1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Low Res Version of Civ6? (Mac)

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by DanaLea, Dec 3, 2016.

  1. DanaLea

    DanaLea Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    378
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  2. whyidie

    whyidie Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,171
    Strategic view, which is in the images you posted, works fine on my 2014 air.
     
  3. DanaLea

    DanaLea Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    378
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Mine's a mid-2012 MacBook Pro.

    upload_2016-12-3_17-48-59.png
     
  4. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,232
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    A new iMac will come in early 2017 and yes, it should be able to play with high settings.

    Just be patient.
     
  5. GhostSalsa

    GhostSalsa Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Strategic view will (should) still work fine, as another said. I've been playing VI in strat view on mine with a half gig vid card, of course there are no unit models (just icons) but I never even realize half the time. Strat view is very pretty, some stuff (tile yields) is put in hard-to-see places but it's ok overall.

    But annoying because V always ran fine with medium settings, VI's world doesn't even look as good…
     
  6. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4,979
    Location:
    Lucerne
    Both your graphic cards should also allow playing in normal 3d mode on low settings, besides being not supported. I play on a Intel HD 4000.
     
  7. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,232
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    My early 2013 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Displat also has Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB.
     
  8. DanaLea

    DanaLea Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    378
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Yeah, about that... LOL

    Hubby finally gave me to okay to order a new iMac (been bugging him for months) and it'll be here next week. A 27", 4.0 ghz, 32 Ram with the better graphic card. Waiting another month or two would have been okay, but it's already ordered, so I'm good. :)
     
  9. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,232
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I hope all goes well with you and your husband when your iMac arrives.

    Me, I'm going to wait for early 2017 to snag a new iMac.
     
  10. DanaLea

    DanaLea Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    378
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    It arrived, and I've played the game. Thanks!
     

Share This Page