1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Massive slowdown mid-late game

Discussion in 'Old World' started by Stringer1313, Nov 17, 2020.

  1. Tiger Genocide

    Tiger Genocide Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    357
    Gender:
    Male
    It's not as cut and dry as 3GHz vs 4GHz when it comes to measuring CPUs. There are things like core counts, pipelines, cache speed, etc. etc.

    Look at it this way: You have a AMD FX6000 series CPU. They recommend that you have at least a FX8000 series CPU or something else equivalent or better (such as a 4thGeneration Intel i5 or i7 or any AMD Ryzen etc)
     
  2. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,042
    If you're having performance issues, and want to make sure you're doing what you can, go into options graphics settings. I would advise firstly trying FOW Quality on lowest. That controls the clouds on the edges quality. Also try cutting frame rate down.

    Otherwise you have the predetermined Graphics Presets which you can play around with.

    Note: we do know there is more to optimise, and it's an ongoing process. Optimisation has come a long way, but there is still further to go.


    upload_2021-2-18_16-18-22.png
     
    Tiger Genocide likes this.
  3. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,108
    Thx so much for taking the time to jump in. I'll try this out, and it's great to hear that it's still being worked on.
     
  4. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,108
    Oh also FWIW. The yellow text message I get every time i load a game in the loading screen says:

    Warning: Replay: discarded corrupt data
    Warning: Over 10000 pool allocations for TenCrowns.GameCore.Text.TextVariable.
    There might be a resource leak.
     
  5. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,042
    Yes, we're very much aware of that message coming up. It is in relation to the amount of assets we have in the game. We're actually hitting the maximum that Unity can handle in one asset bundle. We're working on solutions for this, but it does take some time to move things around in asset bundles and making sure it doesn't break anything when we do it.

    Believe me, I've seen it all. Even pink box rivers. :p

    upload_2021-2-19_17-0-23.png
     
  6. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,108
    Looks like a new scenario: Old World: Aliens Invade
     

Share This Page