1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Late Game CTDs

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by alireza1354, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. alireza1354

    alireza1354 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,039
    Hi there!

    I would like to ask the ROM team what they know about the late game CTD's and how far they are in fixing the problem.

    As for now, no one will be able to finish a ROM game because of these CTD's. Its a serious problem we all would like to see fixed.

    As for now, thank you very much for the Mod, this is the best mod EVER. Like some people say; it can just as well be regarded as CIV5 :)

    Keep up the good work!
     
  2. supermatt

    supermatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    I am on your side there alireza.

    Best mod ever!

    Maybe we could support you guys with some input. Just let us know what information you need (Map, #of Civs, Turn, Modular on/off,...)

    I am playing with ROM 2.2 incl. Rev and BUG including Kalimankus addon V1.1.
    I havnt changed the default modular settings. So revolution is off (I guess)
    Cant remember which map, but with around 32 Civs included.
    My Civ China
    Turn =? Year First CTD around 1890; Second CTD around 1908

    I overcame a late game CTD in my last game. After finishing off the French in late 19th century I had a CTD (right after ending that turn).
    So I reload an autosave from 2 turns before, dont finish off the French and I am able to continue playing,didnt vanish a Civ this time. But since there is 75% of all civs engaged in a war a that moment it is impossible to tell who hit who.
    But I killed Khan on my 6th move or so. So I dont know how many Civs have been killed in the meanwhile. However there are still lots around (Cant think of anybody else missing).

    Although I could enter the world builder, look who it could be (sieged City of a Civ with only one city left), then "move" the attacking army to heaven... If it does continue after these changes, maybe it could give a good hint for you guys.

    I dont have the savegame on me right now, but can check it later and post tonight.

    Also I would like to know if anybody has finished a ROM 2.2 game yet? What map, how many Civs, which Mods on/off.
    I have tried "only" this once (took me like a week or so).

    Greetz
    Matt
     
  3. gruffydd

    gruffydd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    I've managed to finish two games in 2.2 after playing through modern era. One was by space victory, the other by domination. Standard tectonic map script, RevDCM 1.1, all updated.

    Personally, I suspect it has to do with animations of new or altered civs. Generally speaking, people have noted that the smaller the map size and with Rev turned off (i.e., reducing number of possible civs at start of industrial era) there are fewer CTDs. I've had the start-of-turn CTD in Industrial, Modern, and Future eras. All are repeatable on re-load.

    With Rev turned on (which is just too fun for me to ignore... my favorite aspect of gameplay on the combined mod), I've not yet managed a CTD-free game on Large + maps.
     
  4. MrWhereItsAt

    MrWhereItsAt Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    I finished my first RoM game recently, happily. I'm not sure, but I suspect there may have been a significant change with BTS 3.17, because this was my first game with that patch and the first where I completed RoM. I reached near the end of the tech tree and won on cultural (because I couldn't be bothered when I saw that it would take 30 turns to win with the spaceship I'd just built :( ). I was playing with the Rev mod, but with stack attack disabled. I noticed with past versions of BTS/ROM that it was often during a stack attack that my CTDs would happen. A lot of it must be the memory management of cIV itself. Switching to WinXP allows me more time before the CTD than in Vista, and if I save and reload there must be some cache clearing, because a jerky scroll across the map becomes smooth again, and adding items to a build queue starts happening a lot faster.
     
  5. Nemesys

    Nemesys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Italy
    i'm with you guys,
    very frustrating not being able end a game...so far i have played two times and both CTD in early 20th century, running BtS 3.17 with RoM REV updated to last version, standard or large maps with "big and small" maps and 8/10 starting civs. All can I do is to try and post the savegames if someone is interested, now I am playing my third game with RoM and in a few turns I should reach the "critical" stage, I will let you know what happens this time...

    Let's hope a fix will reach us soon...

    Cheers
    Nem
     
  6. supermatt

    supermatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Ok, I have tried several things tolling around with the world builder.
    There are no Civs killed on my the turn of the CTD. I cant overcome this CTD. :rolleyes:,
    I am the most advanced Civ, The unit that is available as of the turn before the Crash is Mobile Artillery (researched logistics) - upgraded all siege weapons to this, so it is the first turn it is actually in the game.
    I have quite some espionage, but not enough to see all other civs, so I guess it could be a national unit as well.
    There does not seem to be a stack attack anywhere.
    For reference see the savegame.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. supermatt

    supermatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Ok I had the idea to make all nations my vassal in world builder. Therefore everybody would be at peace = no attacks. Still CTD

    I took a look at all the production being finished at the end of the turn.
    Here it is:
    China: Mobile Artillery, Modern Tank
    Saudi Arabia: Siege Quireme, Galley
    Alexander: Iron Frigate
    Boudica: ManOWar, Flyt, Cannon
    Egypt: Cavalry
    Spain: Artillery
    France: Longbowman
    Carthago: Caravel
    That green guy in south east Africa (Suppilsomething I think): Xebev
    Pacal: ManOWar

    Maybe this can help someone. :crazyeye:
     
  8. Mister Giggles

    Mister Giggles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Bah, I couldn't stop the crashes...I tried changing the animation used by the units, but...no. Something else...maybe the way they're created, I dunno.
     
  9. gruffydd

    gruffydd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Did you guys have any heavy barbarian activity or incursions in the games you're looking at? Some question of the late-game barbarian attacks or conquering a civ's city having some effect...
     
  10. alireza1354

    alireza1354 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,039
    Isnt there always barb activity in ROM when REVmod is active?
     
  11. gruffydd

    gruffydd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    I think some of the new Barb events are actually coded into RoM... RevDCM does change some of the gameplay around barbarians, but I think the appearance of invading armies, pirate activity, and so on in the industrial+ eras is from RoM, and certainly the CTDs are present in both RoM and RevDCM. I've played the mod extensively both with and without RevDCM and think the CTDs are from RoM (they seem just as likely and happen in similar circumstances with or without the addon).
     
  12. supermatt

    supermatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Well all I can say to Bavarians is that there are Pirates around.
    Havent seen a landbased Barbarian for at least 200 years, although in World builder I found a city in arctic russia.
     
  13. alireza1354

    alireza1354 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,039
    I guess the modders are on vacation?
     
  14. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Yes Zappara posted a thread that he would be away for the month of August.

    On these CTD's, I play RoM2.2 with solver's UOP0.19 patch only and I've yet to have a Any CTD. And all of you posting in this thread use the Add-ons. Seems to be a corelation here.

    Kalimachus is the main author/collator for the DCMREV add-on. Even on that he just took Dales and jdog(?)'s works and combined them. Then updated them for the Offcial 3.17 patch.

    Early on RoM had issues with Blue Marble, but I think that got resolved. I never used BM so I didn't have that problem either.

    Straight RoM2.2 I've completed multiple games. Almost all where Space Victories with an Occassional Domination win.

    I use XP Pro SP2 on a 5 yr old PIV 2.4ghz machine with 1.5 gig of DDR 400 P3200 ram and an Ati Radeon 9550 vid card with 256mb ram. So it's a low end comp.

    I hope you figure this out, cause your missing out on some great fun. :)

    JosEPh
     
  15. Mister Giggles

    Mister Giggles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Hmm, I'd like to say that's the cause of the problem, but I did do testing with just RoM before everything else was added into it, and I still encountered the crashes. You're one of the few people who have simply gotten lucky and don't have this problem. That, or you play on Standard or smaller maps (Which seem to lack the crashes for some reason...).

    Though, I am trying a run without Blue Marble...I sorta hope that isn't the cause since I love Blue Marble thiiiiis much.

    Edit: Nope, still crashes.
     
  16. alireza1354

    alireza1354 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,039
    RoM2.2 with solver's UOP0.19 patch?

    Whats UOP0.19 patch? Never heard of it.

    So u dont have the revolution mod included?

    Greetings!
     
  17. Nemesys

    Nemesys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi folks
    just a quick note to say that I'm still playing with arabia and just made it to reach and overcome 20th century without any crahes...don't know if it is just a case but I have followed suggestion posted by zappara to try to turn "stack attack" and "opportunity fire" components off the game and that worked fine, so far...
    I'll let you know if something happens in the mean time, just try to do same on your game and see if reliability improves!

    cheers
    nem
     
  18. alireza1354

    alireza1354 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,039
    How do I do that?
     
  19. gruffydd

    gruffydd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    If you have the RevDCM component, go into .../BTS/Mods/RiseOfMankind/Assets/XML/ and pull up globaldefinesalt.xml in a txt editor. You can turn various aspects of RevDCM on and off by altering that file... in the current downloadable form, stack attack, opp fire, and some other 'buggy' options of DCM are already turned off by default.

    Just a note... I've extensively tested the mod + various components, and had CTDs in almost every combo... the smaller the map you play on the less likely you are to have crashes (we believe this is because it reduces the # of civs and the possibility of having 'bad' civs in the late eras). Rev increases the likelihood that you'll have new/more civs by the industrial age, thereby increasing the likelihood of having a civ which causes late CTDs.

    RevDCM with the 1.2 patch is amazingly bug-free (thanks Kali!) other than stack attack (which is bugged in just plain ol DCM as well). To the person who was saying they hadn't had any CTDs yet... do you always play with same civ as player and same civs as AI? What size maps?
     
  20. Nemesys

    Nemesys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Italy
    go to RoM/assets/XML/GlobalDefinesAlt and set to 0 the following parameters:

    <DefineName>DCM_STACK_ATTACK</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>0</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
    <Define>
    <DefineName>DCM_OPP_FIRE</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>0</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>

    Hope it helps.
    Sorry to say that shortly after posting last message I got the same old CTD:mad::mad::mad:, this time it happened the turn after a revolution occurred in china, with MaoZeDong being Vassal of Asoka. the year is 1927, with 557 of 790 turns completed game percentage completion 70,51%. I was researching Quantum Physics but not going to breaktrough during this turn...
    I really don't know how to get rid of this damn bug...

    hope someone else hasmore luck,
    bye
    Nem
     

Share This Page