1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mercenaries

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by JFD, Sep 8, 2015.

  1. hokath

    hokath King

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    London
    Another one,
    TXT_KEY_JFD_UNIT_GREAT_SCOUT instead of Great Scout for the Shepherds
     
  2. ldvhl

    ldvhl ніщо

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,182
    Another mercenary company suggestion: Belltower from Deus Ex: Human Revolution.
     
  3. Kesler

    Kesler Master Kekkler

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    The Imperial Puppet of Canada
    We have a lot of late game merc groups and references, but do we have anything for earlier? Or do we simply prefer for the referential ones to be end game? :p
     
  4. MasterEcabob

    MasterEcabob Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    How about the Unsullied from Game of Thrones for a Pikemen merc group. Give them march or a defense when fortifying boost to represent how tough they are.

    Also, I have to second the issue about the instaheal promotion with CBP. Any idea why that is showing up with this mod?
     
  5. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,129
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Quick fix to the Insta-Heal promo. This was actually an obsolete method of dealing with Mercs. not earning promotions (yet needing to choose one when the time came to level), before I realized I could simply negate their XP gain entirely. Somehow, it became available to regulars units. Regardless, its unneeded whatsoever now.
     
  6. zwei833

    zwei833 HRE Mercenary

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    Guangzhou
    It is unnecessary to download this if I don't use CBP, right?
     
  7. Hypereon

    Hypereon He was a Consul of Rome!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Hmm, it seems after latest version I'm getting the Mercenary Contractors completely randomly...
    The units are of correct era in the game, but like, I'm getting Mitsubishi Samurai and Amsaig Tanks, Hashashin Cavalry and etc... :confused:

    And after loading a save, my enemy got 3 Foreign legions in the Classical era - what a task to kill! (but I'm not sure it was due to this)
     
  8. zwei833

    zwei833 HRE Mercenary

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    Guangzhou
    They are extradimensional mercenaries from another timeline or the parallel worlds!:crazyeye::crazyeye:

    That's cool! :clap::clap::clap: Why not buy a team of mercenary Panzer to kill them:crazyeye:
     
  9. TheErwO_o

    TheErwO_o Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    I am running into a problem when activating this mod:

    While using CBP (EUI) and Mercenaries, the Currency Technology disappears from the Tech Tree.

    However, Currency is still mentioned in the Civilopedia, while Trading Posts and Caravansary still require the tech.

    I did set JFD_MERCENARIES_COMMUNITY_BALANCE_PATCH to 1.
     
  10. Senteliks

    Senteliks Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Serbia
    Same problem as The ErW , unless it's intentionally disabled.

    Spoiler :
     
  11. AxGrinder

    AxGrinder Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    I was able to get Currency to appear by moving its GridY from '5' to '7'. I suspect this is a CBP-specific-need, but it was a pretty simple change to get Currency not to be overlapped.

    Another CBP-specific conflict, perhaps, the TECH_HORSEBACK_RIDING, is this intended to be linked to Animal Husbandry (I would think), Agriculture, or none of the above? I tied it to Animal Husbandry, but in CBP, this is now labeled as 'Trade.' Tech may be being used at cross-purposes.

    Last, I've tried thus far has TECH_JFD_MERCENARIES appearing. Its Unit and Building appear on Iron Working and Construction as per above. The tech is supposed to have a pre-req of Currency, and Trapping is a pre-req of it?. I feel like I'm missing something major here.
     
  12. MasterEcabob

    MasterEcabob Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Hey, is there any way you could give mercs a negative promotion if the units start to die? Like, if you buy five spearmen mercs, and you get three of them killed, the other two would loose morale and fight less effectively or cost more to keep. I always think of mercenaries as fighting for the profitable side of the conflict, and typically switching sides when the war goes against them. Slaves would be immune to this, of course.
     
  13. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    So... Can I be Goliath? Also can we get kerrigan as a mercenary? I guess Slaganz(from his most modelicious modjesty's Germans) would fit him perfectly.
     
  14. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,129
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Minor bugfixing update to Mercenaries:

    • Minor code-fixing.
    • Fixed an issue where untaken Contracts were being reset on game load.
    • Fixed issue with CBP compatility.

    I'm intentionally not making content updates to Mercs., Piety, CulDiv, or ExCE, as I want to keep focused on my civs for a bit, but I do still intend on adding new Contracts (including for the Varangians, Black Riders, etc.) in the future.
     
  15. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    I'm getting a CTD at times with that mod... My game would crash on "configuring mod data" when enabling the mod. The weird part is, that it doesn't happen all the time. Only after I update the CP, and it only started after Gazebo added the downloader.
     
  16. Fedatur

    Fedatur Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Russia
    Seems that interaction with ExCE is not yet ready but I found intresting bug that allowed me to hire tribal units. So when I tried this mod several times I noticed that same contracts sometimes give different units like unique one (I guess it was intended so). I was able to hire Ninjas instead of Shepherds I think, even without tribe that give Ninjas. Funny thing that it worked well, right until I saved game and quit. When I returned to the game all my Ninjas turned into spearmans.
     
  17. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    I get the feeling that's a bug with ExCE rather than Mercs.
     
  18. Fedatur

    Fedatur Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Russia
    I decided to test Mercs. with Terracotta Army wonder. So I opened contract with Ten Thousand (4x Spearmans) and Bessi Warband (1x Battering Ram). I played for Anishinaabe so normaly I won't have Battering Rams. After I built Terracotta Army I got 1 Spearman (instead of 4 spearmans) and 1 Battering Ram that didn't disappeared after contract ended (so they are not mercs.) I don't say there is any problem just intresting how you can using Terracotta Army have UU that you normaly won't have.
     
  19. Ryan_Blackarrow

    Ryan_Blackarrow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    First of all, thanks for an awesome mod. But I'm facing some trouble using it. In case of gameplay it works correctly but when I go to the tech tree, the tech at I'm currently researching as well as available techs are not highlighted, they all look the same. Moreover, the items that are unlocked with the tech are not displayed. Did someone have the same problem and could provide a solution? Thank you very much.
     
  20. SULOMON

    SULOMON Mod Civs Best Civs.

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    United States of Murica
    Terracotta Army gives 1 of each unit you have. It doesn't double your units.
     

Share This Page