1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mercenaries

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by JFD, Sep 8, 2015.

  1. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,121
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
  2. wgeurts

    wgeurts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks, I may sound like an echo here but this mod is truly amazing.
     
  3. Kesler

    Kesler Master Kekkler

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    The Imperial Puppet of Canada
    Do you still try to make everything compatible with Vanilla, or just G&K?
     
  4. wolverine2112

    wolverine2112 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    The difference might be that im using the cbp eui compatibility patch??? Just changing the setting in merc for cbp doesn't work. Ive tried differet things and settings. Most of the time I get the writing tech and I cant do anything with merc.
     
  5. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,121
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Neither. It's a headache enough trying to keep my mods compatible with BNW (especially my civs!) and not dependent on the CP DLL, as well as with other mods, let alone with vanilla and G&K.

    I'm going to infer that you're having some sort of problem with CBP and Mercenaries? If you already posted about it, I apologize, but I didn't remember/didn't see it. But I did look into it and indeed there was a problem. Fixed now.

    Minor update to Mercenaries (but important for the eventual Piety update):
    • Fixed an issue where the Varangian Guard and Black Rider would be disabled if the Privateer changes were also disabled.
    • Re-named the Mercenary Contracts Overview to just Contracts Overview, as MCO did fit in the dropdown when not using EUI.
    • Added support for Piety costing Contracts (in preparation for the change-over in Piety) - they'll still cost Faith until Piety is updated, however.
    • Added Company of Merchant Adventurers contract as a mid-game Recon contract (mainly for use with ExCE or EE)
    • Fixed an issue where the De Meuron contract was not working.
    • Fixed an issue with CBP compatibility.
    • Fixed an issue where extending or breaking Contracts showed as costing Gold even when they cost Faith/Piety.
     
  6. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,123
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    Yeah. Another bug(with the previous version): if I remove the mercenary contracts tech, I am unable to get the contracts after researching currency. It says "mercenary contracts will become available once you research currency" when I open the contract overview.
     
  7. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,121
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
  8. killmeplease

    killmeplease Mk Z on Steam

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Samara
    Information about current contracts has disappeared (save attached)
    there are also another 2 mods enabled, "religious settlements change" and "new specialists", dont think its because of those - minor mods.

    mercs seem overpowered.. too little maintenance i think. maybe prepayment should be less but per turn much more.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,121
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
  10. killmeplease

    killmeplease Mk Z on Steam

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Samara
    it worked for me too, i played 2 games, in the 1st all was ok but in the 2nd game current contracts info disappeared, dont know when exactly, maybe it didnt work from start or maybe only after something.
     
  11. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,121
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
  12. killmeplease

    killmeplease Mk Z on Steam

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Samara
    no log, sorry
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,123
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    I can't see the contracts I take.... Which means I can't extend them, which is *kinda* annoying.

    Also, I can get contracts before I researched the appropriate techs sometimes.... And I think they're a bit too cheap. Trebuchet with +1 range that costs less then a regular one? OP. Very OP.
     
  14. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,121
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    I've never had issues with the current contracts tab, so I dunno what to tell you (or, I know what to tell you, Natan, but you'll never listen).

    You tell me one thing, Jan tells me another. Natan, you are no Sith Lord, so I will not heed your cries of OP.
     
  15. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,123
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    Did Jan use trebuchets with +1 range before even getting to physics?
     
  16. janboruta

    janboruta Artistriarch

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Tarnów, Poland
    No, because before the current mod update I couldn't afford anything beyond the Classical Era :p Besides, I do not care that much for balance, I care for flavor and fun.

    Plus, it's only one unit in your whole army - and the contract ends at some point (unless you pay and pay for it, and that gold could be used to buy better units rather than stick to something obsolete).
     
  17. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,121
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
  18. janboruta

    janboruta Artistriarch

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Tarnów, Poland
    Indeed - from what I saw, the AI likes to take the contracts very much, and I had a few [AFRAID] moments when they bought some powerful units. :sad:
     
  19. Tarmont

    Tarmont Empress

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Brazil
    OOh I should play with this mod more often, that must be fun to play against.

    I keep having this idea on and off about making a mod that spawns units of balanced composition for the AI when they declare war, specially in the endgame. Oh god why won't they just build artillery and battleships :mad:
     
  20. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,121
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Do you use the CP DLL? Whilst running an AI-only game of the Enlightenment civs, Joseph II sailed to Chile and captured the capital of Two Sicilies. He was based in the Urals, and used Naval Units entirely, no less! I dunno why he did it, but it sure was impressive :D
     

Share This Page