1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

MagisterModmod

Discussion in 'FfH2 Modmods, Scenarios, and Maps' started by MagisterCultuum, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. Tschuggi

    Tschuggi SNAFU

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Teutonia
    made a fresh install of ffh2 and it works perfect now. Thanks again!! So, up to work now. Will play it this night.

    Greez,

    Tschuggi
     
  2. Verdian

    Verdian King

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    654
    I am really glad you posted an update to your mod, MC. It is nice to be able to play a plain, canonical version of FFH, and still be surprised.

    I started a game as the Kuriotates and found some possible bugs I wanted to mention.

    1) The scouts for the Kuriotates no longer use the ferretman skin. Is that intentional?

    2) I started near the Bones of Archeron. Around turn 85, Archeron spawned his city somewhere, and bones disappeared. While it makes sense that he cannot exist without his skeleton, is this working correctly? Perhaps they should not be spawning at the start, or he should spawn on his skeleton unless he is within a players borders? I have another city near Abashi's bones. Will these disappear when the Sheaim summon her?

    3) I am having a strange culture glitch. This picture is from a new city with nothing in it:



    It is listing several buildings as providing cultural (I do not own the Summer Palace in any city), while it is still getting 2 cultural from nothing.

    edit: I did not realize that Cardith Lorda had his traits changed and is now creative. That explains the two culture, but not the buildings the city claims it has.

    I'll keep playing and see if anything else happens. Keep up the great work. And thanks for adding lamias. :lol:
     
  3. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,266
    Location:
    Kael's head
    The Kuriotates recon line now consists of UUs with the Musteval racial promotion, with their art dependent on their racial promotion instead of the civilization that owns them. (It did not seem right for captured recon units that were human, elven, or dwarven to suddenly turn half ferret.) I includes the scout UU in CIV4UnitInfos.xml, but they cannot be built as it seems I forgot to set the Kuriotates to have this as a UU in CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml. This has been fixed on my end and will be in the next release.

    The Bones of Acheron issue is working as intended. The bones of a dragon are always removed when the dragon is created. Acheron is the only dragon that can be built in a city though. The rest can only be spawned on the site of their bones by the Stir from Slumber Ritual, or resurrected on the site of their bones after the ritual is complete. (A dragon will leave its bones behind whenever it dies.) The ritual does not just create one dragon, but all of them (provided that an appropriate civ is present in the game). If Acheron is killed before Stir from Slumber, he will come back just like the other dragons when the ritual is completed.

    The Bones of Acheron has to be a unique feature, and as a unique feature will always be placed on the map with the All Unique Features option is turned on and often randomly placed when it is not. Come to think of it though, I could use python to remove it from the map at the start of any game where the No Acheron option is not selected. That might reduce some confusion, and prevent players from building a strategy around a source of fire mana that will likely disappear before it can be used. I think spawning him on the site of his bones and letting him wander around so early would be too much.


    It just makes sense for the leader who represents the sphere of Creation to have Creative as a trait. That is the source of your culture. I believe that the More Naval AI source code causes the city to list those culture generating buildings as suggestions of how to make the culture expand faster. It does not indicate that the city has all of them. The city mouseover will show the icons of all the buildings that the city actually has.
     
  4. Tholal

    Tholal Emperor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,676
    This is a 'feature' of BUG where it tries to show what buildings you could build to increase the output of whatever it is you're mousing over. I find the display cluttered and confusing (and you're not the first to also be confused by it). I meant to disable it for my latest release but didnt get to it. You can disable it by going into GlobalDefinesAlt.xml and changing all the entries for anything starting with BUG_BUILDING_ADDITIONAL to 0.
     
  5. SergiuSS

    SergiuSS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    can't manage to make a good instal here btw what was wrong whit the archive tipe files I like them more this installer is more trouble than it worth
    the source file "mods\fall from heaven 2\*"dose not exist....bla bla bla what exactly dose it search ?
     
  6. Tschuggi

    Tschuggi SNAFU

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Teutonia
    video for the white hand is missing, couldn't locate the file - brought me a direct ctd. I'll try to disable the videos and play again with the illians.
     
  7. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,266
    Location:
    Kael's head
    A lot of people in the thread plead strongly for installers, especially those who don't know much about modding themselves. I don't want to have to release the same thing two different ways. I'm not an expert on installers, but I believe that it should work properly so long as you have a clean install of Fall from Heaven 2.

    I always turn movies off, so I did not realize there would be an issue with missing videos for founding a religion until it was pointed out of March 20th. I'm assuming that you are using an old release, as in the March 21st version I set all the new religions to have movie files reusing those of The Council of Esus and The Order.)
     
  8. BvBPL

    BvBPL Pour Decision Maker

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,169
    Location:
    At the bar
    I'm playing my first game w/ your modmod now. I'm playing as the Elohim and I really like the dynamic you have for the monks and pilgrimage. A lot of the other modmods seem to make that aspect too fussy, but I think you've got a real good balance. The native spirit resonnounce of the monks seems powerful, but it's not so bad given they are no longer tolerant and that devouts don't have marksman.

    I do have a couple quick questions though.

    Should the game default to a wild mana option w/ pre-typed nodes?
    And should the game default to variable difficulty?
    I hit play now to start it, so I'm not sure if these are the standards or something happened.
    Is it possible to clear Brandeline's Well? I've tried and investigated it a few times but it sticks around as an explorable lair.
    I'm told I should be getting free specialists from reliquies and what not, but they don't show up on my specialist list. Is this right?

    Thanks!
     
  9. Diavolo Rosso

    Diavolo Rosso Lord Giggles

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    NY
    This mod has been really fun. Too fun. So fun that I've played 4 games today, would've been all the same game, but I keep getting the endless turn. Game freezes but the little globe keeps spinning. Tried on all different size maps too. Playing custom game, living world, no tech brokering, puppet states and revolutions. thoughts?

    o, and one more thing thats kind of funny. I like how civs that pick Esus don't show on the scoreboard as following that religion, but i don't know how practical it is. In their diplo screen the Esus icon shows in the top left corner. Still if ur 200 turns in and the guy doesnt have a religion ur already suspicious of him following esus.
     
  10. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,266
    Location:
    Kael's head
    @ BvBPL:
    There is not wild mana option. The typed mana should always appear on the map and be slightly more common than raw mana.

    I may have set the variable difficulty as default before I planned to release the mod, and forgotten about it when I released an altered version of the game options file in order to make the option to remove Children of The One visible. I'll check and probably change it before the next release.

    In my modmod none of the epic lairs should ever be cleared by exploration.

    @Diavolo Rosso:
    When you say the game freezes, do you mean that the game becomes completely unresponsive or that you have to indefinitely continue Waiting for Other Civilizations?

    I've had some WOC errors with my mod too, but I'm not sure it is significantly more common with than with normal FfH2 or Tholal's More Naval AI.

    Since the WOC issue pertains to AI behavior, the first place I would check when you have the prroblem is C:\Users\[insert user name here]\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Logs\BBAI.log.

    If it is a complete freeze, I'd start by checking PythonErr.log, then xml.log, then PythonDbg.log. There is always a chance that the problem is in Tholal's CvGameCoreDLL.dll though.


    I don't have anything to do with where the Council of Esus is shown or not shown. Kael never figured out how to hide it in general. (Xienwolf once claimed it would not be very hard, but had no interest in actually coding it.)
     
  11. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,852
    Location:
    France
    well, I'll put some comments on the evolution of my elohim civ (still my first game with your mod).
    however, as I play with the march 4th version, many things may not be recent bugs.

    On the "explore lair is a spell"
    if I put 3 units on a lair, each can cast "explore lair". well that is fun, and maybe design... a bigger party having maybe a bigger chance. but I had to speak about it.
    for exploring "epic lair".. please put at least a 5-10 turns of "un explorable"... because I've done alot of xp farming, GP busting in only 1 lair.

    I've not attained it yet but I finaly realized that the Counselor units cannot attack.. they are just overlarge defensors... they are not so interesting... what is the interest of a 30+ strength unit that can't attack :(; maybe a 0.5 attack :strength:, 1 defense :strength: spirit affinity? (but that would require RifE's affinity codes)

    Or maybe give them some special spells/abilties? or chanelling II and/or III ? so they can improve the promotions gained from pilgrimage into archamage level (but cannot learn if they haven't done the pilgrimage..)

    On pilgrimages :
    When the features are out of your boundaries... it is a very interesting mechanism (only the adventurous get the promotion) (even if I still stay with my previous observation on the "fun" of those promotions).
    but for the feature that are INSIDE your boundaries.. it tends to lead to tedious micromanaging to make all your devout/monks go to each or at least some of the features... And you CAN do it as the travel is safe inside your borders.

    Is see 2 possible solutions :
    -on creation/on getting the promotion, one get all the "pilgrimed" promotions/spells of all the unique features in your borders (that are available for the unit given it's religion)

    -create a "in-country pilgrimage" spell: 5 turns to cast, gives the "pilgrimed" promotions/spells of all the unique features in your borders (that are available for the unit given it's religion)
    Create a "vassals-country pilgrimage" spell: 10 turns to cast, gives the "pilgrimed" promotions/spells of all the unique features in your vassal's lands.
    A way to mitigate it : the spells can only be cast on a unique feature site, in your borders (so the unit does not profite from the protection of the city during the spell).

    I don't know if it is possible, but that would be less tedious.


    On monks: quite strong with all the spirit mana I could get my hands on (8)... that's fun.
    However upgrading monks to anything (paladin...Etc) is a no-go as by upgrading they lose any spirit affinity.. and thus become less strong (only counselor might be fun, but they can't attack). Well at least I expect that when I will be able to build paladins I'll have 2-4 more spirit mana nodes... and thus 14-16 :strength: monks, that are thus stronger than paladins/eidolons.
     
  12. BvBPL

    BvBPL Pour Decision Maker

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,169
    Location:
    At the bar
    Yeah, starting next to the Well (or the Pyre) means a ton of GPs if the lairs never close.

    If your unlimited units are stronger than your national ones, why bother upgrading them? Monks to Paladins actually do serve a purpose though because the spirit affinity for monks boosts their holy damage, not their physical strength. Against the angels, your super-monks will be useless.

    Having unlimited rites of oghama is a little weird. The AI loves building that. Sometimes the Khazad / Angel team would build it twice in one turn.

    *Bug report: so I built a dragon fanatic at the Dragon Cult's holy cite. When completed, tons of dragon fanatic started spilling out, but I couldn't move any of them or use them. Some kind of weird bug.
     
  13. A Moon

    A Moon The "A" is silent

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    Me.
    I'm getting a repeatable CtD at the end of this turn. Deleting the Balseparph city of Coombe View seems to prevent it, if that helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,266
    Location:
    Kael's head
    @Calavente:
    I could set it up so that you could not explore an epic lair while another unit is in the middle of delayed casting the same spell.

    I could use pPlot.setPythonActive(False) and if pPlot.isPythonActive(): to make epic lairs eventually unexplorable. Making them eventually become explorable again after a while would be more tricky, probably requiring dummy versions of the improvements that upgrade to the real ones over time.

    Counselors are quite powerful units, even if they are defensive only. They have all levels of Spirit magic. Spirit 3 allows the Assuage spell, which can deal lethal damage to Chaos Marauders, Irae, and even the Avatar of Wrath. Spirit 3 also allows you to sacrifice the unit to end all your wars.

    I have no intention of compiling my own DLL any time soon, as would be required were I to merge the various affinity types of RIFE with More Naval AI.


    On my computer I just changed it so that when a unit with the Pilgrim promotion is created it automatically gets the promotions that it would from pilgrimages to all sites within its owner's borders. I don't think there is any simple way to apply this whenever a unit gains the promotions too though, so it really just effects Devouts.


    @BvBPL:
    Dragon Fanatics start with the Rebellious promotion if you are not Kuriotates, Sheaim, or the owner of a dragon. Not being able to control them is normal.

    Having tons of them pour out seems quite odd.

    @A Moon:
    Releasing the .log files would probably help more. Since these are overwritten at the start of every game, launching your saved game does not help me figure out if anything was going wrong prior to when the game was saved.


    Still, the logs obviously show that there is an issue in the Revolutions code.

    PytgonErr.log:
    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "BugEventManager", line 361, in _handleDefaultEvent
      File "Revolution", line 638, in onEndPlayerTurn
      File "Revolution", line 6394, in launchRevolution
      File "Revolution", line 7058, in spawnRevolutionaries
    RuntimeError: unidentifiable C++ exception
    
    PythonDbg.log:
    Code:
    PY:saveDesc:C:\Users\Magister\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Saves\WorldBuilder\WBQuickSave, curDir:C:\Program Files (x86)\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword
    WBSave done
    
    08:34:23 DEBUG: updatePlotListButtons_Orig - column 0, offset 225
    08:34:23 DEBUG: BugOptions - writing INI file 'Autolog.ini'
    load_module encodings.ascii
    
    08:34:25 DEBUG: updatePlotListButtons_Orig - column 0, offset 225
    08:34:25 DEBUG: updatePlotListButtons_Orig - iCount(225), iSkipped(0)
    08:34:25 DEBUG: Timer - scores took 20 ms
    08:34:25 DEBUG: Timer - scores took 25 ms
    08:34:46 DEBUG: BugData - returning open table root.SpyUtil
    08:34:46 DEBUG: BugData - new data for root.SpyUtil: {'turn': 346, 'version': 1, 'values': {0: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 1: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 2: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 3: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 4: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 5: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0]}}
    08:34:46 DEBUG: SpyUtil - stored: {'turn': 346, 'version': 1, 'values': {0: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 1: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 2: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 3: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 4: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], 5: [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0]}}
    PY:  Loading revolution data
    PY:  Revolt - Found launchable revolt spawn data for player 1, starting spawn against player 4 idx 1
    PY:  Revolt - Spawning revolutionaries for 2 cities in Balseraphs
    PY:  Revolt - Cities in revolt: Coombe View, Idris, 
    PY:  Revolt - The Svartalfar revolutionaries join in the war against the Balseraphs!
    PY:  Revolt - Spawning Svartalfar revolutionaries!!!
    PY:  Revolt - In Coombe View, with rev idx 1146 (30 local)
    PY:Rebel:  Can build Freak
    PY:Rebel:  Can build Warrior
    PY:Rebel:  Owner has 3 Archer
    PY:Revolt -  Comp has 13 Freak (count)
    PY:Revolt -  Comp has 13 Freak (att)
    WARNING: Civ types 2 and 21 have no unit of class type 110
    
    WARNING: Civ types 2 and 21 have no unit of class type 111
    
    WARNING: Civ types 2 and 21 have no unit of class type 132
    
    WARNING: Civ types 2 and 21 have no unit of class type 243
    
    WARNING: Civ types 2 and 21 have no unit of class type 244
    
    PY:Revolt - Best defender set to Freak
    PY:Revolt - Best counter unit set to Freak
    PY:Revolt - Best attack set to Freak
    PY:  Revolt - Found 7 plots out of 7 checked
    PY:  Revolt - Repeat revolution, increasing enlistment
    PY:  Revolt - Population modifier: 0.569 on eff pop 6.03 (6)
    PY:  Revolt - New method from pop: 1.72, from troops: 0.75, total: 2
    PY:  Revolt - Revised enlistment: 2, num defenders nearby: 1
    PY:  Revolt - Owner keeps control of Coombe View (64,38), revs spawning at 64,39
    PY:  Revolt - City occupation timer set to 4
    PY:  Revolt - Spawning 2 units for city of size 6
    08:34:46 TRACE: Error in EndPlayerTurn event handler <bound method Revolution.onEndPlayerTurn of <Revolution.Revolution instance at 0x3F7F71C0>>
    08:34:46 TRACE: unidentifiable C++ exception
    
    I'm not entirely sure what is going on, but my guess is that a revolution taking place just outside of Coombe View is attempting to generate rebel units of a unitclass to which the rebel civ does not have access.

    I don't believe I did anything to change this code myself, so perhaps Tholal might be of more help fixing it. It could be related to the error that Aline reported in the More Naval AI thread two days ago. I just shared the logs with Tholal now to see if he can figure it out.
     
  15. Diavolo Rosso

    Diavolo Rosso Lord Giggles

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    NY
    it becomes completely unresponsive and task manager labels it as Not Responding, though the globe keeps spinning.

    I certainly would if I knew what I was doing. I'd like to, but I don't even know what I'd be looking for. If you point me in the right direction to a handy tutorial so I will understand what I'm looking at, then I'll def give it a shot.
     
  16. xalien

    xalien Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    512
    "An error occurred while trying to read the source file:
    The source file "\Mods\Fall From Heaven 2\*" does not exist."

    I hate installers. It doesn't even check where the game is installed and suggests putting the mod in c:\mods\. Probably thats why it can't find the source files.

    I managed to get it going by copying FFH2 contents to the modmod folder and then reinstalling it again.

    Now the problem. My scout goes into "skip turn" mode all the time and there's no button to wake it up, you can move it but it goes to sleep again. Movement orders can't be canceled. It started after it got enraged from exploring the lair and didn't went under AI control (probably because scouts can't attack), then it lost this promo after being attacked by wolf and I got this problem.
     
  17. BvBPL

    BvBPL Pour Decision Maker

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,169
    Location:
    At the bar
    I'm getting an end of turn hang. Click the end turn button and the globe just keeps spinning around w/ no end.

    Regarding this, I seem to recall Tholal having a problem with AoE spells hitting the corner of the map; this would cause globe hand errors. I don't know if you added any new AoE spells, but this could be a reason.

    Also, my cities seem to randomly revolt for two turns. This has been happening since I switched to Sacrifice the Weak and it also appears to be happening to the Clan, which is also a Veil civ. Is this an expected behavior with this civic, or maybe something to do with the Cult of the Dragon? I don't appear to receive any message when this occurs. If it is the Cult of the Dragon, I might suggest some way to counteract this other than inquisition, which is both available relatively late and removes non-state religions that someone might reasonably want to keep around in the city.
     
  18. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,852
    Location:
    France
    @MagisterCultuum.

    Thanks for your answers.

    I didn't see the bit about having spirit III on the civopedia (stoopid of me)
    I understand completly the diffculty /boringness of having the compile a dLL with rife's affinity. no issue there.

    could you add in the "official files" the bit about getting all promotions from you own pilgrimage's sites on creation of the devout ? thanks beforehand, even if I won't play elohim in my next game.

    I really like your mod, so please don't see my comments as rebukes (even if it may seems so; I just read what I wrote and seen how it sounds... appologies).

    @BvBPL : nice remark on my monks being useless against angels... I'll have to found the Portal so it doesn't go to the other teams :D

    tchuss.
     
  19. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,668
    Location:
    US of A
    Why does the difficulty level change? I started on the second lowest difficulty just to learn the game and now it's on diety and i'm 14 techs behind. :dunno:
     
  20. BvBPL

    BvBPL Pour Decision Maker

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,169
    Location:
    At the bar
    Cutlass, I think MM has it so that the floating difficulty option is enabled by default when you hit "play now." I think he said he'd correct that in a later release. Choosing a custom game should enable you to turn that off.
     

Share This Page