" so it can kill you after few turns while you can only have few units even if units is all you produce)

    Not sure.. in Civ5 + 6 the "next turn" button is also a "next unit" button, where you can cycle through every unit without any command yet. Thank you for the shortcuts, "Enter" is the thing I was looking for :)

    But a unitlist would still be fine :) Where should I see the unitlist that is mentioned in BUG? Are there any screenshots somewhere?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  15. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,520
    Location:
    israel
    Hey serp,
    BTW I know your dlc from 5.

    Anyway,
    You are under a wrong impression.
    Adv civ, is multi-player hard core stable.
    I know, I played the published version my self.
    So does my doto mod.
    Reimagined is also np, but I haven't played it my self.

    AI,
    You will not find a better ai then in Adv civ.
    I guarantee that.
    As kmod is the best, Adv, improves it greatly.
    Reimagined uses kmod,, so no worries there.

    Further more, Adv, does not change game play, my mod slightly and re has its own cool mechanics.

    I never liked c5 or 6, with or without mods cause none of them had the killer ai kmod presented.

    So, I urge to have faith and play Adv civ (v 0.96 is due soon I know)
    V 0.95 is rock solid for mp and ai.
    Trust me, I'm active here since 2005.
     
    Serp likes this.
  16. f1rpo

    f1rpo plastics

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Germany
    If you don't want to rely on faith too much, then I think K-Mod is your best choice (or possibly Kek-Mod). You can always switch to a more recent mod if you find that the AI (or UI) doesn't quite meet your needs. The current K-Mod version has been out for more than a year, and I haven't seen any critical bug reported that would seriously disrupt a multiplayer game nor encountered one myself.
    Perhaps you mean the "Plot List" tab? That's only the list of units in a single plot; see the left yellow rectangle in the attached screenshot. BUG has buttons for cycling through cities (also highlighted in the screenshot) but none for units. Strange that no mod (to my knowledge) ever added such a button. I guess most players use automatic unit cycling, but, even then, manual cycling is quite frequently useful. The only unit list that I'm aware of is the one on the Military Advisor screen (F5). There's a BUG version of that screen ("Advisors" tab of the BUG menu), but I doubt that either version is useful for manual unit cycling.
     

    Attached Files:

    Serp and gavenkoa like this.
  17. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    It it the only place to see all units.

    BUG mod enhances grouping by different criteria.

    I use F5 to find auto / idle workers only...
     
    Serp likes this.
  18. VDNKh

    VDNKh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    So I had a pretty funny victory where my competitor, Netherlands, built the UN and caused me to win a diplo victory because of my population advantage and my close ally, Ethiopia, voting for me. Here I was getting ready for a huge war with them to raze their coastal cities just to slow them down long enough to get a science victory, but that works too.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Rawwwrr

    Rawwwrr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Is it possible to put this mod to work with the XXL World mod?
     
  20. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    If your question is as for game player - it isn't possible as Python/DLL mods are impossible to merge just by coping files.

    Is you are mod developer I don't know who they are difference and how hard is would be to merge them into single another mod.
     
    Rawwwrr likes this.

Share This Page