1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Master of Orion 2 unofficial patch

Discussion in 'Other Civ-Related Games' started by Rocco.40, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    New mod "Long War" released!
    This mod will make MOO2 games much longer. Capturing a planet requires better planning now and players cannot simply be rushed anymore.

    Features:
    • Research is much slower and defenses are a lot stronger.
    • Some techs have been regrouped.
    • Many items have been adjusted for better use.
    • Races have been redesigned to be more interesting and to match their nature better.
    • Because technologies are harder to acquire, Antarans and space monster can be really dangerous now and losing a few colonies is not something rare.
    • To avoid ruining long games, the council vote has been postponed for a long time, only the first meeting may happen during a normal game.
    • The Atmospheric Renewer can clean up toxic planets and make them terraformable now.
    • Many tweaks and adjustments.
    This mod can work well with other AI mods, especially AI ship design mods.
     

    Attached Files:

    • LW.zip
      File size:
      97.7 KB
      Views:
      11
  2. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time

    Great job! I am very interested in modding with your new tool.
     
  3. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm glad you like it! Let me know if you encounter any problems.
     
  4. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    @Ponkyo Will the new version still break the launcher with orion2.cfg?
     
  5. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    NEW MOD: Expanded Pick Hacking



    eph1.zip
    33.33 KB
    Unzip anywhere in mods directory, read the readme(duh), and play!

    Comes with own map
     
  6. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    No, unless you choose to do so from the settings.
     
  7. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    Okay, so with the alt launcher EVERY time i try to launch it keeps saying "the system cannot find the file specified"
    Why is that?
     
  8. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    A small bug. You must have updated DosBox or changed its location and the new path was not updated. Nice find!
    You should get the latest version, it has been fixed.
     
  9. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    Are you saying that DOSBox should be in the moo2 folder?
     
  10. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    I tried that and it doesnt work.
     
  11. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    No, you need to get the latest O2M version, it's 2.12 now. It's on page 19 of this thread, don't have a site for it yet.
     
  12. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    Will do!:clap:
     
  13. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    Good! It now gives me an option to launch from DOSBox, with no crashes. I am very glad you created a new O2M.cfg!
    Even more glad about working with the modding tool, as you can see from my eph mod, it has already been tested!
     
  14. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Don't forget you can setup a background picture from Settings, O2M is a lot more fun that way!
     
    AdmiralLoknar likes this.
  15. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    I love the tech and race options in the modding tool.
    Few Suggestions for future versions:
    1- In Free Edit mode, the parameters are now disorganized for some reason. I think they are alphabetically, but I like the organization from 1.4 better, because it keeps the lbx, mod header, mapgen and all that together, making editing convenient.

    2- For the launcher, unlike the other moo2 launcher, o2m doesn't support stuff like auto-lock mouse, or switches like /skip intro. You also cannot choose the size or the resolution, because it shares the same DOSBox.conf file. For me, that isn't much of a problem because i use o2m mainly for dev and modding, but just a small issue to be aware of.
     
  16. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    I'd also like to suggest an option called that allows you to decide if you only want to put the parameters that you CHANGED into the CFG file. For example, in most of Rocco's mods he only puts the parameters he changed, as to save space and make organizing easier. Thanks!
     
  17. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    There's a Sort button in the lower-left corner in Free Edit, maybe you forgot about it.
    Most of that can be changed from the DOSBox configuration, you can quickly edit it from the Launcher.
    You can use templates for that when starting a new mod. Or you can create a new empty mod and add only stuff that you need with the Insert Script button, this way you can create many small mods that can be combined together in the Launcher.
     
  18. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
  19. PvtHudson

    PvtHudson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Hello! Don't know if this Unofficial Patch development is still continuing, or I'm completely missed the train, but nonetheless.
    Late-game micromanagement would be substantially eased for me, if colony list showed leftmost column (planet name, conditions, etc) in blue for fully populated colonies, so that I can see at a glance which colonies need to shed pop somewhere to continue growth.
    Another micro gripe is to reshuffle newly grown pop to another job, almost always from farmers and workers to scientists. Can the new_farmer_food_threshold parameter be supplemented with new_worker_prod_threshold?
     
  20. AdmiralLoknar

    AdmiralLoknar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    @Ponkyo Just to let you know, version 1.50.17 came out today so please do update O2M accordingly
     

Share This Page