Knights

Artichoker

Emperor
With all the discussion going on about Trebuchets, War Elephants, and Riflemen, one unit we see less often in discussion is Knights.

What are you thoughts regarding using Knights in your own army? Of course the AI uses them all the time, but that's a different story.

Personally, I have never used them heavily in a game before, but that might just be because I never found the opportunity to use them in high numbers, in preference over other units.

Knights are very good but they suffer badly from the tech tree. If you're a lightbulber you will find yourself having Cuirassiers at about the same time as knights come into play.

They're pretty devastating if you follow the bottom path on slow speeds and war a lot. They frequently have the best odds, even attacking cities over CR maces!

But, I seldom use them. The problem is that getting them faster than cuirassers is a bit iffy if you shoot the lib path, and it's extremely unlikely you'll be attacking someone at anything but parity.

It's possible with extremely favorable things like a feudalism slingshot and bulbing machinery and guilds to get them in the early 100's AD, but then cuirassers from lib are only a couple 100 years later, and the requirements for getting the wonders and GPs are far less demanding.

So my feeling is that they're good units but their location on their tech tree limits their use vs alternates.

If you ignore the lib path, e.g. going for an early conquest they are just the ticket.

in my opinion, i would rather fight with maces. if they come out at 5xp, 2CR promotions are going to make them just as good as CII knights but they are a lot cheaper in terms of hammers and don't require moving through such a tricky area of the tech tree. they also have no real weakness if the stack has a couple of pikes, unlike knights which are very vulnerable to pikes, a unit that the AI loves to build.