1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Merging Better AI with BUG 3.5

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Better AI' started by Dresden, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. Fuyu

    Fuyu Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Austria
    I certainly did not forget why I starting doing this in the first place, so don't worry.
    All I want is better AI with nicer interface. And believe me, I'll never touch any of that python code, ever, so BUG is safe from me.
    The changes I make I deem to be both well inside the definition of improving the AI (I admit, the xml changes are a stretch, but you tell me how to do it better) AND easily reversible if someone doesn't like it, or if jdog writes something better.
     
  2. MadmanAtW

    MadmanAtW Knight

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    San Leandro, CA
    *salutes*
     
  3. ecc

    ecc Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    136
    Thanks for the work of putting BBAI and BUG/BULL. To be sure, which directory should this be put into? I am hearing some people say that the My documents/.../Mods is right where others say that the Program Files/.../Mods is the best folder for less problems in game.
     
  4. Fuyu

    Fuyu Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Austria
    As long as civ has write access to the folder I doubt it matters that much. Program files folder would be the first choice for me (unless OS is win6.x) though.
     
  5. Elkad

    Elkad Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Fuyu, is the default to repeat-build units part of your merge? (I haven't checked the latest version of BetterAI)

    I could do without that feature.
     
  6. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    It's part of BULL. You'll probably have to disable it in GlobalDefinesAlt.xml. There are two settings, so search for MILITARY and you'll see both. Set them to 0 to disable the feature.
     
  7. Fuyu

    Fuyu Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Austria
    The feature is part of BULL but I found this feature so annoying I didn't just turn it off for myself but also included the settings file (Usersettings\BUG City Screen.ini with "Production Popup Train Military Units Forever = False") in the package that turns it off by default. I hope.
     
  8. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Only if you have the latest BUG installed, yes. BULL will use BUG to get options, and failing that it falls back on the XML. If you have BUG, though, the better solution is to change the default value in "Config/BUG City Screens.xml" (if that's where it is). That way if they delete the INI files it gets reset to False.

    I do recommend giving it a shot, however. I added it because once I progress an era or two in a game I got sick of clicking a unit in the popup, selecting the city, and ALT + clicking the same unit. I almost always produce units forever from the Renaissance on, possibly sooner.

    You can blame Firaxis for ignoring the modifier keys in popups. :mad:
     
  9. Fuyu

    Fuyu Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Austria
    Ok, "Config/BUG City Screens.xml" it shall be from now on.
    Everyone who wants it can turn it on, and I can certainly see how it can be useful. Only it is a behaviour most people are simply not used to, so they will not expect it. Therefore turning it off by default is the only reasonable way to deal with it. imho.
     
  10. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I agree it's unexpected and can have bad effects on the game's outcome (two workboats by accident anyone? that was my first game with it). I will consider leaving it off by default in BUG and BULL. I typically leave things on by default (otherwise players might not even learn about the feature), but this one could harm a player's game.
     
  11. Elkad

    Elkad Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Having it default to on would be fine, if there was a checkbox for it in BUG options.

    I edited the XML, but that's not an optimum solution for many people.
     
  12. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    It is on the BUG Options screen (the latest SVN version). The problem is that the code is in BULL but the options screen is in BUG. If you grab the latest BULL code and build your own DLL, you should grab the latest BUG code to get the options screen changes as well.
     
  13. GreenManXY

    GreenManXY Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi


    I'm having problems with computer crashing (screen goes black or blue or similiar) when I play with the mod on. I'm not sure it is the mod, maybe it's the comp overheating or something but it never happened before when I just used Better BTS AI.

    Anyone else having this issue?
     
  14. Elkad

    Elkad Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Yeah, I found it... (its already in Fuyu's merge)
     
  15. Fuyu

    Fuyu Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Austria
    Of course it is there, whenever I update it contains the very latest code from all 3 projects. That didn't stop me from producing 2 warriors the first time either but yeah, it is there :p

    I'm having Global Warming troubles, so this is now deactivated for the new version I uploaded today, labeled 2010-02-03, with BBAI still at r519 so the random crashes will remain, BULL r126 and BUG r2128. Does not break savegames. I expect savegames to break once I use gw mod though.
    The dll source code now resides on sourceforge: BULLAI

    I'm sorry GreenMan, I have no clue how my mod merger could be responsible for your whole computer to crash. I know the program itself can crash, the current BBAI version has a certain unidentified CTD problem after all, but taking the whole OS with it should not normally occur, and I haven't heard any other such reports either.
     
  16. GreenManXY

    GreenManXY Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    It's probably several factors, including overheating but last time I could still hear the game although the monitor shut of like it has lost contact.

    Nevermind, thx for a great mod!
     
  17. Still_Asleep

    Still_Asleep Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    If you can still hear the game but your monitor shuts off, I am certain that your graphic card is causing the troubles. Sounds like overheat, try to get some diagnosis tool and view the temperature while the graphic card is under heavy load. Everest home edition comes to my mind, great freeware.
     
  18. GreenManXY

    GreenManXY Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    It was overheating so I moved the housing to a cooler place and now its fine. Tnx!
     
  19. Fuyu

    Fuyu Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Austria
    New Better AI means new merge, to download from the usual place.
    I have some tiny relation hover changes planned still, after I'm done with that I'll finally try to upload this mod to this site again. Looks like the problems it had are solved now.
     
  20. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Technical question: What do you use to merge BULL and BAI? WinMerge or SVN Merge or something else?
     

Share This Page